O, Strong High Tower

scan0003

The name of the Lord [Jesus] is a strong tower;
The righteous run to it and are safe. [Healed, Ransomed in victory]*

~ Proverbs 18:10 [New King James]

.

Antique Frame Label Image

PEACE is the word flowing over me as I render this pen and ink piece from last summer’s  photo.  I think about the stonecutter’s hands, wonder about the man who chiseled these words that reign as blessing over one of our most beautiful neighborhoods.  This cathedral that watched over the birth, wedding and farewell to one president… and to countless others whose names are written on His Heart only.   Words carved that still breathe LIFE and LIGHT to anyone who will see… and a prayer of hope over all who yet will…

I love that this House of the Lord is there… situated on a corner between two streets,  it’s HOPE word of His longing etched right in the midst of a world craving such a message… laced out front by leafy green.  Majestic… yet… unpretentious.   I wish I could have captured the whole doorway straight on with my camera, but then I would have lost so much in the closeup… the feel of the tower rising, the reflection of sky and tree leaf in the soaring windows… And odd angle that it is, there is something inexplicable that lifts and carries me higher in it… something I hope the drawing lifts others to as well…

For…

I’ve never been inside, but something about this stirring doorway bids me to run in to Him.  My strong High Tower… and yours...

And, adding the final touches here and there, I find my heart swelling with a song of just one word.  Name Above All Names.  Jesus…Jesus…Jesus…

Often the Lord stirs a familiar everyday melody or lyric in me, like a love note… One of the most heart-stirring of these is wafting over and in me today as I sing His name in prayer, in praise, in rejoicing hope…  the song of a flower, pure and white that echoes to who He is…

Edelweiss, Edelweiss
Every morning you greet me
Small and white clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss,Edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever.

Small and white clean and bright
You look happy to meet me
Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow
Bloom and grow forever
Edelweiss,Edelweiss
Bless my homeland forever

…and I find myself filling in one word over and over as my own solitary lyric in tune to this song today:  simply – Jesus.  The most powerful prayer we can pray.

Join me?

Let us run in to our high tower rejoicing in the one who has ransomed us to safety, healing, victory!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Digital Camera

…Peace Be Unto You…

*  [my expansion of “safe”  in this Proverbs verse…but so true. 🙂 ]

©  Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:  Beauty in His Grip Button       Teaching What Is Good         Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Drawing (and photo at bottom) of cathedral door: © mine, please do not copy this without permission.   :)   Thank you!  See my pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS link..

small center graphic – http://graphicsfairy.blogspot.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Sunday Community Devotions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to O, Strong High Tower

  1. Floyd says:

    Awesome post and sketch! I too get inspired by architecture. It is a gift from our Father to create. Well done, sister!

  2. Beautiful and so encouraging, Pam! Churches as the places where His people gather, are always uplifting to see – Your image is gorgeous!

    • Thank you, Nina! I’ve wondered if people would think it looked like the camera slipped ( ha! 🙂 ) But I do love this angle. This is another piece I’ve been working on for an upcoming art display, so you encourage me with your words. I’m glad this uplifted you today!

  3. I love that Scripture passage AND the one or two songs that are from those encouraging and comforting Bible verses. Thanks for a lovely visit via Charlotte’s Spiritual Sunday 🙂

  4. And peace is flowing over me as I gaze at this beautiful pen and ink piece and read that wonderful scripture verse and your soothing words. I love the rendering just as it is, the portion of building, the angles and perspective, the black-and-white with the shadows of grays and the touch of blues and greens in the windows. Exactly right. Exactly blessing. Thank you, Pam.

    • O thank you, Sylvia! Your words bless me. The more I looked at this piece, the more that verse came to my mind, making me want to scan this one in and post the verse! I didn’t wait to go out and make a small enough copy to fit my scanner though, so I couldn’t lay it completely flat and wasn’t sure how it would turn out. I’m so glad to know this blessed you! 🙂 God has been speaking the message above that door to me through this and it means a lot that it speaks that to you too…

  5. Lisa says:

    Beautiful words, beautiful drawing! So glad I stopped by!

Leave a Reply

