More Than Rubies…

Ruby reds feather the landscape,

 Digital Camera

lattice the land with bursts of scarlet radiance

to lift the heart like the tail of a deer to alert…

Digital Camera

… to the Voice of our Wooer,

Digital Camera

…to the melody and words  of the beautiful old Indian Love Call — *

“When I’m calling you — Oo-Oo-Oo, Oo-Oo-Oo…”

Digital Camera

…to His calling us of worth greater than rubies…

Digital Camera

…and His seeking, Heart to heart …

Digital Camera

 

“Who will carry My covering of Love

to the neighbor…coworker…friend or stranger…

here, there, everywhere…?”

 

Digital Camera

When I’m calling you
Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo, Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo
Will you answer too?
Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo, Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo

That means I offer my life to you to be my own
If you refuse me I will be blue, waiting all alone

But if when you hear my love call ringing clear
Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo, Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo
And I hear your answering echo so dear
Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo, Oo-Oo-Oo-Oo

Then I will know our love will become true
You’ll belong to me and I’ll belong to you  ***

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Prayer:
I’m thinking of our Filipino friends right now, praying for God’s heart poured out on hurting hearts.   Lord, cover them in our prayers, send your ministering angels, hold them close as only You can to console and heal, lead us in ways to carry the cover of your love…
.

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

     Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party     

Scripture and Snapshot    Beauty in His Grip Button       Teaching What Is Good             Essential Thing devotions

  A Holy Experience     Unite @Rich Faith Rising      Monday Praises                                                      Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

©  photos: mine

.

*** From the old love song from my grandmother’s era, Indian Love Call ~ one of those beauties that reminds me of His Love Call to us…
Songwriters: FRIML, RUDOLF / STOTHART, HERBERT / HAMMERSTEIN, OSCAR II / HARBACH, OTTO / SALABERT, FRANCOIS JOSEPH CHARLES / FERREOL, ROGER / SAINT GRANIER, JEAN

You can listen to one of the loveliest versions here, though you have to wait  or skim through some minutes of dialogue and prologue to the actual song: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrdX9PTEQTA

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn in Evensong. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to More Than Rubies…

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Lovely Pam, and I love those firebushes. We have them just outside my study window, across the street, and I wrote about them last year in our CHristmas newsletter. They always call me to be passionate. Ah, Nelson & Jeanette! Those were the days, and I love songs that can be “redeemed” for relationship with the Lord. THank you for sharing your gorgeous photos too!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Thanks, Lynn… these are right outside my windows too, along the neighboring house. In the spring they are bright yellow. Yes, Nelson and Jeannette made it famous, but the link I gave is Ann Blyth and Fernando Lamas (I thought it was Howard Keel who sang it with her in the remake Rose Marie, but Lamas has the duet). I am always changing love songs to reflect Him in my mind too…and this is one of my favorites. I just knew Hammerstein had to have a hand in it! Thanks!

  2. And, one of my favorite times, of course, is seeing the colorful time of the year. Both in Spring when flower after flower comes forth and trees go from bare limbs to leafy ones, and in Autumn when the colors and colors go forward over and over again. Ya dun good. Thanks.

  3. Beautiful fall photos and sweet thoughts of His great love that pursues us relentlessly!

  4. natashlim73 says:

    Beautiful photos of the colors of fall and wonderful thoughts of the greatness of His love for all of us! Visiting from Faithful Friday! It is a pleasure to meet you!!! Blessings, Natasha

Leave a Reply

