String of Pearls

scan0002

“And since I am going away to prepare a place for you, I will come again and will welcome you into my Presence, so that you may be where I am.” 

~  John 14:3 International Standard Version

Like a string of pearls, luminescent with love, friends of heart and hand and hope… so are these stories of our lives.  Encompassed by an invisible thread, strung by Jeweler’s Tender Hand.  Times and people placed perfectly to reflect rainbow lights that soften earthly loss, limn heavenly hope… bestowed as one more pearl added in here, there, each time He sends us one to one.

Encourage her, let them know the embrace goes on,” He whispers to one ear, then another and another.  To these, the friends who have shared much of their story in the making, worshiped, celebrated, lived life together.   To one, who conceives of a gift of illustration…

And an email invites me to join in a single paragraph to a specific story.

I study photos of a family and their red-shuttered stone cottage in the country.  Breathe in the beautiful verse of promise thoughtfully selected by this one for her friend…a version I’d never read…

 “Newly widowed, M. is a woman of strong faith,” the emailer shares, picturing her friend for me.   “We want to give her a gift… one that will give comfort each time she looks at it, be a memory she can cherish. I know God has a bright future for her, though the way will be hard and lonely for awhile… ”  They want her to know she is part of them, she is not alone.

Praying, an image comes to mind… a young couple, standing beside the home they love.  Perhaps a bit like Anne Shirley and her Gilbert, arm in arm before their house of dreams with visions of family and love and life they will share there, have shared there…

And as I do, I am thinking and lifting up another couple strong in faith and Heaven’s hope… of times we’ve each loved and lost and seen Heaven’s gate through a sheath of starry tears… of all of us who are held in this very moment, held in His Hand as a pearl of great price.

Studying the nearly finished piece from distance of perspective as I usually do, looking for final touches that need adding… I suddenly find one of those cloud in sky pictures there in the tree above this couple I have drawn.  In the area where I was simply trying to mimic some sunlight glints among the leaves, moving my pen here, there, darkening around, leaving a space white where light is.   Where it wasn’t meant to look like anything but sunlit leaves —  a shape emerges, an image like a symbol of welcome into His Presence.    He is ever hovering warmly, lovingly, over us.

I wonder… do you see it too?

Thank you, Father, for how You write us into one another’s story… sometimes even for just an anonymous moment… and for how You allow us to be part of reflecting You in ways beyond our wildest dreams.    And for the Glory of Your Holy Spirit Presence ever with us and over us.

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pen & Ink House Portrait shown above: mine, all rights reserved. 

(Please do not copy without permission. Thanks!  :)  )

Sharing with:        Inspire Me Monday       Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button   Scripture and Snapshot

Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

 

scan0025Ask about Note cards from my pen and ink drawings!       (U.S. only, at this time)      Choose from any you like, mix and match just $2 a piece (including envelope)…  See designs at pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS    🙂

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in God Do You See Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to String of Pearls

  1. lolita says:

    Yes, Pam. I can seet the sunshiney spots on the leaves of the tree and the soft shadow they cast on the lawn. I love the perspective of the sweet couple viewing “what will be” in their beloved home.

    I am positive this picture will lift up the spirit of the lady and will make her remember those sweet moments shared with her partner.

    Cherish the pearls added to your string, friend. You do surely make such beautiful sensitive images and I can easily spot those added touches which warms the viewer and touches the heart with the story it tells.

    I miss you. I am okay except for the usual challenges of life. I pray you are too.

    • Lolita it is so good to hear from you and to know you are well. I pray for you too. The stories of our lives intertwined with all those he brings into them, even for a moment… yes, those are the pearls. 🙂 I am so glad you see the light in the tree… what I was really referring to is a shape that I see there, above the couple. Maybe my imagination, but it looks like a dove to me (Holy Spirit), or even reminds me of an angel ornament I have for my Christmas tree. I did not plan a shape, but it just seems like a touch of blessing meant to encourage the one it is made for… like His whisper that says, yes, I hold your loved one close to Me… I don’t mean that like she needs to look for signs of that, of course, because she knows her husband is safe in the Lord. Just lovely to me that I see it there, if you know what I mean. (And I’d like to think she will see it too and it will bless her each time she looks at this. Especially because I did not purpose to create that.) Sort of like how God can even use a regular love song to speak His love into us… 🙂 Or how a heart-shaped leaf reminds me of his Love… Blessings to you Lolita – may His yoke be light as He carries your burdens…

  2. ruthshow1 says:

    Thank you, Pam, for including our story here, for sharing your side of the creating process, for the privilege of getting to know you through our thread of emails as our lives have intersected in this brief time. Tenderly, you’ve embraced what was important to my friends and me and allowed Him to work through your hands and your heart. It has been more than a business transaction; how could it not be when we both love the Jeweler who connected us? 🙂

    • Thank you, Ruth for those beautiful words. I feel the same way. I hoped you wouldn’t mind that I shared this – I tried to keep it generic enough. I think the subject of this particular drawing holds some special meaning for me right now as I think of some dear friends of my own in similar circumstances. I always pray that God blesses the work of my hands to bless others and your words encourage my heart. I’m glad to see you here 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    What a beautifully written post! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. inspiredbyjune says:

    It’s a beautiful illustration, Pam. I see a small heart above the main peak of the house and then a larger dove or angel in the tree above the couple. So glad God is using you to bless others in this way. Have a blessed week!

    • Thank you, June. I didn’t see the heart in this one until you pointed it out! I believe He is using each of us in ways we don’t even know and ask Him to make us more aware, especially of the ways that happen every day… 🙂 I think my week is going to be dedicated to housecleaning. Not my favorite thing, but wonderful when done. 🙂 Blessings to your week too!

Leave a Reply

