When you are storm weary…

Digital Camera

When Jesus woke up, he rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Silence! Be still!” Suddenly the wind stopped, and there was a great calm.

~ Mark 4:39 New Living Translation

“Nobody knows the trouble I’ve seen,” laments an old spiritual.  “How long, O Lord?” cry the storm-weary of the Bible, time and again.  Just so, my own heart has been stuck like a needle on vinyl these many months.   Enough of the storms, Lord, I plead.  Every time a breather seems to come, an even stronger whirlwind rises … Where is the peace?

Meditating on this verse, though, He whispers action hope and opens my eyes anew.  I’ve always interpreted this scene as Jesus moving as only God can do.  We can’t command storms to cease as He did, can we?  Or…um… is that exactly what Jesus is showing us by example to do?  Didn’t He say He was sending the Holy Spirit to move all the more through us when we speak the Word in His Name?

And so, I find a fresh prayer bubbling  forth…

Lord , as you spoke rebuke to the storm at sea, I rebuke this seemingly unending line of attacking storms in my own life —  in your name.   Peace!  Enough! Be Still!   I hear you in my spirit , urging your children  to know and take up our spiritual armor- you gave us authority to speak and declare your Word into being, just as you did.   It is time for the winds to die down, you whisper.  You gave us authority not to just hold our heads and moan, but to stand up in your power and might behind us.   In your name, Jesus, I follow you and speak out over every part of my life –    Come great calm!

(I’m still away from the blog,  caregiving for my dad, but thought I’d try an experiment in blogging on a library computer today.  Very… slow … going.  Inchworm, really.  So guess this will just be a brief devotion I felt Him leading upon my heart.  Maybe for you too… ? )  

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:

The Loft(Grace and Truth linkup)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to When you are storm weary…

  1. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, this very subject and Scripture was in Our Daily Bread Devotional for Tuesday May 26. Thank you for sharing! God bless you and your family… Your are in my thoughts and prayers. 🙂

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Oh yes, dearest, Pam–enough! Peace. Be still. Know that He is God. Know that He who is in you is greater than he who causes storms in this storm-tossed world. Praying for still waters in your life, sweet friend.
    All my love,
    Lynni

  3. Hi, Pam! The subject of storms in life seems to be a theme for Grace and Truth this past week. 🙂 I’ve read several others, but this was just as powerful. I never thought about rebuking the storms in my life, but it certainly goes along with using the sword of the Spirit, doesn’t it?! Thanks for sharing with us.
    Jen 🙂

  4. Praying for you in the storm, for the peace that passes all understanding and for joy in the Lord despite all trials. Thank you for the beautiful post! Linked up with you at the Weekend Brew — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace for a visit!
    God bless,
    Laurie

  5. Mary Geisen says:

    I am praying for you as you care for your dad. I ask for strength throughout this storm. Your words today are so important as so many people face the most difficult storms of their lives. Knowing that we have the Holy Spirit in us to rebuke the storms in our own lives is a message we all need to hear. Thank you for sharing this at The Weekend Brew.

Leave a Reply

