Happy 4th!

scan0006

It’s always there in simple parade bands and homemade floats wending through quaint neighborhoods… reflected in the words and prayers and patriotic spirit of the people.

It shines in kaleidoscope lights flashing jewel radiance across the night sky…and  triumphant march notes on air.  Stirring the spirit to Majesty.

But most especially, I sense it high and lifted up each and every time I sing this song…  knowing The Glory of His Worshipful Presence by the lump these heartfelt, prayerful words and music rise in my throat:

 

While the storm clouds gather far across the sea
Let us swear allegiance to a land that’s free
Let us all be grateful for a land so fair
As we raise our voices in a solemn prayer

God bless America, land that I love
Stand beside her and guide her
Through the night with a light from above
From the mountains, to the prairies

To the oceans white with foam
God bless America
My home sweet home

~ Irving Berlin

stock-photo-photo-of-american-flag-waving-in-the-wind-43198552.jpg

May His Spirit stir hearts afresh with His Glory

like an ever growing breeze blowing far and wide across this country!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

.


Ask about Note cards from my pen and ink drawings!    (U.S. only, at this time)      Choose from any you like, mix and match just $2 a piece (including envelope)…                 See designs at pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS    🙂

Pen & Ink Note Card shown above: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

Sharing with:

Imparting Grace            

Friendship Friday Essential Thing devotion

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy 4th!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    WHat a lovely post, Pam, with your beautiful, patriotic drawing of hearth and home and waving flag, to the heart-stirring prose, to the spirited lyrics of Irving Berlin. So many people don’t know the verses, but just the chorus. It was written in war-time, and reflects that we, as a country, have needed God’s guidance and protection in times of war and peace. With all the storm-clouds gathering abroad right now in this horrifically frightenting time, this song takes on fresh and poingant signficance. I often sing this song as a solo on the Sunday nearest July 4th, when we spend time at our cabin in the country. I didn’t have time to arrange it this time, so I’m so glad to read the lyrics here and to sing the rousing melody in my heart. It always moves me. I think of Kate Smith and how she rallied the country with her powerful rendition of this classic. THanksfor the reminder, Pam, and Happy Independence Day. May we all depend upon God who gives us our ultimate freedom!
    Love
    Lynn

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    PS I’ve told you before, but I just love when you add just a touch of significant color to your drawings. This one is marvelous!

    • Thank you, Lynn! i had to convince the requester of this portrait to do the flag in color, but she loved it too! I have wondered before if I just love this song because i love Irving Berlin and all that nostalgic music. But it is so much more than that. I just truly feel God in it, and know it was divinely inspired! Poignant is the word for it. From the first note, I’m tearing up at it’s beauty. All you shared about it then and now is so true. Wish i could hear you sing it! 🙂 I especially love when it is sung slowly and tenderly… Blessings to your celebration. Our weather here too has been glorious today and yesterday… lovely breezes!

  3. Jann Olson says:

    Gorgeous drawing! Love the focus on our wonderful flag! Thanks for sharing it with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

    • Thank you for those encouraging words, Jann! This is from such a quaint neighborhood nearby… I loved doing the flag in color too! Recently, I’ve been turning several of these drawings into note cards and thought this one might be a fun one to start with!

Leave a Reply

