Announced by Trumpets of the Sky…

Stock image of 'Beautiful winter landscape with snow covered trees'

 I came across this poem in a Christmas book the other day…  and thought I would ‘clip it out’ for my Advent treasure box and yours. 🙂  

In this season of God’s most glorious wonders, Emerson’s word painting reminds me of our Father’s artistry,  beauty He forges when all seems tumultuous.  Whether or not you live where it snows, tis beauty to stir and hold in heart! To cherish His light, warm and living, and know — because of Christmas… storms may rage, but we are safe “and gathered around the radiant fireplace” of His home made royal within us.

 

The Snow-Storm

By Ralph Waldo Emerson

Announced by all the trumpets of the sky,
Arrives the snow, and, driving o’er the fields,
Seems nowhere to alight: the whited air
Hides hills and woods, the river, and the heaven,
And veils the farm-house at the garden’s end.
The sled and traveller stopped, the courier’s feet
Delayed, all friends shut out, the housemates sit
Around the radiant fireplace, enclosed
In a tumultuous privacy of storm.
.
Come see the north wind’s masonry.
Out of an unseen quarry evermore
Furnished with tile, the fierce artificer
Curves his white bastions with projected roof
Round every windward stake, or tree, or door.
Speeding, the myriad-handed, his wild work
So fanciful, so savage, nought cares he
For number or proportion. Mockingly,
On coop or kennel he hangs Parian wreaths;
A swan-like form invests the hidden thorn;
Fills up the farmer’s lane from wall to wall,
Maugre the farmer’s sighs; and, at the gate,
A tapering turret overtops the work.
.
And when his hours are numbered, and the world
Is all his own, retiring, as he were not,
Leaves, when the sun appears, astonished Art
To mimic in slow structures, stone by stone,
Built in an age, the mad wind’s night-work,
The frolic architecture of the snow.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
.
O, Lord, let my heart glow with you!
About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Advent Box of Christmas Treasures. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Announced by Trumpets of the Sky…

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh my gosh!!!!!!!!! Wow!!!!!! Whereever did you find this?! I LOVE it. The theme for my Christmas ladies luncheon this year has to do with snow, and I will give them a copy! It is gorgeous! If you can think of other snow quotes or carols that use snow, do pass them on to me. I have thought of “In the Bleak Midwinter, ” “The Snow Lay on the Ground.” And I can’t think if “Still, Still, Still” mentions snow. I’ve also re-composed lyrics for White Christmas, with a Christian theme. =] Love this, Pam. You are filling your little box to overflowing…..this time, in snow!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Actually I found it in a magazine book by Ideals, 75th Christmas anniversary edition. They only excerpted the first stanza, and didn’t even reference the title. However, then I heard someone mention it on something on TV and recognized it must be this one. I googled and found it in full! They made it sound on TV like it was so famous everyone knew it…but I don’t think I’ve ever heard it before. Had a feeling you would like it too! Guess it is a bit bleak in parts, but I love the beauty out of storms, and his description of the snow falling is amazing! Love, “whited air.”

      Robert Frost has many winter poems… I may put one or two here. 🙂

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh and you know Child’s Christmas in Wales, right? I LOVE his descriptions of snow!!!!!!!! And can’t help but thinking of the snow song from White Christmas! =]

    • I do know CC in Wales, but haven’t read it in a long while. Will have to check it out. And yes, I was just watching a retrospective on Bing last night and thinking of that most beautiful song. Snow used to be only in my dreams. 🙂 Now I do hope we don’t get really slammed with it again this year, but I enjoy it coming and going!

Leave a Reply

