One of our greatest ways to bless…scattering violets

scan0018

As I drew one of  four nostalgic Valentines this week, melodies and words from music eras long before me came singing into my ideas.  This one references “April Showers” – an old loverly I always recall from one of those classic films I never tire catching…

      On this Sabbath weekend, may you look up to find His “violets” falling over you! 

Funny how the thought of “blessing others” is so easily avalanched by the sudden onset of a personal conundrum, isn’t it?  Well… maybe… not so much funny, as frail human. 

The other morning, I’d just set to drawing the third of four valentine card ideas, and –wanting to complete the four, get them printed and ready by the next day — I even thought I might squeeze in two in one day’s work.   Easy peasy.  Until an out of the blue concern scarily arose and led to contacting my eye doctor.  “Best to come in right away, just in case,” they said.

Fears mingled with prayers as I made my way there.  In the exam room, trying to focus on  directions while her blinding light focused in on my eye, listening but not comprehending all the diagnostic jumbo terms, praying peace to my quelling heart… there wasn’t room for much thought beside, “Is this a problem to worry over?”

“Good news is, nothing serious,” she told me reassuringly, “though annoying for sure.  Just part of what happens naturally…  I’m glad you came in though because we always need to make sure…”

Breathing a bit more normally at those words – but still preoccupied driving home (ever try having one eye dilated while the other is not? 🙂  ) –  it wasn’t until a few hours later that it flashed across my heart…

God had placed me somewhere totally unexpectedly in those moments.  Put me with people I wouldn’t have scheduled in to see for many months, people I hadn’t an imagining of even seeing that very morning .

And I hadn’t once thought of my prayers to bless others just hours earlier, or recognized the possibility of that opportunity in this.

Open my eyes to see those around me, I’d prayed.  And I hadn’t seen beyond the eye chart.

Sigh.

Disappointed in my own lack, I raised my eyes to Him.

You can pray blessings for the doctor and everyone there… right now, were the words dropping into my spirit then.

O, Father, I answered.  Grateful for the greatest blessing of all...

Closing my eyes in the soothing semi light of my room, I began to lift up these strangers as if He’d placed a flask of oil to pour out from His Hands in mine.  Felt His leading me to scripture prayers of blessing.  Warmth, like His hand upon my head, flowed His blessing back on me as I sent those words forward.

Make me more aware of those around me day to day, I breathed in closing.

This morning, again asking His leading on who to bless and how…  I felt His stirring an idea within as I read one particular blog.   “Mmm, Lord… I LIKE that idea!”

I smiled at how He is always thinking of us.  And at this thought He brought to mind to bless the one opening up their heart there.  Sending us out to uplift one another.  Like scattering violets…

Lift someone up and rain some of His valentine violets on them today!  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

pen and ink, pink violet valentine, mine:  Please do not copy without permission.  🙂  Thanks!

© Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button  Scripture and Snapshot  Give Me Grace  Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Sandra Heska King - Still Saturday

The Loft(Grace and Truth linkup)

.

LOOKING FOR SOME ORIGINAL VALENTINES TO SEND THIS SEASON?   I’VE JUST PLACED MY SIX NEW CARD DESIGNS (INCLUDING THE ONE SHOWN ABOVE) ON MY pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS PAGE. 

Made for Anytime Valentines… why limit to February 14th? 🙂

(To view them…Look here for this vintage valentine heart image, then scroll down till you see it again with the card info… )

Questions about ordering?  You can reach me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com  🙂

Lord, may these Valentine cards shine of You, wherever You may take them.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Valentines. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to One of our greatest ways to bless…scattering violets

  1. elizabethfstewart says:

    I love this “lesson” about not missing the opportunities of blessing others! Today we were flying home from Missouri to Oregon and shared our row on the plane with a young man from NY who is coming here to check out the possibility of moving his family to Portland. I definitely felt like God had him cross our path on purpose.

  2. Kamea Hope says:

    How wonderful that when we are expecting condemnation, or are condemning ourselves, God extends grace. He is so gentle toward us. Remember friend, “There is therefore now no condemnation to them which are in Christ Jesus” (Romans 8:1). He loves your heart for others. He is so very fond of you!
    Blessings,
    Kamea

  3. Oh my, girl … you are TALENTED! In love, I am, with your incredible pen and ink drawings. May God prosper the work of your hands and heart. It was so good to meet you this week!

    • Thank you, Linda, for your encouraging words. It feels like God is empowering me lately to draw better than I ever have in the past. I look at these in kind of an unbelieving sort of way myself (did I just draw this?) 🙂 Thank you for that prayer! It is what I’ve been praying, his anointing – for it is all Him! I pray for His glory to somehow be reflected and lifted up in them. Good to meet you here too!

  4. cmjenniferm says:

    My Granny loved violets. This is lovely.

    • Mine too! I always remember her little lavender and purple violet pots on a table under her dining room windows… I think this song is from the 1920’s, so maybe it was a favorite flower for her generation. They represent sweetness and blessing to my mind.. 🙂 Tiny posies, unexpected joyful promise… 🙂 Thanks, Jennifer!

  5. Pingback: Becoming a receiver | Writing… Apples of Gold

  6. Love how he opened your eyes to an opportunity and how you carried it through at home. He knows and memorizes each by name so it wouldn’t matter where the prayer was spoken. That you did it is enough. Sending violets your way Pam.

    • So true, Lisha. I just wonder if I might have noticed another way to bless them there if I had not had my mind going in so many other directions. 🙂 But prayer… that is the most beautiful of all. Thank you for the violets! 🙂 Blessings to you too!

  7. jenniferclarkewriter says:

    Oh, how I can identify with a missed opportunity, and with the grace of our Lord who gives more opportunities. Your drawings are poignant and lovely, as are your inspiring words. Thank you for sharing them at Grace & Truth!

    • Yes… I love that He can always turn those “missed ones” into new ones! 🙂

      Thank you so much, Jennifer! I appreciate your dear words about my drawings… I’ve been praying they would touch people here, maybe to sell them here… and for God to expand my territories in both drawing and writing, open doors to earning a living in a way I never thought possible until now… But one door closes (all these years in corporate world) and He opens another… Blessings! .

Leave a Reply

