Starting an Advent Box of Christmas Treasures

scan0027 Sometimes a Christmas card is a treasure we want to keep in a memory box…  🙂

Here’s one for you…

Fancy-Letter-I.jpg still have a tiny magic trinket box somewhere in my closet, reminding me that oftentimes wonder comes in small packages.

Magic…because it has a “hidden” compartment where I once squirreled away my two or three silver Kennedy half- dollars. (Even back then, in my Walter Mitty way, I vividly conjured scenes of a coming day – perhaps in the far off fantasy era of the new century 2000 — when I would reveal this treasure to a coin dealer and he would hand me over hundreds of dollars at their escalating worth!)

Trinket because it is a childhood souvenir of Disney’s Magic Kingdom and thus held invisible memories most of all.

There is nothing in it any more. Not sure where that silver slid away to…and somehow, the wooden veneer has lost luster. But thinking of it just now, I’m curious…

Did you ever keep a hidden treasure box? Collecting odds and bits – a mismatched earring, a piece of ribbon, a fancy button or a small empty perfume bottle? Wanting to hold on to wonder… like capturing fireflies in a bottle? To treasure them again… one by one, like opening little doors on Advent calendars and pulling out the mysteries anew?

Do you have one still?

Growing up, I think I always wanted to. I remember an old cigar box I loved in Kindergarten. But I only remember storing favorite crayon colors in it. And another little cedar chest with a golden latch… I used to take it out and breathe in the scent of it like a flower (it was a gift from an aunt) and kept small notes and bracelet charms inside.

As we begin to look towards Christmas, what if we thought of Advent as a treasure box to be opened throughout the season for one small savoring tidbit at a time? I’d like to put in some words and stories, maybe bits of poems or prayers, Christmas memories that hearten and hearken of the stable and the star. Then pull them out and place them in your hands to hold with me…

To invite you to link up your own posts of Advent treasure box pieces in my comments, or share a line or two there of a memory or a recent Christmas moment you hold special.

Or if you don’t have your own blog, maybe… to invite some guest posts here this month where you might share a small Christmas treasure story, poem, psalm or song with us all…

I’m not completely sure what this will look like till we start… but that’s the fun of opening Advent calendar treasure!

.
Are you in?  🙂

treasure box photo: Fairy Treasure Box fairy3.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

Christmas Card, mine, available for individual purchase.                                          Please do not copy without permission.

See pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS   for ordering details of this and all of my Christmas designs. Look there for the dangling ornament image, then scroll down till you see it again with the card info…

You can reach me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com  🙂

 

Sharing with:

Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button  Scripture and Snapshot  Give Me Grace  Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Sandra Heska King - Still Saturday

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Advent Box of Christmas Treasures. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Starting an Advent Box of Christmas Treasures

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, as always, your mind always works uniquely and delightfully. I had never thought of Advent in that way before, and likely never will again. I LOVE this idea. And you remind me that I did have a treasure box as a child, one filled with little charms. And then it morphed to hold other things like small shells, an old earring or two, and lock of hair. I do recall something very special, and I have no idea where it went! I’d forgotten about it. It was the tiniest wine bottle–not a real one, but a miniature replica. And the magice secret was that when you unstopped it, taking off the cap, it was attached to the world’s tiniest pencil. It was adorable. The old lady across the street (when I was growing up) had given it to me. I’ll bet there are many Advent memories people have forgotten too. Maybe you will help us to remember.
    Thank you!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Well, I don’t know if I’m being clear, but I guess I’m thinking of the “treasure box’ as sort of a metaphor for treasured moments or people we’ve known (either from the past or the present) during this season, and writing about them. Or sharing a favorite line or two from a poem that we come across for Christmas or something… or any kind of Advent memory in the making… “as though we are putting those down to place in an Advent treasure box.” Thanks for sharing about your childhood treasures. I love your description of that wine bottle pencil! I’ve never seen anything like that. I remember one of my teachers gave me a tiny poodle pin that I just loved. Something about those tiny things when we are young that seem so special. Thanks, Lynn!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    No, I had understood your metaphor. =]

  3. Gayl says:

    I like your idea of thinking of Advent as a treasure box to open a little at a time. We have celebrated Advent for many years, but so often it’s felt like a duty. This year I want to be filled with wonder again. Your invitation to linkup with “advent treasure box pieces” sounds great. I hope to be able to join in at least part of the time. I’m stopping by from #GiveMeGrace. Your post is refreshing and encouraging.

    • I am having that longing for His infilling of wonder too, Gayl…as I was envisioning this drawing of a child enthralled with a grand tree, it just spoke of His wonder to me in many ways… Yes, please do stop by and join in whenever you can! Not sure if I’ll be posting something every day, but will try to most of time this month. I am mulling through a thought for my next right now and may post this evening. 🙂 I’m so blessed to know this advent idea refreshes and encourages you!

  4. Being Woven says:

    I grew up in a church where I cannot recall Advent being a pronounced celebration, that it was even mentioned. Then, after I became a believer and follower of Christ, I still did not hear of Advent until only a few years back, maybe 10. So, Advent is fairly new to me and am learning and now writing on my blog what God is teaching me about Advent. I just began today for this season. The waiting is beautiful for me as I feel like a child looking up at the star in God’s mighty and magnificent heaven and following, waiting, and believing that Christ has come, is now living in me, and will come again. Praising God.
    As a neighbor @ Lisha’s today.
    Caring through Christ, ~ linda
    http://beingwoven.org/2014/11/30/from-the-stem-of-jesse/

  5. I love this season of preparing our hearts, minds, and souls for Jesus. Your idea of a special memory to share is wonderful. I had special treasure boxes and I still do in the way I store memories and only bring them out at certain times. As always your Christmas card drawings are beautiful. Praying your Thanksgiving was renewing and that this next season brings you peace as we prepare for our King.

    • Thank you! Holding our memories close and pulling them out at certain times, love that. I think the next post along those lines is already whispering inside me to share. Trust your Thanksgiving is leading you in to the same this season! So glad you are enjoying my cards here too… 🙂

  6. lolita says:

    Thank you for that card, Pam. I will add it to my pocket-full of seashells. I don’t know if I ever told you before that I collect lines, even from your blog and the others I hold dear. It is in my blog which is now being abandoned. I love collecting ideas, lines, quotes,messages or passages, and especially those which have touched my heart. They could be glimpses of people I meet online, and their voices are worth-keeping (like yours).

    Thanks for everything, your encouragement, your prayers and some memories my own hands and eyes have held and read.

    Happy Advent 1.

    • I do know that you love to collect those, Lolita. I like to collect quotes from people too (as I have on my quote page, now under tea and jam link above). I can’t always put quotes there that belong to other people due to copyrights, but we can always keep them in our hearts. Happy Advent, my friend.

  7. Barbie says:

    I love the idea of a treasure box to hold all of the beautiful treasures of Advent. I never had a treasure box as a child, and don’t know. Something to definately keep in mind. Your artwork is beautiful, as always. Thanks for sharing at The Weekend Brew.

    • Thank you, Barbie. I just now posted the second in this series… about how Mary treasured in her heart… 🙂 I hadn’t thought of that until I wrote this first one, but it makes “treasure box” seem like an idea that even Mary knew 🙂

  8. Pingback: What Mary Treasured… | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

