Your thoughts?

It seems I’ve been ensconced in holly and bows, knee deep in mounds of snow, waltzing to carols of frosted windowpanes all week. 

In these last days, outside my window, the Autumn world has turned to frosted pumpkin sugar cake… mmm… but that was simply a dusting. (Thankfully!  I don’t think I’m ready for the real stuff yet…)

No, the snowfall that’s been whispering Christmas a’coming like a singing wind in and out the windows of my spirit is more the delightful dressing up of house on paper.   In imagination, I can line a roof with boughs of ivy, place wreaths in large windows, tie them all with plump rosy ribbon.    I can set out paper luminarias along the walkway, frost ordinary bushes like marshmallowy covered cupcakes, shine candles from every window.   Offer a candy cane gift to any onlooker, there at the feet of a pup.

And like the power of a story, I can enter into the winter wonderland without decorating expense, minus the iced roads, and… feeling kindred with Anne Shirley as I often do… just feel a prayer.

scan0010

 

 

 Does this scene evoke a heart whisper to heaven in you?  (Click the image if you’d like to see it a little larger…)

I’m still working out the words, but in essence, it seems to wash over me like walking through a neighborhood at Christmas and peeking into the window vignettes of unknown lives.   The wonder I feel watching backlit particles of snow glitter on the frosted air  The awesome feel of standing inside a living  snowglobe… held in his hands like a treasured gift… And that inexpressible prayer welling up behind my misted lashes…

That’s but a touch of how the black and white version of this makes me feel.

Then…”I’d like washes of red on the bows,” he said.

When I finished the main pen and ink, I almost didn’t want to do it.

scan0008

But now… I’m falling in love with another side to this… and how one festive color changes the whole mood to…

Merry whimsey.

And words I’ve written here about God’s ribbons of joyous wonder.

Oh the quandary.  🙂

Hmm…  I just may  have to make two separate versions of this card, two different messages.

Won’t you share in my comments and help me decide? 

What do these differing shades of illustration say to you🙂

Picture - Snowy pine cone. Fotosearch - Search Stock Photos, Images, Print Photographs, and Photo Clip Art

 

Sharing with:

Friendship Friday 

 

Pen & Ink Drawing above: mine, all rights reserved.  🙂   See all my Christmas Card designs at my pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS page.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Your thoughts?

  1. Lori Kibby says:

    I like both of them. They are beautiful! I like the first because it allows me to linger without distraction. I like the second one because it invites me to imagine more.

    • That’s so interesting, Lori. Love your thoughts because you put words to the way I feel about the black and white. Like it is pure, like the feeling of being out in the snowfall and all is hushed. I don’t want distraction. But the second one has that festive air… Thanks for sharing that!

  2. THE COLORED ONE!!!! Love it!!! Think about the color of a sunset, sunrise, huge Moon, deep blue ocean waters, and WHITE snow… GOD certainly made it all beautiful… GREAT WORK PAM!!!!!!! great……

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh bummer! Once again I can’t see them. I’ts this old clunker of a computer. So sorry…..but I know they are wonderful. =[

    • I’m with you on the old computers. Mine is driving me nuts… insanely slow at times. I’m wondering if linking up with sites is “taking up too much room” on mine somehow, by “remembering.” Keep deleting history but don’t know what else to do. Hopefully yours will let you see again soon.

  4. Mary Gemmill says:

    I agree with Lori…i love both…but the touch of red does draw the eye and make us wonder what else might be discovered were we to peek in the windows. xx

  5. Pingback: Hope glows | Writing… Apples of Gold

  6. Gorgeous drawing! The red wash of the bows is just perfect. I am feeling the anticipation of the season and love how you described it all with words and drawings. Beautiful! Thank you for linking up to The Weekend Brew.

Leave a Reply

