When You Are Looking For The Color of Peace…

Digital Camera

an on-the-brink-of-Autumn psalm

Home has seemed but a wispy dream for many months.  Parched for the colors, the scents, the touch of my everyday ordinary.  So much so, that now…returning… nothing seems too infinitesimal, too banal to sing of Your praise, Lord.  Rather, the simplest of joys is as gold leaf falling, from You, upon my days.

I smile at the billow of sheers that have played in my thoughts all this time away, picturing myself home here — now windswept in dance at my den window — and I know your refreshment on my brow.

I drink in the color GREEN from every glass, the cool blue and white sailing in the heavens… and I can’t stop the relaxing ahhhhh welling up inside…

I am

thankful anew for the simple joy of trundling over not too congested roads with lush scenery panoramas all round my car… where driving is a pleasure more often than not…

Surprised by welcome’s home from clerks in stores who tell me they missed me…and reach round to give me a hug…

Delighted to run into loved ones at times and places unforeseen (simple as the library!) – all the more meaningful as I ponder how never once in that other (dryer, more desert-like) city did I just come upon an old familiar face out and about the town, though it wouldn’t be farfetched to expect so…

I love

the whispery sound of rain upon my windowpane, watching the half-lighted sky streak with storm clouds, sitting once again with you in my own wing chair and breathing out my prayers of thanksgiving… and the color of peace wrapping round the room…

The ring of cottages and old-fashioned street lights and gazebo that make a panoramic picture right outside my living room…

The gentle curve of white wicker chairs and porch rail where the wind plays musical notes through the chimes…

The stirring up of scents and soups,  in my own kitchen once more…

Looking out over the nearby lake where a friend and I are stopping for dinner — when out of the blue You interrupt our conversation with a stunning double rainbow over steel gray waters and awesomely back-lit tree lines…

A rainbow ribbon winging over me now as though I can hear Your own… Welcome Home

I see Your majesty here, Father.  And my heart sings at the color of peace.

Digital Camera

Right here in the extraordinary of ordinary.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

In what ways is He revealing

‘the color of peace’ to you today?

  photos: mine

Sharing with:

Scripture and Snapshot

   Beauty in His Grip Button Teaching What Is Good   Give Me Grace  Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox

STILL SATURDAYS @SANDRAHESKAKING
SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS – @SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Autumn Psalmbook. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to When You Are Looking For The Color of Peace…

  1. Thank you for sharing the beauty of the extraordinary, everyday world you have returned to. Beautiful word pictures.
    your neighbor at Lisha’s

  2. Gayl says:

    What beautiful thoughts about your returning home and your thankfulness for what God has provided. This was a delight to read! I’m visiting from Weekend Whispers with Barbie Swihart.

  3. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, it is so good to know that you are home once again. I cannot even imagine how hard it was to be gone from your home for so long. I know when I was gone last year for both Christmas and New Year’s I was so very grateful to return to my beautiful home in Crescent City and hear the fog horn, sounds of the ocean and often the barking of the seals. Although I wasn’t born and raised here I feel this is truly my home more than I felt down south. Thank you for sharing your joy at coming home… I think about what joy we will have when we do reach our real home at the end of our life’s journey. God bless… 🙂

    • I know what you mean. The other seems like home in some ways, but it is so distant now to when we were kids there. This is home now. I love the images you give – the fog horn, the sound of the seals and ocean. I will try to write offline (regular letter) to tell you what happened this year. Yes, it is hard to imagine coming home to Heaven… but I think of that for those we know who are already there… Thanks, Marylou…

      • MaryLou says:

        Hi Pam, it would be so wonderful to receive a letter from you… I would so love to hear all that happened during your stay in California. I know that you are really busy so it is very nice to let me know that you will be sending me a letter sometime in the future. Looking forward to hearing from you. I am amazed how quickly the end of the year is coming. 🙂 I am glad that you like the images that I gave you as I shared about the sounds where I do live. As I walked home from work on Friday I went the long way which took me by the ocean and it was such a beautiful day. Oftentimes I feel like I must pinch myself because being this close to the ocean seems like a dream to me. I am so grateful to be living here. 🙂

  4. lynndmorrissey says:

    So lovely Pam. I can hear the quiet joy and your great appreciation of the place you call home. (I thnk of Dorothy: Oh, Auntie Em, there’s no place like home. And I think at the end of the age, when we are all joined together in our new home (the new heavens and the new earth), we will know we have really arrived at home for the very first time (and never to leave again). I;m so glad you are home, safe and sounds, so sorry for the reason you left, but rejoicing that your daddy is home (truly home) at last.
    Love
    Lynn
    You remain in my prayers for God’s healing comfort, Pam.

    • Thank you for those beautiful words and sharing your thoughts about Heaven too, Lynn. Funny, I was thinking of Dorothy today too in relation to all this… only her being away from her home was quite different. Yes… she was right in that – no place like home. Thanks for your prayers and yes… I do rejoice in knowing where my dad is…

  5. Oh, the color of peace. Today it is pale blue and gray — the walls of my bedroom where I’m writing undisturbed (for the moment) and the soft blanket of fog outside that muffles sound and makes my cup of tea even more cozy.

  6. helloredds says:

    There is just no place like home, is there! Sounds like yours is one that is peaceful and serene.

    Mine is one that is noisy and congested, but I still love it!

    Found you today on Women Helping Women. Hope you have a blessed day~
    Melanie

  7. Your Psalm was absolutely beautiful! You wove such beautiful word pictures that I felt at peace as I read along, the scenes playing in my own mind’s eye.

    You have given me refreshment this afternoon. Thank you for the blessing.

    • O, thank you, Karen. So happy to know this refreshed you!! Your words refresh and bless me today! Last fall, I did a 31 days theme of autumn psalms so I thought I’d add one again now. May do that occasionally this season since I do love writing them out like that – although I have a different idea in mind for the 31 days linkup this year. If you like, you can find more of these “psalms” in my “Autumn Psalmbook” category link (on the right of this page, under categories… Thank you for stopping in here and sharing! 🙂

  8. Stephanie says:

    Oh so beautiful!! I felt like I was right beside you (and from your pictures, I wish I was 🙂 ). You have a way with words! It’s so peaceful and such a gift to see the extraordinary in the ordinary.

  9. Pam, this was an absolute delight to read! Thanks for sharing with us at Grace and Truth last week. 🙂
    Jen @ Being Confident of This

Leave a Reply

