Not A Sparrow Falls… by Linda Nichols

Last year at this time, I worked up a sample book review packet for an editor, writing about one of my favorite novels as though it were about to be introduced to catalogs, book stores, and online customers.   I’ve been thinking of the beautiful story of that book this week — a stirring tale of the power in intercessory prayer! — and since the words I penned were never to be published anyway, but more of an exercise to give an idea of my writing style,  I thought I might share them with you here now.  It won’t read as a  typical book review… but perhaps, if Ms. Nichols is new to you, or you have missed this particular gem of hers published in 2002, these words may inspire you not to wait another day!  🙂 

Not a Sparrow Falls (Second Chances Collection, #1) Free Rose ClipartIF I COULD ONLY GIVE YOU A ONE-SENTENCE SYNOPSIS, IT WOULD BE: 

Desperate and fleeing with forged identity, a young woman falls headlong into the story of a child’s cry for help, re-emerging faith and impossible love – ever threatened by danger hurtling at her heels.

Free Rose ClipartIF I WERE ONLY ALLOWED A FEW WORDS TO GRAB YOU AS YOU PERUSED A BOOK CATALOG I WOULD OPEN WITH THE SAME ABOVE SENTENCE … AND THEN ADD…

Mary Bridget Washburn doesn’t know it. But somewhere, an elderly woman awakens to intense prayer…for her…this night. Just as Mary’s own prodigal prayer is shaping to a plan. And God is about to bring her into a family shattered by secrets, one who needs her more than she ever thought possible. Can He use her, broken as she is, to help them? Words memorized as a child fill her, lead her…embroil her in hidden mystery…until she discovers. Jonah is back. Manic. And he isn’t about to let her go.

Free Rose ClipartIF I WANTED TO PIQUE YOUR INTEREST ON THE BACK COVER OF THE NOVEL ITSELF…

Words inside her called her back. Fly away, rest in me

 Could she really be who she was before these years following Mama’s death? Before her siblings were scattered…leaving her blowing in the wind?

Bone-weary of tangled deceit, Mary Bridget Washburn takes her mother’s identity, fleeing far and fast as she can. Into the quaint town of Alexandria, Virginia, into safe church shadows, deeper to God’s whispered wooing — and to a child’s heartbroken plea. Soon she’s aching to bring hope to one who mirrors her not-so long ago self. But there are secrets in this family. Can she help these she’s coming to love, without her own lies tarnishing – or worse – endangering them all?

A luminous story of God weaving deep threads of prayer – restoring, redeeming, beauty in grace.

Free Rose Clipart IF THEY TIED MY HANDS AND MADE ME USE ONLY 30 WORDS, SUCH AS YOU MIGHT FIND IN A TRADE MAGAZINE…

Grace by grace, this redemptive tale sings!

Secretly-led, behind-the-scene prayers. Shadowy circumstances that land Bridie in this town, this family, this healing love. And when danger stalks, only God can orchestrate the heart-stopping way out


Characters the reader will count as friends!

Gripping story, young woman on the run, a floundering family she’s just met –leaves readers praying breathlessly for second chances for them all. Perfect for fans of Lynn Austin-style books.

 

Story of God-breathed second chances!

Nichols tenderly weaves a back story of God guiding broken, tarnished lives home to his grace. Fans of writers like Elizabeth Musser will love this beautifully prayer-laced story of redemption.

 

Nichols’ words read like oil of joy!

How far is too far? In this poignant prodigal tale, compelling resonance leaves the reader washed anew in God’s outstretched arms, his everlasting promise to pour out joy for mourning.

Free Rose ClipartOR, PERHAPS AS A TEASER IN A CONSUMER MAGAZINE….

Heart-tugging tale of God-breathed second chances!

An elderly woman battles in prayer. Another pleads for her brother’s grief-stricken family. A prodigal whispers to escape back to who she once was…never dreaming she’s about to be an answer herself.

 

Luminous story of prayer-woven grace!

New town, new identity. From pew shadows, Bridie watches a child furtively tack up a prayer note. A plea, God, help.

Bridie’s heart wilts. Could God use her, broken as she is?

 

Grace-anointed to release from darkness!

How did she get here? A stranger…tending a desperately ill one… in his vicarage. Delirium makes him frantic. Only the memory verses swiftly coming back on Bridie’s tongue breathe soothing peace now.

     

Stalked by danger. Held by secrets. Led by Grace.

Safe, for now. New identity. Broken ones who need her. Bridie believes God brought her here. But what if Jonah finds her? Are her secrets endangering these she now loves?

Free Rose ClipartOR (OH, MY, GOSH) IF I COULD ONLY ENTICE YOU IN…SIX…OR…SEVEN...WORDS… LIKE YOU MIGHT READ ON A HEADER ABOVE A STORE BOOKSHELF…    🙂

  • Grace by grace, this redemptive tale sings!
  • Characters the reader will count as friends!
  • Story of God-breathed second chances!
  • Nichols’ words read like oil of joy!
  • Poignant novel sure to engage readers!
  • Glowing story from gifted new author!
  • Hope on the run, fleeing toward home!

Free Rose ClipartWITH JUST 50 WORDS ALLOWED TO TELL YOU ABOUT THIS WRITER WHO SO TENDERLY WEAVES WORDS AFTER HIS OWN HEART…

Linda Nichols 

Author of widely-acclaimed Handyman, Linda Nichols seeks God for redemptive story ideas born out of her personal devotions. As a child, she drank in tales circling her Virginia grandmother’s oak table – characters and settings much like those in Not a Sparrow Falls. She lives with her family in Washington.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Free Rose Clipart OH… AND ONE THING MORE…. if I have you penciling in this not to be missed story on your Fall Reading List,  I can’t stop there.   For once you fall in love with this one, you’ll surely want to savor more…

If I Gained the World… In Search of Eden…At the Scent of Water… JUST TO NAME A FEW…  🙂

.

Sharing with:

Imparting Grace   Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party

DISCLAIMER:   If you see an ad appearing at the bottom of my posts, please know that I have no control over these and therefore do not endorse.  They come from the blog host… I do not even see or know what they are, just a recent note explaining that they may be viewed by readers. 

Advertisements

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not A Sparrow Falls… by Linda Nichols

  1. MaryLou says:

    Wow Pam! This sounds like a really good book. I like the way that you reviewed this book. I really did like the cover art also that you did share. 🙂

    • Thanks, MaryLou… I think you’d enjoy this one. I love stories that show the power of prayer and the word the way this one does… Glad you liked this “irregular” review…:) Just thought it might pique some interest in this beautifully written novel…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s