Autumn-Scented Hope

Does friendship have a scent, Lord?

Today, gathered round an inviting impromptu table —

Teacups brimming,

Berries and melon and exotic fruits enticing,

Quiche golden and aromatic held out from loving hands that formed it —

I find Your LIGHT fingering gently…here, there... over a nearly-Autumn bouquet.

I hear Your heart spilling out through little-one voices trumpeting play and wonder.

Grace slips round, touching each head, blessing each unspoken prayer.

I recognize your love of delighting Your beloved with surprises, as someone holds out some new found treasures to share… little jewels of porcelain unfolded from tissue, delicately fluted and painted.  Charming… unexpected… gifts that speak without words to tell us of gold-in-sunlight moments set aside and measured, just for them, in between harder ones.

When laughter skips in and out and about — interlacing with remembrances of beautiful prayers lifted over recent days — I am telling You of more, in my heart…

I smile at the two sis’s, radiant with new life soon to come…and we snap a few photos of them middle to middle…

So when oven doors open… pungent pans delivered and slices cut… I breathe in honey warm, cinnamon-y spice

Slowly drizzle from a pitcher of simmered brown sugar butter and nut sauce

And think…

Mmm…. I’m grateful Lord, for the fragrance of hearts holding hands,  piquant with the scent of oatmeal cake, redolent with Autumn Glory Promise and…You.

 

©   Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:

31-Days  Fall Nesting linky party

fall decorating inspiration

     Tell Me a Story       whimsical-wednesdays_edited-1

.       Imparting Grace

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DISCLAIMER:   If you see an ad appearing at the bottom of my posts, please know that I have no control over these and therefore do not endorse.  They come from the blog host… I do not even see or know what they are, just a recent note explaining that they may be viewed by readers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn in Evensong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Autumn-Scented Hope

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Simply lovely! I love these beautiful experiences you paint with poetry and love. And I love tea-time, which is one reason I think I am really British down deep. I love to think of my times in the Word and the intimacy of my journal as having high-tea with God. He lifts me up to the heavenlies during these times of fellowship. Someday, Pam, I think you and I will take tea together and savor the sweetness of a friendship formed in Him!
    Love
    lynn

  2. Lisa notes says:

    How does hope smell? I love the scents you share here. May the Lord make his aroma known to us in many ways throughout the season.

  3. Rita says:

    So sweet! Love it to read! You’re painting with words and that touches me.

  4. Thank you for inviting us to share your lovely tea party. How wonderful to enjoy golden quishe and berries over a cup of tea. There is something about breaking bread together with loved ones that fills the heart with joy. Thank you for sharing with us here at “Tell Me a Story.”

Leave a Reply

