Day 1 – Let the Redeemed of the Lord Say So!

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

A Just for Today Prologue to My 31-Theme:

The other day, I came across this sweet fall bloomer planted beside my neighbor’s porch  and was immediately smitten! I’m not sure how I could have missed such a diminutive stunner in past seasons, for I’ve never seen another one like it. No clue as to its true name, I’ve dubbed it the pom- pom tree (in Anne Shirley, L.M. Montgomery fashion), and as I stood there under its raspberry cordial bounty, I thought – This shall be the cheer-leading, word of life tree for my 31 days... Because it speaks to me of light and dark fruit (and some tinged with both!), how God says there is life and death in our words, and how I have a sort of ‘whoa, let’s stop and ponder’ question to pose to you —

If you and I really believed

that the thoughts we let out of our mouths

would hang over our lives like bringing forth prophecy to ourselves,

what would we want to change about them?

****

The Lord God Jehovah said, “Light Be,” and there was.

Jesus said,Cursed be the fig tree,” and it was.

Our Creator Father has put creation in our very words,

and made us after His own heart, spirit and soul.

So, if I say, “I am so stupid, I’ll never be as good as so and so,” or “My life is one long sorrow after another,” or “I’m so worried about______,” what ‘creation’ might come from THAT?

THE ANSWER? For the next 31 days (and hopefully beyond) I want to purpose to capture such lying, doubt and fear-ridden thoughts before they escape through my lips and wreak what damage and rotten fruit they can only bring forth!  At first, I might not snare them until they’ve already burst forth (in self talk and in commiserating with others).  Maybe even a zillion times…(for most of us are in a more negative word pattern than we may imagine, aren’t we?)  But that’s okay… God says I can still clap them between my fingers and cast them into the sea! And that the snake will slither and slink away at His spoken Truth!

Let the redeemed of the Lord, say so,” He smiles over me. Reminds me of the sword of the Word He’s placed in my hand…Commissioning me…and you…to be His royal light-bearers…and live in the inheritance He wants for His children here and now…

They say it only takes 21 days to form a habit.   31 is a sure thing.

Join me?

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

one bulb turned into two – surprising me – overnight!

Just like His blessings!

.

A Word to Meditate On… for this first of our 31 days

A true story…

I remember a time when I’d been playing my guitar alone in my room, strumming along to some music coming from across the way. I’d put the guitar aside for the moment to concentrate on something else, when a whispery melody suddenly stirred beside me. What in the world? I thought, watching as an invisible hand seemed eerily to pluck my guitar strings. Later, telling my dad about this gobsmacking moment, he simply smiled. “Sympathetic vibration,” he explained. “The strings ‘hear’ the notes coming from music playing nearby and they pick up the vibration. They can’t help it!”

Whoa, I think to myself today, as God reminds me of the power He’s placed in our words. And I recognize the correlation... All day long, negative thoughts are coming my way. From the fearsome news and worries in the world. From the devil’s whisper over my shoulder.  And just like my guitar, I can’t help pick up their vibration! Whose song am I going to sing through my voice? O Lord, I pray, let my song vibrate only from Yours!

~ Len Mink

A Whoa Thought:

Quick!  What is the first thought you spoke out to yourself today?  Did it concern something that is worrying you?  Has it been rolling around on your tongue for a day or month of days?  Does it reflect fear, self-doubt, condemnation… or speak life and trust in your Lord over your circumstances?

Worship in prayer:

Jesus…  Jesus…  Lord to me.  Master, Savior, Prince of Peace. 

Ruler of my heart today,  Jesus, Lord to me…

(from the worship chorus, “Jesus, Lord to Me” –

Greg Nelson, Gary McSpadden)

Lord Jesus.  I worship you.

Thank you, Lord.  O thank you Jesus for being the Master.  The Savior of my heart, my soul.

Jesus you are the Ruler of my heart.  I crown you King, Lord of Lords. I love you so much.  Oh, Jesus.  Sweet Lord, to me.   I hunger for more of You… for Your Word of Life, living water… 

So many thoughts swirl round me and before I know it, I’m speaking them out loud.  Now, I want to sift them out like the sludge they are, to replace them in my mouth and heart and spirit with Your gold.  

Help me set a watchman around my mouth, that I will become more aware of the negative thoughts I allow to become my words – words that come from the one who only wants to steal and kill and destroy!  (John 10:10)

Help me cast them immediately to the sea…(Mark 11:24) and to keep on saying ONLY your promises in their place for as long as it takes to banish the lie forever.  To speak dominion creation words of life as you created me to do alongside you…

I believe you want to bring abundance to my life from now on (John 10:10)… that you’ve wanted it for me all along, for you have seated me with you in the heavenlies (Ephesians 1,2)… and I haven’t realized I was hindering You with my words that deny Yours, actually prophesying words of doom at times.  Jesus, lead me to Your Living Word so like you, I will speak only what I hear My Father say…and join You in speaking Prophecy of Healing, Joy, Peace, A Set-apart People for you our Lord…

Today, I will no longer say:

Who am I to think I have anything special to offer anyone?

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

Father, I will declare what you say about me and let your truth continually soak into my soul by speaking this truth out loud:

(Throughout today, while you are driving, taking a break, making meals or whatever…let each of these linger in your mind, on your tongue, and speak them aloud over yourself)

From Psalm 60-

The Glory of the Lord is rising on me!

Others from around the world will come to me because of His Light!

From Psalm 61 —

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is upon… me!

He has anointed – me! — to proclaim the good news, to bind up the brokenhearted!

I am anointed by Jesus to proclaim freedom to captives!

With God’s words in my mouth, I will comfort others who mourn…

God puts a crown of beauty on my head to share with others!

God calls me an oak of righteousness, a planting of the Lord, for the display of His Splendor!

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

One thought I’ve heard echoing over the blogosphere for years now seems common to writers – “Oh, so and so is so much better of a writer than I am!  How can I ever hope to compete?” That was one of the negative words I had in mind today…   

If you’d like to share in my comments a specific doubt or fear or negative word that keeps cropping up in your mouth, I’ll look with you for some of God’s gems to speak over them as we go through our 31 days!  🙂

***

I just read a wonderful post that so echoes back here… 

I just have to share it with you!  

I Stood at the Tree and Believed the Lie – Now What?

scan0006  I love how this little pup is listening so intently to its master’s words, don’t you?  🙂  Seemed my  perfect logo, as once again I jump into the  write31days.com fall blog writing challenge!

I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at the above 31-days site– going live TODAY, October 1, 2015!

Also sharing with:  Share Your Cup Thursday

Thought Provoking Thursday @ 3DLessons4Life

Blessing Counters 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 1 – Let the Redeemed of the Lord Say So!

  1. What a wonderful post Pam. A beautiful way of reminding us to take those thoughts captive and replacing them with God’s truth! Thank you so much for sharing a link to my post. You certainly blessed my day! God’s blessings to you!

    • Pam says:

      Thank you, Deb. You’ve been blessing mine too! I plan to continue on this theme through October. I’m glad you discovered my linkup to you! 🙂

  2. Pam – Such a great post! Taking our thoughts captive is oh so important and what a great start to your 31 days of writing – stopping by from #ThoughtProvokinghursday

  3. Jann Olson says:

    What a fabulous goal! If everyone could do this the world would be rid of negativity. Wishing you the best of luck. 31 days, yup; you can do it! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

Leave a Reply

