Melancholy blue… dilly, dilly

Digital Camera

       “How precious it is, Lord, to realize that You are thinking about me constantly.”          (Psalm 139:17)

.

 A psalm on melancholy and light

Blustery, fusty, windblown days of fall. Sometimes I love ‘em, with a knowing of shelter from the storm, Lord. Other times, I’m Eeyore and the only color my eyes, my heart, seem to register is…melancholy blue.

Rain drips and douses and bedraggles soggy brown leaves, sending them to crackle on the ground till I lose sight of shimmer coming round the corner. Gloom shimmies on its belly through my house in early day (when it should be bright!) – making me feel, well, ornery —  while arrows with poisoned points slip through chinks in my armor, because, like Eve, I let them.

But you – oh you, my Beloved Lord – you know just when to send shafts of Heaven streaming through the clouds. You shine upon the backs of leafy arms till they appear as silver-tipped hanging bells of Heaven. You open my eyes to autumn confetti colors collecting like candied sugar sprinkles around the edges of lampposts, along the once drab curbs and somehow… soaring festive hope.

Then – just at a low moment when I’m questioning if I really have much to offer with my words…what is this blog accomplishing anyway…a completely unexpected email appears in my box.

And in an instant, you surprise me with how you are thinking of me — by letting me know that you are touching someone whose work I so admire, somehow, with mine... When I hadn’t even a clue she’d read anything here…

And it is ALL you, and for you… Wordsinger of our hearts…

I look at her smiling face on her blog, treasure the beauty she paints and wonder at how you connect your children… how we may think we are conjuring these things up by ourselves (like, ‘Hey, I think I’ll ask Pam if I can join her links! I’ll endorse her work!’) and all along it is YOU, using us to encourage and bolster and hearten even relative strangers, one to one.

Oh, the power of blessing you have put in our tongue!

I watch your fiery paintbrush moving from treetop to treetop, transforming green to gold and crimson and pumpkin orange. Rainbows dance on waters and you are there in all your majesty. And now I see how forgotten revelation becomes new as you remind me… you make their radiance glow even stronger in the blustery, fusty, windblown days of fall… With them, I lift my arms to my King with songs of thank you, thank you, thank you… abandoned as to light and frolic-y love songs…

“If your dilly, dilly heart
Feels a dilly, dilly way
And if you’ll answer, “Yes”
In a pretty little church
On a dilly, dilly day
I’ll be wed in a dilly, dilly dress of

Lavender blue, dilly, dilly
Lavender green
Then you’ll be king, dilly, dilly
And I’ll be your queen”

.
~ English Folk Song

Digital Camera

© Pam Depoyan
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To follow my 31-days posts throughout October, simply go to categories on the right of this blog and click on “Autumn Psalmbook“

wpid-screen-shot-2014-10-01-at-1.48.07-pm.pngI am joining hundreds of other bloggers/writers as we write for 31 days in October with The Nester. 

Topic: Inspiration and Faith (My theme: Autumn Psalmbook)

 

 

photos: mine

Sharing with:

Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button  Scripture and Snapshot  Give Me Grace  Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Sandra Heska King - Still Saturday

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Psalmbook. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Melancholy blue… dilly, dilly

  1. Anita Hunt says:

    Hi Pam, I am so thankful you received this encouragement. Isn’t it wonderful how our Lord works. Blessings

  2. Mary Gemmill says:

    Pam…I’m glad you are being encouraged because you paint with words as beautifully as you draw with pen and ink.
    This post was exquisite…love seeing the Fall colours and was blessed by the words you use to come against the “ornery” which attacks us all periodically!

    • Thank you, Mary. God has so many unexpected ways of encouraging, and I love that He wants to use us to bless one another with gifts He puts in us. It blesses me to know this blesses you! I just start writing and trusting Him to put the words on my mind somehow… sometimes not even completely sure where I’m going to go with it! 🙂 Ornery and grouchy do love to prickle us! 🙂

  3. Thank you, Anita. Your words on your blog always bless and encourage me too! 🙂 I love how He uses us each in so many ways… to send a word of encouragement, bless another with a cake or whatever… showing us His heart.

  4. inspiredbyjune says:

    Oh, Pam, I love your heart! I’m always surprised and blessed when He uses me to bless someone else. I hope that never changes. I’m so thankful that He gave you the encouragement you needed this week! Blessings!

  5. Hi Pam … yes, autumn’s all over the place this year, isn’t it. Which makes it more glorious that our Heavenly Creator never changes like shifting shadows.

    Sweet blessings of joy as you write and write and write some more!

  6. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, as they all are, this is such an exquisite post during my most favorite season. Thank you for taking time to create beauty. It is not for naught. You always uplift me. And I can’t believe your email, because I, too, received one from a stranger about my book (which was published some time ago), and it was encouragement sent from heaven, I’m sure–just like what you received!! And so often you, yourself, have uplifted me, with your words here, in an email or a card. I treasure what God does through you. Don’t stop!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Thank you so much, Lynni. Yours was such a beautiful tribute to your book and a gift of truly seeing just how far reaching God continues to make your words and journal inspiration! Mine was more one of those Linked In invites…but that it came from someone who herself is one of the most beautiful writers I’ve found online, someone whose blog I’ve occasionally commented on but never known she’d been here – and that it was followed up by an endorsement of my work – was just one of those blessings He sends to say, keep on keeping on! It’s a blessing to know He can take what I write here and touch you and others… that’s just something I wonder at times when things are pretty silent here. But God shows me His Spirit is moving behind scenes… I won’t stop… 🙂 And you shouldn’t either!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        I just love that, Pam. So glad that this lady was blessed. I do know that there are many “lurkers” out there, and even though they don’t take time to comment, they are there, reading and enjoying. Sometimes i have to do that, b/c of time restraints. But if I can comment on blogs, I like to, b/c I so believe in encouraging talent (and friends)! Writing and art can be such solitary pursuits, so knowing someone appreciates the effort is very meaningful. I know you read the lady’s email, and I was so surprised by this. Sadly, the book of my heart (unlike my first two) was not really in bookstores (a great shock and sadness). So it always amazes me when someone finds it, other than friends and acquaintances. We must trust God to wing our words where He wants them. His impact will be measured by changed hearts and not blog comments. Glad you are keeping on keeping on!

        Oh, and btw, I had meant to tel lyou that I love Lavender Blue! I need to see if I can dig it out of my music!
        Love you,
        Lynn
        NTTP

      • I had a feeling you would feel that way about Lavender Blue too! 🙂 It kept running through my mind in cadence with this post, so I thought, why not add it? He’s the king… 🙂

  7. Anne Payne says:

    Pam, This is wonderful! I love how you paint such glorious word pictures.

  8. Dana says:

    Pam, so sweet to read your heart today, and your story of how intimately God knows and encourages you on your journey. I so love the way He loves. I’m blessed to be here today. Hugs to you!

  9. I love this Pam! “Word singer of our hearts” it speaks so clearly of the way He uses us to sing songs over each other, encouraging and uplifting with each post, each prayer. Blessings for a fabulous week ahead!

  10. Pingback: 5 encouraging posts - Scattering the Stones

  11. Simply Beth says:

    Oh, this is truly beautiful and such truth of how God uses others to encourage and lift one another up. I love how He has done just that in this beautiful online blogging community. Blessings.

  12. Hi Pam! I am coming over from Anita’s blog.
    I really enjoy reading your descriptions, they are so vivid in my mind…like the ‘fiery paintbrush’. We can really encourage and bless others in our writing, even if we are unaware. God is amazing!
    Blessings to you and yours,
    Ceil

Leave a Reply

