O Frabjous Day!

Digital Camera

Into the middle of a ho hum afternoon, a smile peeks through like a beam from cloudy sky.  A little light of silver and blue jewel sparkling from a Target shelf of ordinary.  Like Alice, I think I see a large-lettered note attached:  Take Me Home.  This one’s for you…  It seems such a tiny extravagance, a spot of beauty and joy for my kitchen, a diminutive touch of luminescent (liquid soap) charm for a coming guest — so I do!

And placing it next to my snowy swiss-dotted pitcher, a song of praise for such simple pleasures wings up inside me…  color dances!

How spirit-lifting color can be — this azure elegance against white, like blue that chases wooly white clouds across the heavens or wavelets racing foamy white lace to the shores…

Or a plate of vine-picked tomatoes fresh from a friend’s garden… a bonus to watering while the family’s away!

So that I find the Lord taking my hands to skip, dad to daughter, to a song of simple… mm, frabjous!… delicious delights.

For you, He smiles.

~~~~~~~~~

Something simple and frabjous crept unexpected fun into your life lately? 

Please share and bless here in comments!  :)

 

© Pam Depoyan

Digital Camera

“Oh frabjous day, to act like a stroppy teenager for once!”

~ Veronica Heley

 Love this forget-me-not word! :)  (One more simple pleasure!)

frab·jous

 [frab-juhs] 

adjective Informal.
wonderful, elegant, superb, or delicious
Origin:
1872;  coined by Lewis Carroll in Through the Looking-Glass;  perhaps meant to suggest fabulous or joyous
~~~~~~~~~~
Sharing with:
About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Forget-me-not Words. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to O Frabjous Day!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Of course, I immediately recognized your allusion to Jabberwocky–such a fun poem! “O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!” I can hear you lilting this exclamation as you purchased your lovely little treasure. It’s darling, and who would have thought you’d find that at Target (or maybe we’d best call it Tar-jay! Sounds more elegant, like this little piece). I’m going through a very difficult situation and truly need hope and joy. The Jabberwock is attacking fearfully, I fear. I need to pull out my sword and fight, and don’t feel I have the strength to do it. I ask God to help me pick up my Sword…..His Word, and fight and slay this foe with a One, Two, One Two blow. The Jabberwock will be slain one day, and truly, that day will be frabjous, and we all shall shout: Callooh! Callay! In the meantime, thank you for helping me to see a glimmer of beauty and joy in a fearful circumstance.
    Love
    Lynn

    • You are faster thinking about these words, than I, Lynn! I read this in Veronica Heley’s book and thought, I know that word! But couldn’t exactly place it… though it sounded so like something childlike and exuberant. Then, looking it up, I saw that it was L. Carroll (of course!) 🙂 The world may seem topsy turvy at times, but how joyous it is to know we have a King who is mighty.
      I know what you mean about those difficult situations… some of my own too right now that makes these little out of the blue (no pun intended) surprise joys all the more frabjous somehow. I think the Lord sends them to remind us He is with us… He has overcome and we will see the victory. I am praying for you my friend!

  2. kelrohlf says:

    Frabjulous post! I love the little surprises that God wafts our way…your post was just the little pick me up I needed today! Blessings-Kel

  3. Barbie says:

    Beautiful!

  4. Mary Gemmill says:

    Loved this Pam…..loved reading about how JOY broke through and delighted you 😉

    My dear old step-dad went home to the Lord a week ago….and on Sunday during worship I had this clear image of his face beaming with joy…..so I cannot now be sad for his passing because he is in the best place of all, where one day I will see him again

    • Oh I’m so sorry, Mary… but blessed by your words. Have you ever seen the old film “How Green was My Valley” with Maureen O’Hara and Roddy McDowall? I just watched again the other night – such a beautiful story of faith in the midst of hard times. At the end, the father dies in the coal mine, and his wife is standing with the daughter in law who just lost her own husband in same way earlier. Before they even know that the man has died, the wife turns to the daughter in law with light in her face and says that she just felt her husband and dead son let her know that he was now in a place of Glory like none she had ever seen and not to worry…. Not like a ghost thing, but a comforting word from the Lord. What you wrote reminds me of that… yes, the glorious promise. You will see him again…

  5. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I really like your pictures of the treasures that you have in your home. I found a treasure unexpectedly though not recently in an antique store Sylvia’s Attic across the street from where I live. I really could not believe it how could it be possible was what I was thinking as I found it among so many treasures but there it was… I have always loved the quote “O, God Thy sea is so great and my boat is so small” well to my total surprise I found a metal trivet with those words on it that had once belonged to someone and somehow found its way into the antique store and eventually into my life. I love these surprises that I believe God brings our way and I can see Him smiling when we find them. 🙂 Thank you for sharing!

    • I love that story, MaryLou. Thanks for sharing it. Yes, isn’t it such a gift to see Him reach into our lives with some little moment or thing that is meant just for us! Like he is planning a surprise just for you. I think that little soap dish with the blessing (in the photo) saying came from Shelly – a gift she sent me a long time ago. 🙂 And that little metal “doily” plate was something I couldn’t resist recently at Hobby Lobby for about $2. Loved putting those tomatoes on it for the photo. Just fun…

Leave a Reply

