How Excellent Is His Name

The Lord himself is my inheritance, my prize.

He is my food and drink [cup of blessing],

my highest joy! He guards all that is mine.

~ Psalm 16:5, Living Bible [Parenthesis mine]

Picture - Easter lilies. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photography, Photos, Prints, Images, and Photo Clipart

The other night, I was trying to remember the name of a musician and his music I once heard played on radio. He’d been singing a hauntingly beautiful, Hebrew-sounding song I recognized as pure Psalm – one that swept me back to days of my childhood and so many of our dear Jewish friends so deeply woven into our lives.  How often had we broken the Challah bread of friendship over laughter and song.  Sharing joy in our choirs, their cantors.  Holy God We Praise Thy Name and Adonai, Adonai...  They – sharing in our faith-filled occasions.  We – made honorary part of their Bar Mitzvah celebrations.  One or two who came to love Yeshua as their own.

Maybe that is one reason music laced with Hebrew flavor still captures me with it’s beauty, pours the Holy Spirit over me like water from a silver pitcher, stirs a lump in throat praise and sets hands and feet dancing…

Singing as David with hands uplifted…rejoicing in the Name above all Names…

Stock Photography - white rose of sharon. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photos, Pictures, Prints, Images, and Photo Clip Art   I closed my eyes and asked God to put the music title back in my remembrance.  When…there it came, floating back to me.   Psalm Enchanted Evening.  “Oh!” I exclaimed.  “That was it!  Thank you, Lord!”

Quickly, I logged online, googled those words… on the off chance.  Once before I’d tried to order it from the local bookstore, been told it was too old, obsolete.

But not much… it seems… is obsolete to You Tube.

Up came a video I didn’t know existed.

A psalmist after David’s own heart… soaring his worship on the wings of a live orchestra behind him.  Looking for all the world like a stage concert in a Broadway hall.  But simply exuding the presence of the Lord.

As if taking your hands to dance before the Lord with him, his first words sung in the Hebrew prayer of Sabbath melt into English psalm prayer on the wings of flutes and strings and horns…

And as my spirit danced along in worship, I knew I wanted to share it here.

I hope you will take time to let this beauty saturate you in His Holy joy as part of your Easter preparation…   Marty Goetz, Psalm Enchanted Evening (at a Messianic celebration of Praise):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOqa_kSlxtU

  And to introduce you further to this heart stirring worship and lovely testimony of one who loves His Messiah,  a quote from David R. Reagan about Marty Goetz:

“In these days, we are in the midst of a [Holy Spirit] pouring out and revival of Davidic Praise Worship…and an opening of hearts to the Jewish people that Yeshua is their Messiah.  One very anointed Jewish musician by the name of Marty Goetz is  known as a modern day psalmist.  That’s because most of his songs use the words of the psalms.  In fact, Marty calls  King David his musical collaborator

He is not a performer, rather he is a worshiper, and as he worships with passion, he draws the audience into worshiping with him...”

Stock Image - Wet easter lily. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photos, Mural Pictures, Photographs, and Photo Clipart

In this Passover and Easter season,

may we sing with the fire of Praise lifted up  …

O Lord, our Lord, How Excellent is Your Name!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

          Sharing with:   Teaching What Is Good       Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button   Scripture and Snapshot                                      Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

 Dancing worshipers photo credit: http://newheightsdance.com/

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Lenten Vespers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to How Excellent Is His Name

  1. Norma says:

    Pam, thank you for sharing your beautiful thoughts and words. Marty Goetz and his Psalm Enchanted Evening was truly a gift to me this evening. Thank you, Father, for giving this remembrance to Pam so she could share it with her readership for your glory and praise.

    • Oh, I’m so glad, Norma. It is just so beautiful, isn’t it? I looked it up online and it does look like the DVD is available so that is something I want to look into getting when I can. There are several other You Tube videos with his singing too, just look under Marty Goetz. I’m blessed that this blessed you too!

  2. isn’t it wonderful how we can find treasures like this on youtube. thank you for sharing your love for worship. I was a member of a praise dance group at my church a few years ago and love movement and music offered as worship. I heard another form of Hebrew inspired music at a holiday concert this year and really enjoyed it. maybe I’ll use you as inspiration to see if I can find the group online. I’m visiting from the Sunday Community. have a great week.

  3. Linda says:

    coming over from Sunday Community link up. Dancing today in my heart. In fact wrote about how I want to dance. In fact, Loved the video. Thanks for sharing the link.

    • Oh Linda, thank you for letting me know how this made you dance and how you loved the video. I have been really praying people would really go to the link and hear this beauty! I will go over and read your post on dancing too! 🙂

  4. Hello Pam! What a glorious reminder of how HIS words float around us in song, giving up wonderful words of PRAISE!! It helps me to know even more deeply as to just how truly CLOSE my LORD is to me as I continue on the road to recovery from having been so terribly ill……..

    Its very easy to get sad from being “house-bound” for all these weeks–with many more still ahead of me. Yet I work very hard to understand this is a point in my life where I need to push all the busy items away and simply bask in HIS love! My dear husband has been right beside me each and every day during this major illness that hit me, and that loving act takes me right back to HIS feet–as I give praise to the LORD for having brought such a truly GOOD man into my life–now almost 39 years ago!!!

    We are both learning the “true sweetness” of simply being together—even when I have only been able to go from bed to chair to bed during the first Hard days of recovery… Now we laugh with JOY at my being able to sit at my computer, sew–“an art I treasure now” and on Warm days, we sit together outside and simply let HIS glorious Sun beam down on us……

    I will probably not make a church service this Easter–but without question my heart will be filled with Song–as I sing words of PRAISE—for a Son who willingly Hung on a Cross—out of LOVE for all of mankind!!!

    Thank you Pam for this precious post…. Please keep me in your prayers!! love, martha

    • Beautiful thoughts shared here, Martha – thank you. I know just how you feel about being housebound. A few years back I broke my leg and was totally housebound for three months – couldn’t even get out to the doctor without calling the Life ambulance. Not fun… and never even saw the sun the whole time. I’m so glad you have your wonderful husband with you and that you are getting out to drink in some sunshine now too. I know that will bring you some Vitamin D healing! 🙂

      So happy this blessed you too! Such a joy to watch and sing along with this worship. And you certainly don’t have to be at church on Easter to have His resurrection joy in your heart. If you want to hear more of Marty’s joyful scripture filled worship, I noticed there are several other links on You Tube. When you go to the one I listed, just look to the side and there are several more links there. I especially enjoyed one with his now grown daughter (Misha the same little girl in the link I shared, now grown)singing a blessing…
      I do continue to pray for you… I can hear some joy in your “voice” here today and that is good to hear! Yes, He is closer to you and each of us than we know. Blessings to you!

  5. cmjenniferm says:

    Excellent indeed! Those are beautiful memories.

  6. Ear worm alert. I went and found the link and it’s stuck in my head. It’s a good thing. Music is my worship language. Irradiated this earlier when I had to run out the Dow or iwoikd have gotten up and danced. I will go back and listen to more of it. Maybe dance a little. Thanks. Stopping by from Scripture and a Snapshot.

  7. laura says:

    So beautiful, Pam. What a rich history you have with your Jewish friends. I found my heart stirred by your description of your memories with them. Such a blessings.

    • Thank you, Laura. They were just part of our close friends … My mom’s dearest friend from 4 years old on up was one of them… and a very natural part of our everyday lives. So many stories of how their lives intertwined, all the fun they got into together, the faith that was part of my mom’s life and those landmark moments they joined in… Growing up it all just seemed so natural to me, but looking back I see God’s hand in those He brings to make a part of us. 🙂

  8. Such a blessing! I have been listening to Marty Geotz for the last half hour…my heart has been full of praise and thanksgiving to Yeshua, my Lord and Savior! Thank you so much for sharing. ♥

    • And thank you for letting me know that, Nanette! I so want this music to bless people here as it has been blessing me! You are so right, these songs and Marty’s exuberant worship fill me up with praise and thanksgiving to Yeshua. our Lord and Savior too!

  9. Pingback: When you are in between what once was home and now is… | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

