Ebenezer Stone Wednesday: A Doublet Tale

A friend who doesn’t get the Hallmark channel gave me two blank VCR tapes a few weeks ago.   Would I tape some of the fun Christmas fare she’d been hearing about?  (You might call us junkies for good old fashioned movies.  Especially Christmas. 🙂 )


Kellie Martin / The Christmas Ornament


I caught a few new fav’s (The Christmas Ornament, the most touching and fun of this year’s offering, to me) , a couple of cute but corny others.  I was waiting to finish off the tapes as soon as a certain one I’d run across on another channel repeated, knowing she and her girls would love it too.  Kept checking, but wasn’t seeing it.  Finally, there it was – at noon this last Sunday.  Perfect.

I might’ve waited until seeing her next to give them to her, but something kept nudging.  Let her know they’re ready.  May be a good time for a cheering movie nite.

Usually, I’d have dropped them back to her myself, but I knew it was a frazzled Thanksgiving weekend, her college daughter snatching a too brief visit and having to get back to another state that night…

Finally, I decided to email… If she’d like to stop by for them anytime after 2:30, I’d be home…    but not really expecting she might, since things were definitely hectic.

scan0008And then… there she was.  A few homemade cookies and chocolates sweetly wrapped with a bow in hand.  A  load of burdens written on her face as we stood chatting in the doorway.  I opened the door wider…

“Can’t stay long,” she murmured, stepping just inside.  Before she arrived, I’d been feeling frustrated and mulling all the things weighing me down right now, including a few concerns she and I share, under a cloud of sorts.  But there’s something about being a listener and a cup-holder of someone else’s tea and story that brushes aside your own and ignites a flame under a warm kettle of intercession…

We stood and opened hearts and joined hands of purpose and care.

Finally, wiping her eyes… thanking me again for the movies, telling me how much one daughter was looking forward to them… she said in teeth-gritted tone, “I wasn’t going to talk about any of this –”  and laughingly, “Aren’t you glad I stopped by?”

Mm… yes, I thought.  Because if we can only be there for fun and laughter, never hold each other close in the tears, what good is friendship?

I laughed back.  “Well, I think I’m just going to go pray for the next two hours!” I said, to encourage, more than half serious.   So many people and situations needing His arms right now.  O Lord, sing your songs of victory, comfort and joy over us… Hold us close so we don’t miss your heartbeat…

Ebenezer Stones of HOPE.  Sometimes they are as simple as  fresh-baked-cookie thank you’s.  The gift of a few movies chosen and taped from and for the heart.  Hands and spirits joined in prayer.   And knowing someone else has got your back.

She shot me an email a couple days later.  “OHHHHHH… We loved, loved, loved  The Christmas Ornament! ”  Oh yeah.  Movie junkies who think alike.  🙂

.

You’re next! Any Ebenezer Stones In Your Path This Week?  Share a bit of ebby-encouraging in your comments…  :)

                           If you’ve written any similar stories on your blog,                                                           I invite you to add your blog link in my comments!

.

Here are two “Ebenezer Stone Stories” I’ve read from fellow bloggers this week, though they may not be referring to them that way:

  • From Shelly Miller, at Redemption’s Beauty… another slant on  the Ebenezer Stone story – to my way of thinking – in her thankfulness to friends in this blogging world who encouraged her to see what seemed impossibly frustrating in a fresh light:  http://redemptionsbeauty.com/2013/12/05/redeem-good-bad-day/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See  A Thanksgiving and Advent Dare

      if you  missed your invite to this series…

©   Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

Tell Me a Story        whimsical-wednesdays_edited-1   Word Filled Wednesday Linkup

   Imparting Grace   Faithful Friday Blog Hop Party: 4 blogs - 1 party     

Scripture and Snapshot      Teaching What Is Good             Essential Thing devotions

Thursday Favorite Things

Share Your Cup Thursday

©  Christmas Door Drawing:  mine  (please do NOT copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar. )  :)

                                                

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Ebenezer Stone Stories - taking the "Ebby Dare". Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Ebenezer Stone Wednesday: A Doublet Tale

  1. metzgersix says:

    Beautiful words. Sometimes we just need that friend. I think God knows when to send them too. Beautiful post.

    Thank you for linking with Woman to Woman’s Word Filled Wednesday! God bless!

    P.S. I am a Hallmark movie junkie too and LOVED the Christmas Ornament!

  2. Norma says:

    Pam, I’m sure you’re an Ebenezer Stone in someone’s life quite often.

    I am blessed and very thankful to have many Ebenezer Stones in my life. I’ll share just four of them with you:

    1. I’m thankful for the woman at church who brought me home made Turkey vegetable soup and a dinner roll and stayed to visit for a while.

    2. I’m thankful for the neighbor who brought me a slice of warm quiche.

    3. I’m thankful for my nephew who volunteered to put up Christmas lights around my house and set up my Christmas tree.

    4. I’m thankful for various family members who shared Thanksgiving leftovers with me.

    Have a blessed and fruitful Advent.

    PS I also love Hallmark movies.

    • I hope I am… I know my friends are that to me often. I love each one of your “stones!” Thanks for sharing those, Norma… It helps to remember them like this, to write them on our hearts as gifts He sends to us or allows us to be part of too… Love the movies where all the ads are theirs too. Always touching. Blessings to your Advent too!

  3. kaseyparr99 says:

    Great story. Loved these words–Because if we can only be there for fun and laughter, never hold each other close in the tears, what good is friendship?–so true! Blessings, Kasey

  4. This is so heartwarming Pam, lovely to visit here. I’m wondering if you drew that wonderful door picture. Thanks for sharing the link to my post.

    • Thank you, Shelly. Lovely to have you here. 🙂 Just counting those “ebenezer stones” this Dec. – simple, ordinary ways that He uses us to hearten others in Him, or they in us. Yes, I originally drew it just pen and ink, but used some colored pencil on a print of it for a Christmasey look. Drew it from a picture of an English door 🙂

  5. Hi Pam,

    I’m still learning about an Ebenezer stone or staff. Thanks for illuminating this a bit more for me here today. What a neat encouraging time that was for both you and your friend in the hallway foyer, I bet.

    Merry Christmas!
    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Hi Jen, This is just a “version” of ebenezer stones for a theme God has put on my heart this season… the idea of how God’s people marked His move in their lives with stone memorials. I’ve been thinking of it as the simple ways He uses us, or sends people to us, to shine His heart. A smile to a stranger, etc. And how He might want us to “count” them in our own lives… This one was a simple ordinary moment of friendship I think many have… and I know you have them everyday from what you share on your blog too 🙂 Merry Christmas to you too!

  6. Pam-
    My story will sound a bit unusual but here goes–just two days ago while in a large Store, (you know–starts with the letter W”) I quickly find my way in the Fabric section. A woman stood at the counter, fabric stretched out and ready to cut, but no clerk anywhere, and this woman truly appeared to have the World sitting on her shoulders. I could not stop myself, ‘So how long you been Ringing that Bell?” She cast a tired glance my way “Seems like Forever, and I have a ton of things to do at home” her husband standing there too with frustration and LIFE written all over his face.

    I asked “Do you mind if I give it a try to get you some help?” She hesitated for a second and said “Yeh, give it a whirl, but I doubt it works!” So I grabbed that Bell and started giving it the RING OF ITS LIFE~~while singing “We Wish you a Merry Christmas” at the top of my lungs! Within 20 seconds, a startled Clerk came running with a look of fear, as if to say “Please stop saying those TWO words, Merry Christmas!” I gently put the bell down, gave a gentle wave and started to walk away~~~then I saw a SMILE from the Weary Woman that came from some wonderful place deep in her heart and without question, she had just given me the best Christmas Gift ever!!!

    We can reach out to help in ways that might seem a bit “out of the norm” but nobody was hurt, and I gave a silent apology to anybody who had to hear my terrible “Off Key” rendition of a beautiful song! Love, martha

    • WOW, Martha – only you could do something so wonderful as that! I wish I could have heard you! 🙂 I think God used you so uniquely in this. I never in a million years would have thought of doing that, but it is really heartwarming how God uses the gifts He gives us. And boldness and caring He has put in you! Thank you for sharing – a truly fun story that makes me S.M.I.L.E.! God bless that couple in whatever way they need – I think He blessed them with a refreshing from you! And one they will never forget! Reminds me of a Bible verse about being as refreshing to others as water…

  7. Thank you Pam!
    After I walked away, it dawned on me what I had just done~~~and for some reason I just can’t fully explain, it felt GOOD!! Yes they could have run me out of the store but I really do believe they were stunned to see this woman, Bell in hand and ringing the dickens out of it while singing louder than I ever have! You gave me a true spiritual gift with your response.

    Something tells me that couple went home and will be having a wonderful chuckle at their wild day of shopping for fabric! My hope is the Weight they both seemed to carry will lighten just a bit during this holiday season! We all need that…..

    You have touched me with your loving words….martha

  8. What a beautiful story of friendship! This was such an inspiring, encouraging and uplifting post. Thanks for sharing at Essential Fridays.
    Blessings
    Mel from Essential Thing Devotions

  9. Jann Olson says:

    I love watching them two. I watched two earlier in the month and have not had a chance to watch another one. Wonder if they show Christmas movies in Jan? lol! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

