Christmas at Hearth: Third Candle…Joy

And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people.

 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.  

.

Luke 2:10-11 King James Version

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Let us rejoice in savoring… we have the Lord’s Great blessing in this holy season!

.

I remember reading once how Charles Dickens – and other Victorians – first published their original stories chapter by chapter in the newspaper.  It’s hard to imagine following along in the classic Christmas Carol, one engrossing morsel at a time, having no idea how it could possibly end… having to wait on the edge of your seat to get the next page…

Author Jan Karon is a more recent author whose mega-hit Mitford series began in much the same way, introduced to readers one chapter at a time in their daily news…

Well… hmm… I’m not Dickens, or even Karon:)  but God has seemed to put a persistent thought in me this season:   a simple story written and shared here for Advent — one little post offering at a time…

  • To set a light in our reflecting…meditating…savoring of this season.
  • To inspire thoughts of the Julias and Lucys we might know, and ways He wants to shine His hope, peace, joy and love through us to them…
  • Because stories often allow Him to  touch our hearts so personally

But — I don’t have the entire idea, Lord, I kept musing.

How can I possibly do this?

And, as He so often seems to say 🙂 , I could only hear —

“Step out in faith… I will lead you part by part… ”

O-kay…  I said, a bit tremulously.

As I ponder and pray, some themes have been coming to mind... how each part will follow the Advent candle message –Part One, Hope…  Part Two, Peace and so on — then come full circle in the end.  Glimmers of images filling my thoughts.  I keep trying to get the whole picture before setting it to type…

But I can almost see Him smiling at that.  By Faith, Pam.

Because it doesn’t come to me fully until I actually sit down and begin…  and find myself nearly “uncovering the storyline” along with you…  🙂  Almost like drawing an illustration and seeing ways to add the lighting or shading only as I put it down…

SOOO….  My prayer is, Lord somehow take the words of this little story and use them to bless in and through us each… to lift our hearts to Your Advent heart unfolding in all our days…

Here are the links so far…  🙂

If something about this story uplifts or inspires you in ways you are celebrating and savoring Advent, reaching out to others, won’t you share a bit of your story in comments as you follow along?   

   ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

sharing with:

Scripture and Snapshot    Beauty in His Grip Button       Teaching What Is Good        

  A Holy Experience     Unite @Rich Faith Rising      Monday Praises                                                      Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Christmas at Hearth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Christmas at Hearth: Third Candle…Joy

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Yes I’ve read that about Dickens’s series, and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, too. I have been very busy preparing for a Christmas luncheon, so I’d not had a chance to read, and went back and did so. I had not idea that you could write fiction, and you do so very well! And yes, God is being faithful to you. I wait with bated breath…….
    Lynn

  2. Gorgeous, striking photo of Mother and Child … how beautiful!

Leave a Reply

