Candlelight…and Hope of Glory

Stock Image - Silhouette of Jesus Christ crucifixion on cross on Good Friday Easter reflected in lake water. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photography, Poster Photos, Pictures, and Photo Clip Art

All this week, I’ve been mulling through so many stirring songs to share with you here on this Good Friday… music that captures the heart, the majestic victory.  There are just so many…but finally, I narrowed it down to                       a story… and a glory

A Story…

Listening to and worshiping along with Marty Goetz and his Psalm Enchanted Evening this week, I fell in love with something so lovely he describes as he introduced his slightly modified version of the Rodgers and Hammerstein classic as unto the Lord, the One who IS Love…

Here, in Mr. Goetz’ own words:

“You know,” he begins, “the whole bible is just music through and through.  And ‘psalm’  actually means ‘to pluck’ a stringed instrument (though in my case, it’s more like ‘plonk’ a stringed instrument  🙂 )  – that’s what the word comes from…

“This night of song is an enchanting evening for me, I must say…  Now some of you may be a bit afraid of that word – enchanting. but it doesn’t mean ‘magic’ or anything like that.  I looked it up in the dictionary.  It comes from a word ‘incantare’ —  to sing.  It actually means, to sing!  I bet you didn’t know that.  And ‘enchantment’ means ‘to woo to a place of emotional…actually love…  a place of affection,’ through this singing.  So basically, what this evening is, is the plucking and plunking of stringed instruments to woo through the singing this evening… 🙂

“And, I also happen to love that song by Rodgers and Hammerstein… I’ve done this with other songs (it’s a little bit corny), but if you think about it — Love is from God.  He invented it. And the love we have for one another, and love male for female, it’s all from God.  So, I thought about this particular song, and this particular evening… and how the words really speak about our hearts desire for this night  It’s not really about us.  It’s about Him.

“And our prayer was that somehow this evening, through something we would do, He would woo us... in the singing and the playing of the instruments…woo us to the Source of Love, to God, Himself… 

[Here he begins to sing Some Enchanted Evening as it was so tenderly written, adding the following verse as his own prayer in this song of Romance… a whole new reason this song  mists my eyes as always…]:

 

The magnificent ballroom inside the Catherine's Palace, Tsarskoye Selo (Pushkin), St. Petersburg, Russia. - stock photo

Some enchanted evening,should you find Yeshua [Jesus]

Should you feel Him call you, across a crowded room

Then fly to His side

And make Him your own

Or all through your life, you may live all alone…

Once you have found Him,

Never… let…Him…go…

And for…The Glory…

I heard this one just tonight as I scanned You Tube, and somehow, this seems the prayer I want to leave in your hearts… just so meltingly beautiful… that I enjoin you to worship along…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_s0tF_kQ69g

Hope of Glory

Words & Music by Marty Goetz
© 2006 Singin’ in the Reign Music/ASCAP

In spiritual joy, I dwell,
My faith has made me cease
To question, ponder, pause or doubt
And this has brought me peace
My soul has waked to glory,
my eyes are turned above
I wait the Master’s kingdom
With reverential love

He’s promised me a dwelling place,
That He will prepare
And a crown of glory, He wants me to wear
And all His inheritance He wants me to share
So, I’ll work out my salvation
With fear and trembling
And daily make my prayer,
That it’s Him I’ll be resembling
Glory to glory, even by His spirit,
Moment by moment,
When the Master speaks I’ll hear it

(Hebrew singing)

Kadosh, Kadosh, Kadosh
Adonai Tz’vaot
M’lo Chol Ha-aretz K’vodo

(Translation)
Holy, Holy, Holy
Is the Lord of hosts.
The whole earth is full of Your glory)

Holy, Holy, Holy, Lord God Almighty
The earth belongs to You
We’ll prepare to go with You, Lord
But until the day we do, Lord,
Minute by minute, we’ll continue in the story
This mystery, Christ in us the hope of glory

Glory, Glory, Glory, Glory, Glory

(Instrumental)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:      Essential Thing devotions

    Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Lenten Vespers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Candlelight…and Hope of Glory

  1. Mary Gemmill says:

    Pam-thank you for your series of Holy Week posts which have been a joy to read and to listen to. May resurrection joy be yours every day of the year as you contemplate His beauty revealed to you daily. Many blessings winging their way across the oceans to YOU, dear one, whom the Lord LOVES.

  2. amymohorea says:

    Translation of message below: Thank you for this post elevating heart …. Every night should we find Jesus should feel as he calls me in a crowded room (single) Pundit my wings … Wings of life. of hope and liberation ….

    Va multumesc din inima pentru acest mesaj înăltător….
    În fiecare seară,ar trebui să îl găsim pe Isus
    Ar trebui sa simt cum El ma suna într-o cameră aglomerata (singura)
    Pundîndu-mi aripi…
    Aripi de viată. de speranta si eliberare….

  3. Pingback: Like lace through your fingers | Writing… Apples of Gold

  4. Pingback: When you are in between what once was home and now is… | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

