Happy Thanksgiving!

scan0025Thou hast given so much to me,
Give one thing more —  a grateful heart;
Not thankful when it pleaseth me,
As if Thy blessings had spare days,
But such a heart whose pulse may be Thy praise.


~George Herbert

 

We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.

~Thornton Wilder

 

All that we behold is full of blessings.   ~William Wordsworth

 

For each new morning with its light,
For rest and shelter of the night,
For health and food, for love and friends,
For everything Thy goodness sends.

For flowers that bloom about our feet;
For tender grass, so fresh, so sweet;
For song of bird, and hum of bee;
For all things fair we hear or see,
Father in heaven, we thank Thee!

~Ralph Waldo Emerson


O Lord that lends me life,
Lend me a heart replete with thankfulness.

~William Shakespeare

.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving
    and his courts with praise;
    give thanks to him and praise his name!

~ King David, Psalm 100:4

Digital Camera

THE POETS (AND PSALMIST) HAVE IT!

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh I am thankful that I am finally reading your beautiful posts again! (I am not thankful for this failing, recalcitrant computer! 🙂 ) Who but the poets and psalmists could teach us to elicit such thanksgiving! Praise be to God. Thank you for your poet heart Pam!
    Love
    Lynn

  2. Ralph Waldo Emerson!! Oh my how the words of Thanksgiving flowed from his heart~~~you are so right Pam, the Poets and Spiritual Messengers had all the Perfect Words to truly “Give Thanks.”

    We are human, and I know my words can sometimes “tumble” from my desire to truly express how much I have to be Thankful for.. This past year has been one filled with very difficult “physical trials” which have changed me in many ways–and through all this I find myself learning more each day how to just be THANKFUL……..

    May you have a Thanksgiving day filled with peace..

    • Yes, isn’t it beautiful to see these words written for us to still read and treasure from poets like Emerson! 🙂 I agree…we are human… but God moves in our praises and I know He brings healing to us in the midst of our praise. Sounds like the Holy spirit is ministering to you in putting thanks in your heart more and more too. Blessings of peace to you too this Thanksgiving and always, Martha.

  3. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I do have the card with the boy and pumpkin and I use it in my Thanksgiving decorations. It is very special to me because a dear friend gave it to me many years ago when I went to visit her. Talk about time flying I just looked at the date… November 1996. I really like all of the beautiful words that you shared. I know that I have much to be thankful for. Happy Giving Thanks Day…. Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

  4. Lolita Valle says:

    Happy Thanksgiving, Pam. I thank God for our friendship and your words that makes us look more closely upon Him, the giver of every good and perfect gift, that no silver or gold could buy, and they never tarnish nor could be stolen.

Leave a Reply

