Chocolate Swirled Heaven of a Coffee Cake

  Does God care about something as insignificant  as a… Chocolate Swirl coffee cake?

🙂

 

Mmm… maybe so.  At least, when He knows we want to bake a little something special to warm someone’s day – yes, I think He does.   This is a recipe I’ve barely thought about for several years, though it used to be an old reliable, a go-to when I needed something whip-up-able in a dash for office celebrations — one I could always count on to be a rave.

In a slew of more extravagant fancies I usually turn to, I’d forgotten this gem.  Until the other night when I was mentally perusing those well-thumbed pages of cookie and cake possibilities.  I wanted to bake something small but enticing for friends going through a storm of all storms right now.    A treat that might hit the spot and even – just for a tea or coffee moment – break a light of simple joy through their clouds.

One by one I tossed ideas into a pile of… just…not… the… right… thing.

Father, do you have an idea?  I wondered silently.

An image of coconut topping flitted into my thoughts.   Memories of something scrumptilious…  but, where had I put that recipe?  Flipping through my recipes from mom, I found it.  A Bisquick cake.

Hmmm….  Was it really as good as I remembered?  Scratch…but not really all the way.  What if it were just one of those ho hummers that our once less-gourmet palates had mistaken for extraordinary?

The thought persisted…  and suddenly, I could almost taste it.

When the first aromas wafted from my oven, and I peeked in at it’s lusciously rising beauty, all doubts flew out the window.  And when my friends pronounced it A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. I knew this inspiration had truly been a nudge from Heaven.

Because He alone is the One who has a million and one ways to send us to each other with a reminder – He has us on His mind and heart.

And He delights in our delights… especially when lifting each other up, even with a little splurge as light and fluffy and chocolate chip good as this one.

And with relatively little butter and sugar (compared to so many other tempting scratch favorites), it even seems a little more on the healthy side!

So… if you are in the mood for surprising a loved one or two with  a bit of EASY PEASY, warm from the oven smiles…  I highly recommend this one!

from coffee to herbal tea. I’m drinking cumin, coriander, fennel tea ...

Chocolate Swirl Coffee Cake   

Topping:
1/3 cup flaked coconut (I could only find sweetened, but if you can use unsweetened, it should be great)
1/4 cup chopped walnuts  (I always think more is better when it comes to nuts, so be as generous here as you like)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 T. melted butter
Optional:  I also sprinkled a handful of chocolate chips in, but not part of original recipe.
.
Cake:
2 cups Bisquick  (I used the heart smart kind)
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
3/4 cup milk (I used skim)
2 T. melted butter
1/3 cup semi sweet chocolate chips, melted
.
Heat oven to 400.  Grease square baking dish, 8x8x2.
Stir together coconut, nuts, 1/4 c sugar and 1 T. melted butter.  Set aside.
Melt chocolate on double boiler, set aside and keep warming low till use.
.
Mix Bisquick, 1/4 cup sugar, 2 T. melted butter, egg, milk.  Beat vigorously with a hand mixer for 1/2 minute.  Pour into greased square baking dish.
Spoon melted chocolate over batter, cut through with knife several times to marble.
Sprinkle coconut mixture evenly over top.  Bake 20 – 25 minutes. (My oven took 25)  Serve warm.
.
Yum!
 .
.
~~~~~~~~~
© Pam Depoyan
.

Sharing with: Inspire Me Monday  

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Scrumptious Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chocolate Swirled Heaven of a Coffee Cake

  1. Pam-
    what a “delicious” joy to have you share a recipe, especially one that truly sounds DELIGHTFUL!
    As we begin to slowly feel our version of Fall weather–the Chronic Pain I live with jumps up to an all time High as cool fronts come in and I feel the Low/high Pressure changes in the worst way!!

    i have done some baking recently as I took a break from Sewing and to see this recipe pop up, well my friend-it was a very lovely GIFT that I needed at this particular moment of the day….. The LORD gives me courage to keep going and moving~~~because each day is a GIFT from HIM….

    thank you my friend… martha

    • Thank you, Martha for letting me know that! You know, I just kept thinking I should post this… not knowing if it would seem out of place in the midst of the fall psalms I’m doing (still writing that post for today 🙂 ) but this little recipe was just such a gift again to me this week. I have to be really careful with sugar these days so I don’t indulge as much as I want to. But when I took this to my friend she immediately sliced me a small piece to take back with me and it hit the spot for me! I hope it brightens your day whenever you bake it too! Just the fragrance in the house is uplifting! Yes, each day is a gift… another thing Autumn reminds me of…

      On another note,, I don’t know about TV ads for things like this, but I keep seeing one that shows some kind of velcro leg brace (just small one) you can put on that supposedly alleviates or tremendously helps with sciatic pain etc. I wonder if it might give you some relief. If you think so, I will keep my eye out for the ad again and get the info…

      Bless you, Martha. So happy this sounds good to you too!

      • oh my dear Pam–what a wonderful GIFT of caring to know you heard about that brace and thought of me…. If ONLY a brace would do the trick~~~~but that is not the case for me.. I will be having constant Pain from now on–when I fell from a tree about 19 years ago, I split my Sciatic Nerve and the damage is there to stay…. Some days are much better–but as fall and cooler weather rolls in~~~well its a long haul…….. I will let you know how the cake turns out…. Your Scriptures are amazing Gifts and we all are the better for having you in our midst!!!!

  2. Yum! I may have to try this. I love the way your memories swirl with nostalgia and your heart to reach out with a love gift like this. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

    • I like the way you put that… swirl with nostalgia! 🙂 Hope you enjoy this as much as I do. My friends just told me again last night how much they loved this one… I was so glad to only have my single piece though, for if I had it around my home I’d have wolfed the whole thing, so scrumptious… 🙂

Leave a Reply

