Happy May Day!

A May Day Basket of Glory Bouquet

.

“Flowers are made to bloom in the sun and not to be shut up in an apron.”
~ Johanna Spyri – Heidi (1880)

“It was so lovely, Heidi stood with tears pouring down her cheeks, and thanked God for letting her come home to it again. She could find no words to express her feelings, but lingered until the light began to fade and then ran on.”
~ Johanna Spyri – Heidi

“And if God cares so wonderfully for flowers that are here today and gone tomorrow,         won’t he more surely care for you?”   ~ Matthew 6:30 [TLB]

“Here’s another way to put it: You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world. God is not a secret to be kept. We’re going public with this, as public as a city on a hill. If I make you light-bearers, you don’t think I’m going to hide you under a bucket, do you? I’m putting you on a light stand. Now that I’ve put you there on a hilltop, on a light stand—shine! Keep open house; be generous with your lives. By opening up to others, you’ll prompt people to open up with God, this generous Father in heaven.”             ~ Matthew 5:16 [The Message]

 lilac bush pink against the blue sky Stock Photo - 9589541

What if today, this U.S. National Day of Prayer ran amok worldwide?

Lord, let your Glory rise on us and be seen on us… Isaiah 60:2

 

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Prayer Corner and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy May Day!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    You let God’s Word and His creation gloriously say it all, Pam! I hush my mouth in reverent awe!!!!!!!!!!

    Happy May Day!
    Love
    Lynni

    • I was trying! 🙂 Thanks, Lynni. That photo is awesome, isn’t it? May day has special meaning to me… for reasons and memories other than usual. Was reading again how people used to deliver beautiful baskets of flowers and hang them on a friend’s door this day… so this is mine to everyone here. Spring hasn’t really sprung here yet (really late this year), but I’m dreaming!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        THe photo is to die for. Is that in CO? I’d love to be there in spring, or to see the weeping cherries in Washington DC! We have a pretty spring here in MO…lots of redbuds, dogwoods (or as my young niece called a baby dogwood a puppywood! :-), and flowering crab trees. It was really cool here today, too, but it does make spring last longer. It’s far too short a season. Oh, yes, May baskets. And what about maypoles? I think maybe my mom’s classes used to do that. And I think of that great scene in Camelot, The Lusty Month of May! =]

      • I don’t know where that photo is from… just googled May Day and it came up under stock photos. Breathtaking though and I couldn’t resist! Your spring sounds a lot like ours… and usually by this time my street is abloom in pear tree blossoms! Still bare branched pretty much. Have seen a few tulip trees starting in other neighborhoods but we just haven’t had enough warm weather yet… rainy and misty. Yes, Spring and Fall are my two favorites and are generally way too short! We did have one year a few years ago when it began in March here and it was amazing! Put out my little iron white bench yesterday, but can’t wait for the dogwood next to it to bloom. Soon! Flowering crab are another of my fav’s…. I do remember once having a May procession at elementary school… 🙂

  2. jdukeslee says:

    I love those verses in the Message version! A joy to have you with us at #TellHisStory.

  3. Helene says:

    We LOVE Heidi and spring and flowers and that wonderful quote from Matthew. So this was altogether a wonderful post!.

    • Oh, thank you, Helene! I have always loved Heidi too… from the book to the Shirley Temple movie. Yet, it always refreshes me anew to see just how much of the Lord is in the writing! I think it is time for a re-reading! So happy this blessed you altogether too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

