When you feel midair with wonder…

scan0013

You know how you can be looking at something you’ve seen at least a zillion times, when…like an unexpected pop of a balloon… a sudden revelation  dazzles?

How often I’ve relished an overflowing cone at this quaint ice cream parlor over the years. Celebrated children’s birthdays ringing with squeaky voice laughter in the three or four café table area where a toy train runs round the perimeter of the ceiling, and vintage photos of once upon a time village draw eye to the walls. Loved sharing it with out of town visitors. Train theme... mm, yes… I haven’t failed to recognize that.

Yet, taking pen and ink to render a sketch from photo the other day, I stopped midair with an inner exclamation of wonder. Images of Anne Shirley sitting on a bench at a train stop – carpet bag clutched upon her knees, giddily, nervously anticipating her first glimpse of Avonlea – sprang before me.

“Oh…my…gosh!” I realized.  “This is actually a replica of a depot like Prince Edward Island… or the ones I’ve watched in westerns with my dad… or, even, Disneyland!”

Followed by my shotgun exclamation of ongoing amazement (and feeling a little on the dumb side) – “How could I never have seen this before?”

Just that little insight added so much richness to a place that maybe I’d unknowingly relegated to just part of the scenery.  From now on, it will always evoke favorite stories and family moments and parks that celebrate bygone glory.

With a sheepish grin, I broached it with friends yesterday, expecting a bit of ribbing for only just now seeing something from a standpoint that should have been… well, obvious, right?

“Wow – you’re right!” they marveled with me instead. “The name junction should have given us our first clue!” we all laughed at our apparently years-blind selves.

Reflecting on this since, I think maybe it is because this fun little parlor is such a miniscule spot. When you are standing there in real life, even taking photos as I did to prepare for this drawing, it’s more as if you are on top of it. Like not seeing the trees for the forest.  It took a bit more meditation on the minute, in putting it on paper, to see it.

And writing that, a warm feeling moves over me, from the inside out. Because… it is also like walking my fingers through the Word that maybe I’ve read – or heard read – innumerable times, and just when I think I know all there is to know about it, and nothing new could possibly be found there, my heart leaps at a fresh whisper of astonishment.  A gold mine of His voice making me see something I never recognized before, like holding up a crystal glass and finding previously hidden rainbow facets I never noticed till then.

As an intercessor, I especially love when He reveals something about prayer to me. Like the time I was reading about Nehemiah rebuilding the wall around Jerusalem, putting men at the gaps to stand guard… and suddenly I understood in a gobsmacked way, how our prayers are like that! Like God, putting us on guard at the gaps, so He can fortify His walls of protection around us and those we lift up to Him… O, that you really DO that Lord, my spirit leapt!

Like Anne Shirley to Marilla, I think He may lament with a longing over the flock of His pasture – oh, my child, how much you miss!   But what Heaven’s joy each time we understand —

— there are always wonders to behold if you look with The Spirit’s eyes.

It renews me with a childlike sense of adventure to think of that. And with prayer spilling over that He would lead each of us more and more to uncovering the miracles He longs for us to know.  Especially in His Word (but even, sometimes, in life around us, like ice cream parlors.  🙂 ).   And make us truly to shine as His stars in a world hungry for Starlight.  

 

What have you spotted or discovered in a fresh burst of wonder lately?

 

© Pam Depoyan

single-red-balloon-birthday-27552347.jpg

 LOVE this in 1 Corinthians 2:10, The Message!

“God’s wisdom is something mysterious that goes deep into the interior of his purposes. You don’t find it lying around on the surface...  The Spirit, not content to flit around on the surface, dives into the depths of God, and brings out what God planned all along. Who ever knows what you’re thinking and planning except you yourself? The same with God—except that he not only knows what he’s thinking, but he lets us in on it. God offers a full report on the gifts of life and salvation that he is giving us. We don’t have to rely on the world’s guesses and opinions. We didn’t learn this by reading books or going to school; we learned it from God, who taught us person-to-person through Jesus, and we’re passing it on to you in the same firsthand, personal way.”

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:       Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button     Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Sandra Heska King - Still Saturday

Pen & Ink Drawing shown above: mine, all rights reserved. (Please do not copy without permission. Thanks!  :)  )

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When you feel midair with wonder…

  1. Being Woven says:

    Yes, “always wonders to behold” when we open our eyes of our hearts to the beauty that surrounds us. What a delightful insight and a wonderful drawing, Pam. Just beautiful. I have always wanted to be able to sketch like you but … So I can enjoy yours.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda

    • I love when God correlates “insights” like these and makes us to see… 🙂 I’ve been asking Him to open my eyes and help me hear Him in ways like this… Thank you, Linda. I feel like God is enabling me to draw more than I ever have in the past… We never know what we can do until we start… It amazes me each time I finish one of these. It means a lot to know you enjoy them, Linda. 🙂

  2. elizabethfstewart says:

    I loved this post. The way you saw a familiar spot with new eyes is such a great analogy of how we see the Word that is so familiar to us in a fresh new way.

  3. Lovely insight. I find that if I’m praying and listening and asking for heart-sight before I open his Word, that I see something new EACH time.
    And you sketch is lovely too 🙂
    Blessings,

  4. Julie Sunne says:

    Beholding His wonders, being attuned to fresh insights–part of living tuned into the Holy Spirit. A key to living joyfully. Lovely drawing and great insight. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

