Sowing Joyful Expectation

                       Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap                                              but  by the seeds that you plant.

    ~ Robert Louis Stevenson, Scottish Author

Stock Photography - harvested pears on old wooden background. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photos, Pictures, Wall Murals, Images, and Photo Clipart

OOHhhh, I think I’m going to cry,” she says chokingly as she reachs to hug me.  “I’ve wanted this for so long, and every time I see the one you made for C,  I can’t keep from wishing I had one of mine… and now I do!”

I’d followed her into the back bedroom of my neighbor’s home, not wanting to steal thunder from the sales party going on out front when I surprised her with my “yellow bungalow bouquet.”  (Read about that “bouquet” here: Seeds in our hands.)   And now she has me tearing up too.

The shine in her eyes, the catch in her voice… that’s  my harvest for this little Lenten seed, I ruminate…

Ominous words from someone I’d mentioned this to the day before, someone who didn’t know this friend, echo back.  “Oh, I don’t know,”  she’d shaken her head, clucked a warning.  “What if it rakes up the loss?”

Taken aback, I’d wondered about that.  “Lord?” I inquired silently.

Don’t worry, seemed to come the answer.   An assuring remembrance of His presence in the drawing of this gift.  A believing that God will not let this seed fall fallow.

And now…here in this quiet, holy moment between the back room and laughing voices out front, where women all around me are gaily trying on colorful outfits on show to purchase,  I slip into a garment of praise… oil of gladness flowing.

May the wonder of His same oil flow over you today, pressed down, shaken and running over.  And fill all our pockets full of seed anointing.

Stock Photograph - Lotus flowers and seed head. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photography, Posters, Pictures, and Photo Clipart Images

The Spirit of the Lord God is upon me; because the Lord hath anointed me… to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.

~ Isaiah 61: 1, 3 KJV

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©  Pam Depoyan

Coffee-for-Your-Heart-150

Sharing with:   Teaching What Is Good       Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday      Beauty in His Grip Button   Scripture and Snapshot 

Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

Robert Louis Stevenso

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/r/robertloui101230.html#pVTqblsxK55oo9A1.99

Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

Robert Louis Stevenso

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/r/robertloui101230.html#pVTqblsxK55oo9A1.99

Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant.

Robert Louis Stevenso

Read more at http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/quotes/r/robertloui101230.html#pVTqblsxK55oo9A1.99

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Lenten Vespers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sowing Joyful Expectation

  1. Floyd says:

    And now you’re both blessed. Awesome heart and story. Blessings to you, sister.

  2. “That He might be glorified.” Amen!

  3. Barbie says:

    AMEN! Thanks for linking up at The Weekend Brew!

  4. Pingback: When you are in between what once was home and now is… | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

