Autumn Porticoes… and… A Book GIVEAWAY!

scan0005In this season when fiery leaves whisper across the path at my feet  and the riverbank becomes a still mirror of rainbow hues, even tiny yellow finches shine brighter than gold!  And all the world blazons with a fresh-kindled HOPE to my soul!  A spirit of ADVENTURE seems written in all this bolder than bold color glory.  And a sort of thrill at MYSTERIES about to be solved.

I hear Julie Andrews’ pure  bell-like voice in my mind,  breathily proposing as Maria“When God closes a door… somewhere… He opens a window!”

Yet…though something in me loves that thought, another part says…I am not awaiting windows, Lord.  They seem a bit like a crevice made to sneak through.  No, I am turning my eyes to You for wide-open, solidly built doorways!   Beautifully scrolled ironwork gates opening upon hills and hills of new life promise.   I’m walking along this trail now… thoughtful… softly kicking stones out of my way, skipping them over the Autumn painted water on the breath of my prayer.

I’m listening to birdcall bouncing, echoing here, there… following along the edges of the wood… walking over covered bridges…leaning into Your whispers directing me to that yet secret garden gate, or two, or three.

And in this moment… when nothing seems changed to my senses… when my hands are upturned to you… my song still lifting…my spirit soars like the banner of a scarlet sumac hedgerow.  I believe I’m just coming round the corner… for I remember Your promise… feel you folding it into my hands for safekeeping… You open doors and gates to me that no one can shut!  I hold Your promise palm upwards to You in thankful trust…  and breathless anticipation.

Because every word from your mouth is as unbreakable and sure as this… most radiant…season.

©   Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

   AND NOW FOR A FUN EARLY CHRISTMAS GIVEAWAY AT THE START OF AUTUMN!  

Front Cover: Coming October 8, 2013I’ve been expecting it for several weeks and it’s now here!  My box of Chicken Soup for the Soul books!  And time for a giveaway! 🙂

It’s Christmas! is due out on October 8th… but I’d like to give one of you a sneak peek copy! 

At the moment, I have to limit this to nearby postal areas. If you live in the U.S. or Canada  just leave me a comment on this post anytime between Sept. 19 and Sept 24.  Mention the book…tell me something you cherish about Christmas…or simply say “count me in” and I’ll enter you in the random draw! 

So far…I’ve only allowed myself to read the first few stories in the book (wanting to savor them closer to Christmas), and of course flipped through to see my own in print 🙂  (one of those open doors He’s blessed me with after a number of unaccepted tries!)  but there’s just something about Christmas stories that keeps us wanting more, isn’t there?

HAPPY AUTUMN! 

DON’T FORGET YOUR COMMENT TO ENTER!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

scan0005Door Artwork: mine, under my copyright  (please do NOT copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)   ) 

I still love the classic pen & ink version, but thought I’d try adding a little Autumn color – what do you think?

Interested in available prints or an original tailored for you?  Check out my pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS link above.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:

Imparting Grace           Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party                              Friendship FridayHome Sweet Home @ The Charm of Home

   

Melissa at 31-Days  Fall Nesting linky party (be sure to hop over to her site and see all her gorgeous fall photos!)      fall decorating inspiration

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn in Evensong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Autumn Porticoes… and… A Book GIVEAWAY!

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh I love autumn, and I love Christmas, and I love open doors. YOu give me hope with this, Pam, because God used those very words to me today in something else I was reading when the door feels slammed shut. I’m not in a good emotional place, so this is something I needed. Bless you. And CONGRATULATIONS on your early Christmas gift! How wonderful about your latest publication. I”m very excited for you!!!!!!!!!! Praise the Lord
    Love
    lynni

    • Lynn, I’ve been having a strong feeling about your going through something lately and have been praying for you! God is taking care of you… I totally understand about doors. I need so many important ones to open myself. But his word says he will open them and I’m holding onto that! Thank you!

      • Lynn Morrissey says:

        Oh I’m very touched by your words here, Pam, and your sensivity to me…..and to His Spirit’s prompting your prayers. God bless you. You will not believe this, but literally within an hour of posting that to you, God did just open a door!!!!!!! I praise Him from my heart and thank you so much as well! And I really loved your distinction between doors and windows! I would much rather walk through a door than climb through a window! =] Oh…..and in England, I saw two of Hunt’s paintings (same subject) of Christ standing at the door of our hearts and knocking. Sometimes, it’s we who need to open the door!
        Bless you, Pam, for always having an open door here at Apples of Gold.
        love
        lynni

      • So beautiful to hear that, Lynn! It lifts me to know that those thoughts of prayer for you were really from Him… and to hear about your open door! That distinction just came to me tonight about the windows as i sat down to write this… 🙂

  2. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh i knew there was something else: YES! I love the color in the pen-and-ink. I know it’s a break from tradtion, but frankly, I like it better. I thnk it looks unique and has a signature quality–as if you are highlighting some really special aspects of your work. Just my two cents for what it’s worth!

    • Thank you, Lynn! I do like the color. But I’m such a traditionalist. I love black and white movies and never prefer the colorized versions. But I do like this and will probably add color every now and again now… I’m assuming you are entering this book giveaway too!

  3. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh, yes, I’d love to enter. Let me know if there is something more I”m to do. Well, I, too, am a traditionalist (don’t get me started on music or good grammar, for instance! :-), but the touches of color you have added don’t feel like a colorized movie to me (which are all colored). I just love the way you are bringing certain aspects out with subtle hues. Very lovely

  4. Lynn Morrissey says:

    Oh and sorry…….I had meant to say that I will be praying that God opens those important doors for you!! I have many yet too through which I pray to walk through. Turly it’s He who opens then, and then they cannot be shut. Praying, Pam!

  5. Lynn Morrissey says:

    I love your quote at right: “I’m a writer. Anyting you say or do may be used in a story.” THat’s great. I know i’ve threatened that before! =]

  6. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, yes definitely count me in to possibly win one of the books with your story in it. I think the thing that I love the most about Christmas is what I call the “real” music of Christmas… the songs that speak of Jesus the reason I celebrate this joyous season. I remember when I was young we used to put our Christmas music away and not play it except at Christmas time… but now I have it where I can listen to it anytime. I especially listen during October. I am so grateful for all of the beautiful music God has blessed us with that speak of Him. I really liked the way you added some color to your drawing also. It is interesting how God opens and closes doors and how we may not understand His reasons this side of Heaven but we know our Father knows best. Have a blessed & joyous day! 🙂

    • Oh, music (especially the true carols) is one of the biggest things to me too. So many memories revolve around it! My sister and i often played Christmas music in the summer growing up… pretending…I think because it was always our favorite season no matter what time of year. 🙂 I’m glad you like the color in the drawing too… Thanks Marylou! Blessings on your day too!

  7. I’ve just found your beautiful blog and of course we are now following you! You expressed so perfectly what my own heart feels. I am so happy you are using your amazing talent for His glory! I would love to win the “it’s Christmas” book with your very own story inside! My favorite thing about Christmas is remembering the birth of our sweet Jesus and being with family.
    Blessings back to you!
    Linda at The French Hens Nest

    • Oh, thank you Linda, and welcome! Yes, I want everything I write or draw to give Him glory and shine His heart. I’ll enter you in the giveaway! In our world when so many seem to just think of Christmas as a time for good will, it is all the more glorious to remember our Lord’s birth and the reason He came, isn’t it? Thank you for sharing that! Blessings to you too!

  8. Lynn says:

    I enjoyed your post. Thanks for sharing it on the Friendship Friday Party.

  9. Pingback: Promise Petals of Surprise | Writing… Apples of Gold

  10. Mary Lehman says:

    Pam, I love your conversations with Lynn! I have been so busy lately, I have missed many of your postings. Would love to enter your giveaway, as I loved your story of Gabriel and Mary!

  11. Pingback: Day 17: Word Bearing Fruit | Writing… Apples of Gold

  12. marykatbpcsc45 says:

    Pam, thanks for the giveaway opportunity. I really love the painting of the doorway. You are really talented. Do you draw cats and big books? Anyway, I enjoyed reading your inspirational devotional too. You inspire me to look for doors not small crevices.

    • I’m excited to offer this giveaway… glad you entered, Mary! I did the door originally in pen and ink (I have it on my pen & ink link up top if you would like to see it) , and just decided to try to add a little color to another version. No, I don’t draw animals…except for tiny ones within a picture or landscape. Not sure what you mean about “big books?” Thanks for encouraging words – I’m happy to know my post inspired you 🙂

Leave a Reply

