Thanks for Your Snowfall of Ideas!

scan0004In my last post, Time…and Your Thoughts!, I asked you to join in an early Christmas brainstorm – to help me narrow down an encouraging message for this first in a series of pen & ink Christmas cards I’m working on…

Thank you for so many treasuring words and thoughts on what this scene evokes…what you would look for in a cheering Christmas card to give a friend or loved one! 

I am so inspired by all your images of Christmas pure and joyful (like gentle swirls of snow), peace and hope (like a quiet coming upon a lovely old church in the wood) God as our refuge, the One Who holds us close...the One who is seeking our hearts!   And, as one of you commented, overall I too envisioned this as a prayer from the giver to the receiver but was going back and forth on phrasing

Your words helped me to put my own spinning thoughts into focus…

and like letters and words shaken in a cup, these are the ones that spilled forth upon my mind:   🙂

scan0013

What do you think?   🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

P.S.   Because of your help, I was able to take this design to have some cards readied and printed up yesterday! 

It is my prayer that God may use the message in drawing and words to stir His promise of hope and peace to someone who needs that cheer – especially in a season when joy is often mixed with sadness, loss or harried times!

Scans for my blog are always lighter than the way they really look in person… but I was able to print the actual cards in the crisp, clean black and white that I intended for this.   I always love color, but there IS just SOMETHING about the sharp black and white that evokes a Christmas mood in me… evocative as some of my favorite Christmas classics, both in film and in the illustrations of beloved books like Dickens! 

  If you think this card might bless someone you know this upcoming Christmas season, please see my  pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS  page for more about ordering from one to as many as you’d like …  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with: Inspire Me Monday  

raysofgraceandjoy.blogspot.comLink  up   

Pen & Ink Church Drawing shown above: mine, all rights reserved. (Please do not copy without permission. Thanks!  :)  )

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Thanks for Your Snowfall of Ideas!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    just lovely Pam!!!! Breathing in the Prince of Peace. He’s my hiding place and refuge. I love how you put in the little dog and even teh choir announcement. Makes it all seem so real.

    • I went back and forth on “breathing in” – unsure if it could have a meaning I don’t intend. I’m so glad you understand that too! MMMmm breathing in wonder of His presence, love, peace… And thanks for noticing that about the choir announcement (I was thinking of that St. Timothy’s choir in the Bishops Wife! 🙂 ) – I did add that to make it more real! Always have been a fan of N. Rockwell doing that… 🙂

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Will you be referencing a Bible verse inside?

    • I would love to, but it is so much more in expense that I can’t print on the inside of these cards right now… I could hand-write a reference, but it might spoil it. I loved all the verses you shared yesterday though and that thought of Him as our refuge put the idea of His arms slipping round us… Thanks, Lynni!

  3. jeanwise says:

    your work is beautiful! and I loved it you gathered ideas from your readers! Nice!

  4. I love the white of Christmas and am in total agreement that sometimes it takes just the black and white to get the message across. Blessings to you and yours!

    Hopping here from Inspire Me Monday and definitely following!

    Marie @ http://asatisfiedspirit.com & http://healthyhappyholyhome.com

  5. Sharon O says:

    great … are you going to be selling these?

    • Yes, definitely! 🙂 (For now, just in U.S. or Canada, where currency could be U.S.) $2.65 a piece for greeting card size (5 1/2 x 8 1/2) plus shipping. $2 ea. for smaller note cards. (For this particular drawing, I personally like the greeting card size best to see the details… but note cards are always nice for small notes too.) Thanks for asking, Sharon! If you are interested, just email me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com. 🙂

  6. YAHOO for your final effort on this amazing drawing Pam!! HE gave you the words–yes many poured forth from others and what a joy to see this end result… I will be interested in ordering some from you…. Bless you my friend…martha

    • Thank you, Martha! I’m glad you think so! 🙂
      Just let me know how many you’d like and I can see how much it will cost to mail. Since it is really not that big, it should not cost that much extra. Bless you too. I appreciate you and your encouraging words!

  7. Lolita Valle says:

    So lovely, Pam, and like “breathing in His peace and love”, stirs my heart deeply to the author of Christmas. That sure is a pretty Christmas greeting card and the hush of the dedication tightens my chest more, feeling the great arms of our Father around me.

    Thank you and I thank God that He is using your Art and your dedication to encourage others.

    • Thank you for such beautiful words and thoughts, Lolita. It means a lot that this stirs you to His Great arms around you. I thank God for the gift of you, too. 🙂 Yes, I do pray that my writing and drawing encourage others and bless Him. God keep you close in His care and provision.

Leave a Reply

