Is there a snake in your garden?

scan0022Ohhh, the feeling this etching gives me as I smudge in the last details. Like walking inside one of those hauntingly lovely black and white films where men and ladies of the late 1800’s drive up to their mansions in horse-drawn carriages and carry me into their classic English novel-like stories.

This beauty is an actual American-built home – not too far from where I live. I wonder about that 1860’s businessman who dreamed of creating a spacious home for his family and eventually designed this mini Italianate Villa — one of those rare treasures of 1900 architecture that my city is preserving and still using…

Was he a man of prayer?

Did he ever promenade his blossoming neighborhood, uplifting friends and neighbors?

It’s hard to imagine this busy street that now roughly winds through commercial to the downtown as a once prominent, lush and lovely neighborhood…

Yet, the storyteller in me scrolls through imaginary photos of other families who may have peopled this charming home with laughter and tears. My mind stops at one such vision of the 1930’s era, and suddenly I want to add in a young woman, perhaps wearing cloche hat, a small girl beside her in Pollyanna dress… gathering flowers together from their garden…

Although, with such tiny figures, my fingers slip and the “hat” transforms instead to one of those fat, bouncy bows at the nape of the young woman’s neck, hinting at the pretty style-of-the-day ponytail cascading down her back…

It is only an impression I want to create with them, so I simply hope they evoke the right tone… That time when war was coming across the sea, but the homefront continued still to hold a bit of the genteel…

I do not have an expansive garden around my own bungalow, but walking in my neighborhood later, I am enjoying the beauty of blue sky studded with its white sailor clouds, the now softly autumn turn to leaves and mums dotting fellow porch steps. My cul-de-sac is quiet, peacefully punctuated only with birdsong in staccato notes. As I round my laps, prayers flow naturally up for my neighbors, and I’m asking His protecting hand here…the fire of His Glory to fall there…

My thoughts are sweet as fresh picked flowers that I am placing in imaginary basket round my arm… walking there in the road where the pavement is less rough and not likely to catch my feet in stumble…

When only one and a half steps away from my stepping tennis shoes…

I … spy… IT

just… in … the…nick…of…time.

“Oh my God!” I wince at this ugly, menacing (well, to my eyes) THING, creepy-crawling, slithering, black and grotesquely across the spot I would have touched down on in… one… more…second.

“Ugh!!” I shiver, move clear away. It’s probably just some sort of harmless yard snake, I reason… but it casts a venomous shadow that cut into my prayers like a hiss.

“Oh, Father!” I shudder. “Blech!!”

Quietly as a pebble into a pool, His words drop into my spirit .

THERE’S A SNAKE IN YOUR GARDEN, PAM. I GIVE YOU TOOLS TO CONQUER IT. WILL YOU SPEAK THEM OUT?

Then, a verse and a promise splish-splash right beside those words:

I have given you every place on which the sole of your foot treads,
just as I promised to Moses.
~Joshua 1:3 (Amplified)

Oh my goodness, YES, I recognize then.

There IS a snake in my garden!

  • A snake of cancer that is slithering round my dear friends a couple houses down.
  • There’s a snake of deceptive ‘new age’ thinking over… here.
  • And another of oppression over… there.

Of a sudden, my prayers take a WAR ROOM turn, deeper, truer-hitting than before.

I lay claim to every place my foot is walking Lord, for your Glory! The enemy has no right to this land… to this Garden.  In the authority Jesus has given in His Name, I kick the snake forever out into the sea.  I declare and decree the manifest power and Glory of the Lord to fall on each home, and everyone here… I speak Your Life over all, Your protection, Your Grace, Your healing, Your Peace, Your Light…

On and on, I pray, specifics for every need I know of…

asking the Holy Spirit to intercede for those I don’t.

I can feel His Spirit moving upon the words of His Word as I sow my seeds round silently…His promise to make us walk in His favor and anointing as we wield the sword of His Word…

And the “flowers” in my “basket” have His everlasting bloom as He places one more thought within…

“My Bride has been walking with her eyes cast down, as if walking in dream,” He seems to say then. ” It is time to wake up, to take My Word and declare it with Me …  For My Spirit is brooding gently over you all, just as He hovered over the waters awaiting My Word to let there be light.  (Genesis 1:2).  Now He’s awaiting my Word in YOUR mouth to pour out My Glory as you’ve not seen yet!

O, Lord, let Your Glory be!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Have you found a particular “Word of His Word “in your mouth” lately?

scan0006
© Pam Depoyan

 

  • Pen & Ink Home Portrait shown above: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

 

Sharing with:

   Beauty in His Grip Button Teaching What Is Good   Give Me Grace

Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox

 Looking Up,

Soli Deo Gloria Connections,

Good Morning Mondays,

Soul Survival

Reflect His Love & Glory   What Joy is Mine Monday Musings

Me,Coffee & Jesus

Testimony Tuesday

STILL SATURDAYS @SANDRAHESKAKING
SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS – @SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Is there a snake in your garden?

  1. Mother Hen says:

    Hi Pam, I am rather new here. I just love your artwork and your words say so much to me. You have offered us so much to ponder on.. Thank you!

  2. Pam – WOW — the pencil drawing is so detailed and fantastic, as are your words so beautifully written. I love how God spoke to your heart -but so sorry you had to come so close to an icky snake – they are not my favorite either…. Such a good spiritual parallel for us to look at the snake in our garden. Thanks for sharing at #WeekendWhispers

    • Pam says:

      Thanks, Debbie. This is one of my favorite drawings. I do love putting in detail! 🙂 Just did this one for fun and to try to see how I could capture the blossom trees. It’s mostly pen and ink, but it does come across as pencil. So grateful these words blessed you too!

  3. May we be vigilant to resist Satan’s attacks ad not let them spoil our joy in the Lord. Linked up with you at Still Saturday — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace for a visit! God bbless.

    • Pam says:

      So true, isn’t it? Thanks for the invite, Laurie – I’ll do that! Blessings to you too…

      • Pam says:

        Laurie, I tried to leave a comment at your site, but it wouldn’t take. Beautiful words shared there about your dance! I can only imagine how the Lord shone through you! So true about how we can use our words for worry so many times, and how that does grieve His Spirit… but only, I believe, because He knows he has put the choice of life and death in our words, and he longs for us to choose life. He knows the death so many of our words prophesy into our lives without our even knowing or understanding it. May we take those thoughts captive as you shared!

  4. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, thank you so much for sending this to me. (Why stupid WP won’t, I still have no clue). I must tell you that when I started reading this lovely, cul-de-sac quiet post, this Victorian-inspired word-wending promenade, I had NO earthly idea what I would discover. A snake! Oh my how I hate them. I was sitting on my deck one day and suddenly, a head poked up through the floorboards, and I thought I would die! You can guess what it was. I have NO doubt that this was God’s message to you. The timing is uncanny. He wants you to go tromping…snake-stomping actually. We have an serpent-enemy, and God is telling us to put our warbride boots on and stomp! I will remember this post for some time to come. And I will email privately to tell you how the enemy has been particularly fierce. I needed to read this. Bless you!
    Love
    Lynn

    • Pam says:

      Ewww!!!!! A head poking through the floorboards? I’ve only seen one of these snakes around here before and that was a couple of years ago… so it definitely did seem like no coincidence running into one this time. But it creeps me out, definitely. Praying God’s protection from them for sure. In more ways than one… Yes, we need to put God’s word in our mouths (my 31 day theme starting in a few days – not sure if you saw my previous post about that last week). I had a feeling you might be under it this past week. Praying God’s enveloping peace and strength surrounding and upholding you. Jehovah Shalom, leading you in green pastures, giving you roses for ashes, turning mourning to joy… So glad this blessed you in the midst of whatever is going on, Lynn… He has given you conquering in His Name…

  5. Pam, The Lord has blessed you with such a gift for drawing! I found myself “crawling inside” the scene you portrayed with the beautiful house as a backdrop. I loved your thoughts as you “wondered” about that home.

    You are a beautiful testimony of putting literal feet to being a Child of God as you conducted a prayer walk around your neighborhood. The Lord blessed your obedience, by taking you deeper into His Word, leading you to pray more boldly.

    It was such a lovely blessing to visit here today.

    • Pam says:

      Thank you, Karen for those encouraging words… you make me a bit teary! I have really felt the Lord behind so much of my more recent drawings than ever before. I never had real training… and I just keep “figuring” it out as I go along, which really means it is the Lord, more than me! You blessed me by stopping by and leaving this uplifting note. And prayer has always been a deep part of my life… one I feel He is really moving on all His church more than ever, with inspiring films like the War Room etc. I feel Him leading me to share here to hopefully inspire us all to more prayer too… I’m so glad this touched you too!

  6. Such a good post, neighbor. Nothing to add but AMEN! Thanks for sharing. Blessings upon blessings!

  7. What a gorgeous work of art you created! It’s beautiful!

    • Pam says:

      Thank you, Karrilee! I’m hoping to maybe interest those who own the home now in purchasing this one, and to sell prints (and greeting card versions) here on the blog and elsewhere… I just love old homes like this and feel inspired to draw more of them around my town… 🙂 With Christmas on the way, mmm, I’m thinking some snow scenes and Christmas wreaths on doors too… 🙂

  8. laura says:

    I just love to study your etchings, Pam. What beautiful work you do. And that creepy crawly? Wow, isn’t it amazing how God will use even that to speak a word to you? Blessed by your thoughts today, friend.

    • Pam says:

      Thank you, Laura. I feel the same when I read your beautiful word pictures! The Lord seems to be enabling me to draw even more than in past, and it literally sometimes feels like He must be ‘teaching’ me… I’m so glad this blessed you today!

  9. Hazel Moon says:

    I love your sketches and your mother and daughter gathering flowers in their garden. Earlier this year when we planted our vegetable garden, and the squash vines were lush, I pulled some aside with a surprised view of a baby snake. I recognized it as a harmless garter snake but told my husband anyway. Later we could not find it, and they do eat bugs and other non desirable creatures. I agree those pesky snakes of disease and negative attitudes can sneak in and disturb our peace. May we be ever watchful and take our authority over them at once. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    • Pam says:

      Thank you, Hazel! I think I am a romantic envisioning that mom and daughter out there in times past… but I’ve always loved quaint, old fashioned pictures like the ones you put on your blog too. 🙂 Ugh… those snakes. Don’t know what kind this was… black, rope like, probably around 14 inches long… But guess it is good they eat those other pesky things. Yes, watchful and prayerful in our authority! Blessings to you!

  10. What an intense moment! First, I love your etching – you have captured so much with such beauty. Second, way to be lead in fierce battle armed with prayer and scripture. I pray that God can always get my attention, but especially when there are battles He is asking me to fight with Him.

    • Pam says:

      Thanks, Jen! I think this one just may be my most favorite drawing… hoping to sell some prints of this one 🙂 since it does seem to be resonating with others too. Maybe we all yearn for that romantic charm. I know what you mean… sometimes I don’t think “in the moment,” and am praying to be more aware to His heart on the matter! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

