Autumn on Watercolor

Digital Camera

Around the corner… up a block or two…

Across the railroad tracks, just above a rise

lies a respite… an oasis…  a mirage…

where romance softly floats on mirror

and lazes in soft September sun

like lily pads and gondolas with ladies’ parasols on glittered English stream —

wooing me.

.

 

Pulling my car just inside the drive

Peering through the open,  somewhat dashing elegant gates,

I’m suddenly unsure… Could this be more private than I thought?

But no… far off to the back

I catch the light winking on parked car windows, see the edge of ordinary industry hidden behind waterfall and trees…

And wonder about those inside… in little cubicles.

While out here… this lovely pond in front… is a living painting

A Wordsworth poem

A classical bit of Carnival Camille Saint-Saëns

Grace and beauty and song of praise…

It lifts my spirit like bubbles in fizzy sparkle water glass.

.

 

As are the lilting trees round each corner where

golden persimmon color tinges a leaf here… a treetop there…

with just the slightest nuance of what is soon to be.

Is that Your Artist finger smudging in white reflected on water in the same way now?

In my mind, I’m tracing out that smudge myself as if to draw…

 

You watercolor my heart with this breath of beauty scene

And leave a trail of iridescent anticipation for… I… know… not…what…

This edge of Autumn day

When the splendor of Your Holiness is made of ivory feather sailing on blue…

and praise is quiet, unspoken awe.

This Royal Philharmonic version of Saint-Saëns classical song is the one  that came to mind today… unusual with lyrics (listen to end): 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VGmwwKbX5qg

 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

 

Melissa at 31-Days  Fall Nesting linky party (be sure to hop over to her site and see all her gorgeous fall photos!)

   fall decorating inspiration

Swan photo: mine

leaves, http://www.fotosearch.com

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DISCLAIMER:   If you see an ad appearing at the bottom of my posts, please know that I have no control over these and therefore do not endorse.  They come from the blog host… I do not even see or know what they are, just a recent note explaining that they may be viewed by readers.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn in Evensong and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Autumn on Watercolor

  1. Anita Hunt says:

    Can’t help but smile 🙂 I so enjoyed reading your post Pam, thank you for brightening my night.

  2. Pam,

    How fun to be back here again with you. I’m hopping over from Ann’s link up. What a neat line: “You watercolor my heart…” Ahhh, it catches my attention, Pam. What a cool Artist God we follow, huh?

    Have a great week,
    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Thank you for those nice words, Jennifer! So nice to have you back here too… 🙂 Always love hearing from you. I’ve always loved watercolor, but never learned how to control it enough to work with it, maybe that is what made me think of that line. 🙂 Yes, our Master Artist! He fills me up in this glory color season, that’s for sure. Blessings to your week too!

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Breathtakingly beautiful in every way–the words, the images, the music, the lyrics. Swans can represent purity, but I love the fresh way you have said it. And I never knew of this song by Andy to the famous Saint-Saen’s Le Cygne, meaning The Swan. Just exquisite–all!
    Thank you for always bringing beauty to our world, Pam.
    Happy Autumn!
    (and I so prefer that to calling it Fall!–the British never would! 🙂
    Lynn

    • Thank you, Lynn. Just trying to think in a sort of Psalm way of mind for this 31 day theme… wasn’t sure how this one would come across, especially since I just wrote it free thought and let it go… . Those swans were just so gorgeous in the midst of nothing else around… caught me immediately. Yes, I love that Classics album of his… He recorded it later in life, so maybe not as strong or beautiful as it might have been at his peak. But there are so many lovelies on it. Another favorite of mine on there is “Another Winter’s day” based on Clair de Lune. Such mood music! (Speaking of music bringing tears!) The words add rather than detract, I think.. and of course that fabulous orchestra too. Never thought about the British not referring to “fall” but I like your thought on that… 🙂

  4. Lovely poet piece of calm here Pam. I love Autumn. We’re finally feeling it. Our windows are open at night letting in a cool breeze the faint sounds of crickets.

    • Thank you, Shelly. I don’t really think I’m much of a poet in the strict sense, but I do love to try and “think” lyrically (as I know you do too!). Autumn is my favorite. It’s barely beginning here, but I’m trying to write a theme of 31 days of Autumn psalms for a linkup, and they started it early… I am loving the brisk coolness that has begun here too!

    • lynndmorrissey says:

      Shelly, I really love this new head shot of you!! And it’s still muggy in ST. Louis–of course!

  5. laura says:

    *sigh*. Lovely, Pam. Autumn is arriving here too. Thinking of a watercolor heart…

Leave a Reply

