Bear Hug Blessings

scan0022

Know someone who could use a hug today?

Over breakfast, she told me about the three-year old she’s been caring for, his frightening tantrums of late, the lashing words pouring forth from his sorrowing spirit, the world weariness this child has had to carry at way too young an age.  My heart broke and though I’ve never laid eyes on this boy, I almost felt as if I could see the haunted look in his eyes so hungry for love and security.

Praying for him this week, I felt the Holy Spirit nudge me,  Share this valentine with him...

A vintage photo of a little boy inspired this drawing, and I have wondered who that long ago child was, what was going through his mind as he clung to his dear friend…  Was he  maybe a homesick boy off at boarding school,  or a child sent away from home for safety from the war (as so many in England had to do in WWII)?   Now I wonder, Father, did you lead me to draw this valentine… maybe… specifically for this lonely boy today?

 “I will put it in his room for him to see each day!” she answered when I told her about it.  “He’ll love it!”

I lifted it up last night, praying for the Holy Spirit to breathe His Love so wondrously through it to this child…  that every time he looks at it, God’s love will palpably fall on him, embrace Him and comfort him…   and he will truly believe, he is loved.

And today… if you could use a warm and fuzzy hug too… I send this one off to you!  🙂

 

 Two are better than one,
    because they have a good return for their labor:
 If either of them falls down,
    one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
    and has no one to help them up.
Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
    But how can one keep warm alone?
 Though one may be overpowered,
    two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.

~ Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 (NIV)

 

Each of us plus the Lord – reaching out to others… 

Let us be a three-fold cord to someone today!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

Sharing with:

Renewed Daily - Recommendation Saturday     Beauty in His Grip Button  Scripture and Snapshot  Give Me Grace  Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox 

Sandra Heska King - Still Saturday

The Loft(Grace and Truth linkup)

.

LOOKING FOR SOME ORIGINAL VALENTINES TO SEND THIS SEASON?   I’VE JUST PLACED MY SEVEN NEW CARD DESIGNS (INCLUDING THE ONE SHOWN ABOVE) ON MY pen & ink HOME PORTRAITS PAGE. 

Made for Anytime Valentines… why limit to February 14th? 🙂

(To view them…Look here for this vintage valentine heart image, then scroll down till you see it again with the card info… )

Questions about ordering?  You can reach me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com  🙂

Lord, may these Valentine cards shine of You, wherever You may take them.

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Valentines. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bear Hug Blessings

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, hugs can be so very comforting but right now I don’t often have someone to hug but each day I hug my Snowy Bear that belonged to my mom when she was in the rest home. He does bring me much comfort and I even take him with me on my vacations a bit of home to keep me from feeling so homesick. I also hug my guitar. Thank you for sharing and it is amazing how comforting our stuffed animal friends can be! Beautiful drawing so sweet. 🙂 Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    • Thank you for sharing that, MaryLou. It’s hard when we lead single lives day to day, isn’t it? I sometimes don’t realize how much I need a hug until a friend reaches out and gives me one. We do need that warmth, sometimes more than we know. I’m sure your bear holds a lot of memories of your mom too… And I’m glad you are still playing and enjoying your guitar music too. His Spirit embraces you in your worship in it, I know! Thanks for letting me know this one touched you too!

  2. Gina Duke says:

    What a sweet idea! I am your neighbor at Sandra Heska King’s linkup.

  3. This is so reassuring and encouraging. I love the verses from Ecclesiastes illustrating how to be a three fold cord. May we all intertwine with Jesus and others to provide comfort and security for others. Blessed you share at The Weekend Brew. Mary

    • I’m so glad you found this so reassuring, Mary. I love that verse, often used for weddings but so true about all kinds of love and friendship, with God at our center – also in the sense of the Trinity behind us too. 🙂 Thank you! Blessings to you too…

  4. Dana Butler says:

    I love that Ecclesiastes passage, Pam. Thanks so much for sharing it tonight. Stopped by from Lisha’s – so nice to “meet” you. 🙂 Blessings on your weekend!

  5. Mary Gemmill says:

    Love ALL your drawings and post Pam…but found this beary dear wee chap absolutely adorable…..lovely indeed.

    • Thank you, Mary! So glad you enjoy these. 🙂 I’ve had fun working on them. I’ve gone back and forth on what I think of this one though because I sometimes alternate between thinking the boy looks too stern and then other times he looks tender to me. I do love the way the bear turned out. I think the photo I worked from may have been a little British chap from the 30’s or so… So sweet. I love those classic sailor suits!

  6. cmjenniferm says:

    Friends can be such wonderful blessings. With God, that cord of three is strong. Your sharing of your talents this way with your friend is lovely.

Leave a Reply

