On the road, between business and beauty

Daily, fluttering in and amid fears and stresses, hopes and delights, ephemeral moments whisper breathlessly of exquisite

Digital Camera

Easily missed scenes…quick as a shutter click…

Digital Camera

A shimmer in darkened clouds

Digital Camera

A stage-set, intoxicating and back-lit by Heaven’s Hand…

Digital Camera

…woven with varicolored threads, softly spelling out in sun and shadow

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

“For you.”

.

I began just two days before daylight savings time change.  Trekking the 25-minute early morning drive in that oh so lengthy rush hour traffic — traffic I anything but relish these next few weeks.   Wheel-gripping across the city under pitch black, Niagara-pouring skies.  Unable to think of anything but getting there in one piece.  Water-skimming — one prayer cry a second! — on this fun-house mirror thoroughfare.

Yesterday, freed up by the dazzle of sunshine, I found myself following that road, seatbelted in with so many other pressing cares and what am I going to do worries…when suddenly I SAW it.  The road before me – now a lovely ribbon of silver, necklaced between strands of rolling green knolls wooded and ablaze in ambers and gold… glowing… in splendorous movie tone light. Light dancing, here, there, like a loving hand moving to touch  benediction on this land, on my head.  Strength and hope to my ever beauty-thirsting soul.

“For you. ”  I heard then.   “Don’t let it pass you by…”

I almost had.

Thank you for letting me live in a place of such loveliness, I breathed then.  Thinking how under usual routine, I would not be here, on this road, in this split-moment morning light spectacular. And another thought flitted amazement —

How had I thought this road strictly industrial…never recognized all the natural woodlands still here on this stretch through business and beauty?

This weekend,

let’s take a scavenger hunt for exquisite in everyday ordinary! 🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

     Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party        Tell Me a Story 

Scripture and Snapshot    Beauty in His Grip Button       Teaching What Is Good             Essential Thing devotions

  A Holy Experience     Unite @Rich Faith Rising     Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

©  photos: mine

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Leaves. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to On the road, between business and beauty

  1. Barbie says:

    Oh your photos are beautiful. I am not much of a photographer. I always have my SmartPhone with me though, so there is no excuse for me to stop and notice the exquisite beauty that is all around me. Thank you for linking up to The Weekend Brew!

    • Thanks, Barbie! I’m strictly amateur, but a friend gave me a small digital and I’m loving the way the camera takes these… 🙂 On the road though, I just had to “freeze frame” in my mind. 🙂 These are from last weekend out taking pix…

  2. kaseyparr99 says:

    Oh, words of truth. When we just go through the motions and forget to count blessings–open our eyes and really see–life becomes lifeless. Prays God for turning on the light. Blessings, Kasey

  3. Gayle says:

    Hi Pam,
    Such lovely scenery. I adore this time of year! I’ve been thinking lately, how part of our “job” is to simply enjoy life. Where did I get lost along the way? This post seems to have the same subject as the spirit has been speaking to me.

  4. rkrumpe94 says:

    I am reminded to take in the day and all the moments that make it up! Thank you for that reminder. Have a blessed day! Love, Rachael @ Inking the Heart

  5. Beautiful photos and a beautiful reminder of how thankful we can be for simple blessings.
    Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel

  6. joanneviola says:

    What beautiful photos these truly are! Each one loudly proclaims of the beauty we each probably pass up each day. Oh, that He would give me eyes to see today! Thank you for this post! Have a blessed Sunday!

    • Thank you, Joanne – your words mean a lot because that’s what I hope people see in these and that they inspire us to see them all around…:) Its so easy to be preoccupied and miss His light all around us… I want to be more aware too.

      Same blessings to your Sunday!

  7. marty says:

    What a gorgeous drive! May we all look to see the beauty that is displayed for our joy and His glory!

  8. Joan says:

    What beautiful pictures your camera captured! We can so easily miss so much beauty all around us simply because we don’t take the time to look! We can be so focused on where we’re going or what needs to get done that special moments are missed. Thanks for the great reminder!

    Blessings, Joan

  9. Hi Pam,

    Such lovely photos and thoughts to reflect on – thank you

  10. NOt sure why, Pam, but I didn’t get this in my inbox (but as a link from Ann’s). I thought it might be you, and I am soooo glad I checked…….gorgeous images of God’s creation, gorgeous words. I needed this beauty in my day. Bless you for sharing. Does this mean you are getting better? It’s a fairly long post since your break. Praying for your full recovery!
    Brilliant autumn!
    Lynn

    • I am getting better, but this took me hours to type with one finger. That’s why only one post this weekend. Just can’t let my photos sit without posting… 🙂 I appreciate your continued prayers for my wrist to improve even more dramatically (still bound and unable exercise much per dr at this point.. Glad this brought you such an uplift! 🙂

  11. Just breathtaking and so lovely. Thank you for sharing with us here at “Tell me a story.”

  12. Pamela,

    What lovely photos and prose here today, friend. Thanks for that reminder. I’m re-reading Ann’s One Thousand Gifts book, and this is that theme too. Hopping over the the Multitudes on Monday link up, it;s nice to see you again.:)

    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

  13. Sylvia R says:

    Beautiful!
    This reminds me of the time I suddenly got “stuck” on the two-lane behind a sl-l-l-owww pickup, started muttering grumbles about it, then thought to thank God for this thing I didn’t like… And then suddenly seeing! Just as you did. What a blessing traffic travels and lethargic trucks can be when they get us to slow down and look!
    “For you.” What a thought! How often we miss the awesome! Thank you for sharing yours.

  14. Neat how you put it all together so beautifully. Loved it.

  15. Dayle says:

    We see so much when we stop, look, and listen. I’m a big proponent of slowing down.

  16. Your photos are a little glimpse of Heaven. We all need to just take time to SEE whats around us.

  17. Lovely touches of His majesty in Autumn! Thank you for the side trip.
    Blessings,
    Janis

Leave a Reply

