Day 4: Why We Need to Replace Toxic Thoughts With God’s Honeycomb… Today

Digital Camera

Every word you give me is a miracle word…

Break open your words, let the light shine out,

let ordinary people see the meaning.

Mouth open and panting, I want your commands

more than anything.

Turn my way, look kindly on me,

as you always do to those who personally love you.

Steady my steps with your Word of promise

so nothing malign gets the better of me…

Smile on me, your servant;

teach me the right way to live.

I cry rivers of tears

because nobody’s living by your book!

~ Psalm 119 : 129 -136

[The Message]

3352c-1fountain-graphicsfairy004b

 

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!Today’s Whoa Thought:

Did you awake this morning with toxic thoughts full of worry, doubt, fear?  Are you still thinking about them?   

 Are we starving and damaging ourselves by not taking such thoughts captive? 

Our Spirit is made by God to be nourished by speaking God’s Word.

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!True Scientific Findings:

Dr. Caroline Leaf, a cognitive neuroscientist with a PHD in Communication Pathology (http://drleaf.com/about/) has studied the mind-brain connection since the 1980’s and discovered that toxic thoughts destroy our very brains and bodies,  where GOD’S thoughts restore and heal…

“The main signals your cells respond to are your thoughts,” she explains   Here are just a few reasons why it is vital to change our toxic thoughts to seeing things through God’s perspective in His Word, she says:

  • Our 75- to 100-trillion cells each contain the full DNA complement.
  • Each cell has about 1,000 “receptors,” or “doorways,” on the outside designed to open at specific times to receive what they need.
  • If things in our brains are not working correctly, the “doors” on the receptors will rip off, and there will be cell chaos.
  • When we think toxic thoughts our genetic expression explodes in a negative way.
    If we have years and years of responding negatively to life’s events and circumstances, the brain cells’ receptors are open to various diseases—we have put ourselves in the vulnerable zone.
  • The good news is, we can turn around the damage done by toxic thinking when we replace these with God’s truth!

Think about God’s Word day and night, and you will have success 

This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth, *

but you shall meditate in it day and night,

that you may observe to do according to all that is written in it.

For then you will make your way prosperous,

and then you will have good success

~Joshua 1:8, (NKJV).

Note:  Did you know that the Hebrew meaning of meditate means more of a muttering of the Word than just a thinking about…?  There is a reason God wants His word in our mouths! 🙂

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!Worship in Prayer:

O Lord, how finely tuned you have made our bodies!  It is incredible to think that every cell within me responds to my thoughts, good and bad.  Toxic or healthful.  And that the toxic thoughts are actually damaging and killing life within…  while your truth builds up and restores!

O God, forgive me for being lazy about taking your word in and meditating on it! Help me to stop making excuses that I’m too busy, or too weak or too ingrained in my thinking to capture my toxic thoughts and replace them with your word!  You put the sword of your word in my hand for just such a time as these… I want to move and live and breathe in you, and I cannot do that on my own.  Thank you for the Holy Spirit moving this in me – you only ask me to surrender and you take it from there!

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!Taking Action:

Ask the Lord to lead you to just one…two… or three promises of His Word that He wants you to stand on this week.  Write them down on an index card and say them out loud for the next seven days at bedtime and first thing when you get up in the morning.   If toxic thoughts come to you during the day about a situation or person on your heart, use the promises God’s given you as your shield of faith (no weapon formed against you can succeed!) by saying them aloud again.

Then watch for and make note of any way God moves in these situations you are lifting to Him in His promises!  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

If you’d like to,

I’d love to have you share in my comments this week

as you see God move in your speaking out His promises in your life!  🙂

Such testimonies always build my faith

and will encourage us all!

scan0006  I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 4: Why We Need to Replace Toxic Thoughts With God’s Honeycomb… Today

  1. Gayl says:

    Thank you for this informing and encouraging post! It is so important to spend time in God’s Word. I had no idea how much the toxic thoughts could affect our bodies. And you are right that the Bible has what we need. The more we ingest His word, the more our minds and thoughts are changed. May God help us realize this and spend more time meditating on His word that gives us life! I appreciate your prayer and prayed it myself. May God bless you today and throughout the week!

    • Thank you for telling me that, Gayl! I just added a note on here about how we typically think of meditating on God’s word as thinking and pondering. That is part of course, but I just found out that the original language means God wants us to “mutter it” – that hit me, He wants it in our mouths, coming out of our voices, speaking it into… Isn’t that amazing? Yes, I’ve heard Dr. Leaf on television a lot and her studies are really eye opening… She is a strong believer as well as a scientist… Praying about this post and what to write today, she kept coming to my mind. I’m so grateful to know this prayer spoke to you too. Blessings to you too!

      If you follow the “action,” at the end of this post, I’d love to hear how God reveals an answer or peace etc to you… 🙂

  2. Pam,

    Indeed, God’s Word is truly light and life to us.

    I love that meaning of meditate, to “mutter God’s Word”. Too often I am muttering negativity. How wonderful would my day go if my muttering were turned to muttering the Truth’s contained in Scriptures.

    Thank you for spurring us on and for sharing such an edifying post. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Day 5: When you find yourself muttering… | Writing… Apples of Gold

  4. Barbie says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

  5. Mother Hen says:

    I had an opportunity to view Caroline on tv recently. I really appreciated what she had to say..

  6. Oh I love that we are neighbors both over with Jennifer and Holley today! (I love The Message, and Caroline Leaf, and this whole post!)

Leave a Reply

