The Trysting Place: Part One

Digital Camera


He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High [El ‘Elyon]
Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty [El Shaddai].

Psalm 91:1 NKJV

God invites you and I to dwell with Him, abide under His shadow, 

in “the secret place.” 

Psalm 91 is continually whispering round the corners of my thoughts and prayers and suddenly I recognize He is nudging me to pay attention.  I usually come to Him with my prayer list first, but today I am drawn to knowing – what is God wanting to tell meHoly Spirit,  Help me know more of You,” I pray then.  “To know what is on your heart, not just my own…

Meditate on My Promises… My Covenant with My Own… verse by verse.  Come, dwell awhile with me in My Secret Place…

A new question rises in me that I’ve never thought to ask before, plainly just assuming I know.   “Where – where is the Secret Place, Lord?”

See how two of my Names are juxtaposed in this first verse? He leads.   The secret place is there – between the Most High and under the shadow of Almighty…  

And meditating on that, I begin to glimpse.  The Secret Place is resting between the Most High God (El Elyon – Most High, as in the Supreme Court, go up, ascend) and Almighty (El Shaddai – the name God commands Abram to be blameless and promises him – and through Jesus, now us too — the Covenant; the All Sufficient One, One mighty to nourish, satisfy and supply).

It is God inviting us to the Blessing Covenant of Abraham now, because of Jesus paving the way, right to His Heavenly Throne.   A place where no evil can dwell.  In the heavenlies, seated right with Most High.  In the place where He is our all in all, our provider, our strength.

I come from a place of weakness, He draws me up into strength.  I come from a place of undernourished – He bids me come to where He makes me whole.   I come from a place of lack and need – He holds all I need from outstretched, nail-scarred hands.

“I am here,” I pray.   “What do you want to say to me, Father?  Please help me to hear… “

Just…be.   Be…with…Me.

I confess,  “Often Lord, I don’t know how to do that.  How do I sit with you – fully with you – not distracted by countless other thoughts, sights, sounds, even scents around me…?”

I remember something I heard a minister sharing once.  How he’d been about to close a time of prayer when he felt the Lord bidding him, O won’t you stay – just a little longer?” Like Jesus in the Garden, saying, “Can’t you stay –?  I just love being with you…”  Something I’d never thought of before – that like we are with our friends and loved ones, God yearns to keep us close, listening to Him as He holds us…

Sit with me, child.  I want to feel the warmth of you…to enfold you in the warmth of me. 

Tears seep through my lashes.  I will rest, abide, be nourished and strengthened and healed, know your heartbeat, O Lord… here in the secret place between You O Most High and All Sufficient One.  I will dwell in the shelter of your arms…

There is one Name I am whispering over and over as I do.   Jesus… Jesus… Jesus…

Softly then, like the wind breezing through the branches outside my windows, come His words a stirring…Heart to heart…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What do you hear Him confiding to your heart

in this first verse of Psalm 91?

This is the first in a series of Psalm 91 meditations I want to write here.  I invite you to bless us all by sharing in my comment section what God may be speaking to you as you meditate on these beautiful Psalm lines.  (Because I know our Father is opening His heart to each of us, giving us nuggets to discover  in His Word in more ways than one.)    Or to put your link there of any posts you may have written on this Psalm, as I continue to go verse by verse in coming posts!   🙂

 

© Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:          Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button     Scripture and Snapshot   Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

photo: mine

mbined with the word for God, “El”, it then becomes the “One mighty to nourish, satisfy, and supply”. – See more at: http://www.myredeemerlives.com/namesofgod/el-shaddai.html#sthash.D4t1xOhN.dpuf
Combined with the word for God, “El”, it then becomes the “One mighty to nourish, satisfy, and supply”. – See more at: http://www.myredeemerlives.com/namesofgod/el-shaddai.html#sthash.D4t1xOhN.dpuf
About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Psalm 91 Meditations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Trysting Place: Part One

  1. Amazing time to abide. Just need to say: do it. Blessings to you as you: do it.
    Janis

  2. Renewed_Daily says:

    Pam, your words always inspire me. This is beautiful.
    Thank you so much for joining our little family at Recommendation Saturday!! ❤ Heart Hugs, Shelly

  3. Nina says:

    It’s lovely to be covered under His wings … The safety – in His hand, both now, but also the past and the future.

  4. Barbie says:

    I love the thought of dwelling underneath the shadow of His wings, where it’s safe and warm.

  5. Pingback: The Trysting Place: Part Two | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

