In the Cool of the Garden

scan0005Late in the afternoon a breeze began to blow, and the man and woman heard the Lord God walking in the garden.

Genesis 3:8, [CEV]

 

This week, my days were alternately

spliced with the worrisome trial,

fraught with hindrance to my plans,

spiced with gal friend laughter (into the wee hours), adventure and bittersweet goodbyes,

stirred to wistfulness,

capped by mundane.

Then… as I began to craft this garden gate charmer, simply for the joy of it, but hoping to bless a few with the surprise of it…

a stirring in the air, like the sound of children gaily blowing soap through a wand, rounds upon my outside world.  Sending tufts of cottony wisp floating soft as pearlescent bubbles on the breeze.

They are drifting lazily in and out of my porch rails and by my window, scuttling together like lambs wool against the curbs right now…

— this annual hurrah to spring here, that I’d forgotten —

and I feel Him releasing childlike joy to my heart, like string to a kite, and setting me free.

My pen also drifts across paper as I shape this shed beloved by it’s owners (for it’s simple English-reminiscent charm, I think!).  For not knowing if it is really used as such, I am turning it into a potting shed like those I’ve seen in country magazines or read of in English and Scottish-set novels.  A respite where someone might putts about, growing roses and hydrangias, pansies and petunias, planting them into gaily colored pots.

Because this snapshot scene reminds me of a close friend who is loving birds (some sweet ones depicted on our postage stamps right now!)  as I do these days… of our mutual joy in the colonial and in garden flowers…  I am inspired to some detailed touches here, there…

He is the Romancer of my pen and heart, of sky and flower, of peace and promise.

Jehovah Shalom… breathing REST upon our souls.

Today… Spend time in the cool of garden.   Let the breeze ruffle through your hair.   Relax as on to a hammock gently held in His arms.

© Pam Depoyan

Do you have a special “garden meeting spot” in heart or home?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

scan0003I can’t make up my mind which I love best…

What do you think?

I don’t know if you can really tell by this scan, but I tinted the flowers and the birds ever so slightly in this print.  Soft green and pink on the hydrangia by the fence, pink and yellow flowers by the door, red breast on the birds.

Classic B&W… or hint of color?  🙂

  Sharing with:          Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday      Beauty in His Grip Button   Scripture and Snapshot                                                   Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox    Lisha

Pen & Ink Artwork: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)   )

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to In the Cool of the Garden

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, what a beautiful drawing. As I read your words “putts about” it reminded me of my mom because she used to say “putts around”. Putts is not a word that I have heard of in a very long time seems very old-fashioned and sweet to me. I long to be able to rest in Him and feel His breezes flowing over and through my life filling me with His peace His shalom. When I read those words “Jehovah Shalom” I thought of that beautiful song by Shannon Wexelberg. I cannot really see the hint of color but I like the idea of it. I do like black and white ink drawings but the bit of color just makes them more special I think. It is windy here wish those winds would turn into soft breezes. Bye for now! 🙂

    • Thanks Marylou! I love old fashioned words and terms too…One of my friends here still uses that word a lot. I’m glad it brought back that sweet memory to you too. 🙂 That song is one of my favorites of Shannon’s too. We’ve had some hot weather lately, but then some really nice cool breeze days too. The color on this one is pretty soft, but it does sort of highlight or bring a little definition, I think. Still I love the crisp look of the B and W too. I just keep going back and forth on it… Thanks for your thoughts on it too!

  2. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I just enlarged your drawing and then I could see the hint of color… I liked it. 🙂

  3. Mary Gemmill says:

    I LOVE your drawings Pam ❤ I cannot see the colours where you have said they are- so used my imagination.
    I am so happy to hear God has been filling you with JOY~!
    I think we feel JOY when we are creating because we are being like the Creator.

    God bless you my friend,and thank you for sharing your lovely art work with us,

    • Thank you, Mary. Yes, creating does do that and I do believe it is because we are moving in our Father’s heart somehow, his inheritance in us. Scans don’t seem to pick up the softer tones so I knew this would not come across as well, but even in person this one is subtle. I’m so glad you are enjoying these!

  4. poetry joy says:

    Pam, I love this soothing walk in the garden with you and God, enjoying the scenery, with time to muse and reflect. And the beautiful drawings make it extra special. The pale coloured print is my favourite! Thank you for providing this oasis for our soul’s refreshment. May God bless your day with His peace and beauty. 🙂 x

  5. Being Woven says:

    This was truly a pleasant moment in my day. I feel like I have been in the garden and puttsing about in and out of the shed. I feel like I might have been here before just by your words and drawings. Lovely, Pam.
    Visiting from The Sunday Community…choosing the slightly colored print for it is such subtle shading. I, too, expanded the images and could see the details and the colors. The B&W one seems filled with far more details, yet I know it is not. The color tones the black on white down, I guess. This comment is coming from a non-draw-er!
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    • Thank you, Linda! Actually, the scan does tone the black and white down whenever there is color in the picture, so you are perfectly right! In person it may not do that on the actual print (at least not when I add the color to it after it has been printed black and white as I did here) but it definitely defines the flowers and gives an illusion of more color than is really there. Interesting how that works! I’m glad this made you feel like you were “puttsing about” too! For I did hope to put everyone there in that garden feel… 🙂

  6. Hi Pam! I do have a spot. Under a Japanese a Crabapple tree in the Conservatory Gardens in Central Park. The sketch is lovely and immediately took me to that special quiet space. Thanks for such a beautiful offering for the community at #GiveMeGrace

Leave a Reply

