Promise Petals of Surprise

Upon entering, Gabriel greeted her:

Good morning!
You’re beautiful with God’s beauty,
Beautiful inside and out!
God be with you.

         She was thoroughly shaken, wondering what was behind a greeting like that.                                                  But the angel assured her, “Mary, you have nothing to fear.

God has a surprise for you:

You will become pregnant and give birth to a son and call his name Jesus.”

~ Luke 1:28-33, The Message

The Edge Borders ClipArt gallery offers 36 images of edge designs for pages. These clipart borders are for the edges only, or can be for edges and corners, but they not a full page border. They can be rotated to have a mirror image, in order to have one edge border on each side.

This most momentous surprise began with an angel bringing a forever changing message… a humble heart of receiving… an eternal Joy.   Like an ever unfolding rose, our Father continues to send this message to each of our hearts today.

Good morning beauty of my heart… He greets us each dawn.  I have a surprise for you.  If you say yes, you will carry my Son to the world, for He will live in you… 

And… I think… as we do… our Father is a God who delights in more and more surprises.

The glory of a flower turned emerald leaf, transformed to gold against the Autumn sky.

The whisper of possibility against all doubt.

Little joys designed just for you.

Others poured forth to run through your hands like a cup of water to the thirsty.

I wonder… does our thankfulness surprise Him with joy? 🙂

Listen for His whisper this Still Saturday.   He is with you.   And promise petals of surprise are falling from His hand over you…

and dancing pirouette back heavenward on the breeze of your praise. 

The Edge Borders ClipArt gallery offers 36 images of edge designs for pages. These clipart borders are for the edges only, or can be for edges and corners, but they not a full page border. They can be rotated to have a mirror image, in order to have one edge border on each side.

And in this spirit…I have a merry giveaway surprise I’d love to share with you as He has amazed me this season by an out of the blue acceptance of a Christmas story I submitted two years ago to Chicken Soup.  I thought it had been shelved… and when the email came, I actually had to shuffle through my files to remember the story that went with this title!

It’s special to me for a couple of reasons.   First, because I don’t recall a time when someone asked me my favorite season that I haven’t burst out — Christmas!   Second, because this is a story I wrote about the beautiful ways He sends healing and redeeming light in the midst of a Christmas clouded by deep sorrow.   Not unlike the first Christmas of LOVE sent to a dark and hurting world…

I remember a lovely little book I received from Mom one Christmas in my late teens…oh, how I loved it.  A collection of stories, songs, poems and recipes of the season, sweetly illustrated in English pen & ink,  laced with true meaning.  Somewhere it has been lost, but I can still see the cover in my mind… An Old Fashioned Christmas.   And remember the thought I had way back then — “What a wonder it would be if ever I wrote a Christmas story, published like one of those!”  I think I’m still feeling the wonder of it… and praising Him, asking Him to use it to touch others in ways I do not know…

THERE’S STILL TIME TO ENTER MY GIVEAWAY!

In a world that seems too often to miss the true reason for the season, I’m so thankful and  blessed to give Him glory in my part within this collection…and just want to bless you too!

SOOOOO … I hope you will take a moment to leave me a comment at Autumn Porticoes… and… A Book GIVEAWAY! to enter for the chance to receive It’s Christmas!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©  Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

    

Melissa at 31-Days  Fall Nesting linky party (be sure to hop over to her site and see all her gorgeous fall photos!)    

  fall decorating inspiration

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DISCLAIMER:   If you see an ad appearing at the bottom of my posts, please know that I have no control over these and therefore do not endorse.  They come from the blog host… I do not even see or know what they are, just a recent note explaining that they may be viewed by readers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn in Evensong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Promise Petals of Surprise

  1. Lynn Morrissey says:

    What a beautiful surprise for you, Pam……..a resurrection surprise, if you will. It makes me think that what we (or man) may shelve still has an intended use by God. I’m so happy for you!! And I love the true story of Mary. I think surprise might be an understatement in her case, but praise God, she said yes. Thank you for saying yes right here and fulfilling your calling!
    Love
    lynn

    • Just one of those “open doors”… 🙂 ….showing how sometimes they open when you least expect. Thought this might encourage others who are waiting on doors too…

      These words in the Message just really spoke to me, how God is greeting us each in eyes that see His beauty – through the Lord — in us. Thank you, Lynn! I just listened to about 5 minutes of Dead Poets Society on TV… the scene where R. Williams is exhorting his class to know that each of us is part of the eternal play, how important words are, and we each have a “verse” of our own to play…. So stirring (he reminds me of my favorite English High School teacher in this), and making me think about how my life may be doing that… I appreciate your words.

  2. Being Woven says:

    Oh, this is wonderful and such a blessing! With a beautiful reminder of God’s blessing to Mary and her willingness to be the recipient of God’s beauty and blessing.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

  3. rkrumpe94 says:

    Congratulations! What a blessed surprise! I love the story of Mary. You have me getting excited for Christmas! Love, Rachael @ Inking the Heart…linking with you at Heart Reflected

  4. Mary says:

    So many little joys – and so good to be thankful! I wonder, too, Pam – I don’t know for sure if He’s surprised, but I’m certain it brings Him joy! Thank you for sharing these thoughts!

  5. Anita Hunt says:

    So encouraging. A true gift from one heart to another. So happy for you 🙂 Looking to God’s surprises 🙂

Leave a Reply

