Day 16: When we want our words to bathe in Light, but discord is all we can see

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

This is day 16 of my fall series – 31 days to An Autumn Harvest of our Words. For these posts, I thought I’d explore a different twist on why our words matter…

Has God  set a law of sowing and reaping

and harvest time

— not just in the natural world around us —

but also into our very spoken words?

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!When we buy a packet of zinnia seeds, for example, we expect to see beautiful golden blossoms eventually bloom in replica to the colorful picture portrayed there. In the same way, the thoughts we put into words from the moment we wake each morning and continue to reiterate throughout the day are bringing us a harvest of one kind or another.

The question is —

Are the well-meant words we sow with our mouths

producing weeds and eaten by worms?

Or are we planting our speech in anticipation

of God’s overtaking blessing to our lives?

To follow this series, it’s important to begin here, A Prequel Post to the Annual Autumn 31 Days Linkup   and then click here for new posts each day:  An Autumn Harvest of our Words

Thanks for joining in on this Fall winnowing of our words!

— Day 16 —

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

Does God our Father want us to join Him in speaking things into being, decreeing His Light and Favor upon our world?  How are we to do this? 

“You will also decide and decree a thing,

and it will be established for you;

And the light [of God’s favor] will shine upon your ways.

~ Job 22:28 [Amplified Version]

.

Digital Camera

Digital Camera

So, I’ve tried the tack of just swallowing it down – not taking it personally.  After all, I’m the adult here.  Right?  Wild and woolly words should just roll off my back with a chuckle.  Kids will be kids! 

“Small children sometimes  have that don’t you dare try to get close to me air about them for a little while,” I tell myself, even as I watch this little one I love – and have been trying to connect with-  run grinningly to a relative stranger and race just as speedily away from me.   Words that have sliced coming so out of the blue – “I just don’t want to tell you about it!” [when I’ve only been inquiring about something I know interests] – and body language that says, “oh not you again!”

Slipping into the pew next to this little one yesterday, I could read the eyes, the suddenly, slightly stiff shoulders.  “What are you doing here?”  And on this day of sad remembrance anyway, somehow I just suddenly feel spent from trying…  weepy… and un-adult-like  plain hurt.

It’s with me as I go through the day, puzzling about this unlikely reproof.  I’ve always adored children… and usually they warm to me.  I just have no clue what is going on here, Father.   Why this child almost seems to resent my presence with family that seems so like my own.

It’s with me as I ready for sleep and again I’m just completely flummoxed at what the misconception could possibly be!  I tell myself it’s crazy to hang on to it… or maybe I should  just cool it with reaching out for a bit… or just… stop…thinking…about…it.  But this child’s sweet little face pops up in picture and I…just…don’t…get…it.

I awake again this morning, feeling the twisting knife of sorrow and slight.   Argggh…How do I just let it go? Why does he seem to dislike me when I’ve only ever tried to show interest in what interests him?  What thought against me is causing a barrier between our connecting as friends?

You could decree My Favor upon his mind and heart and spirit, you know… comes a gentle thought.

“Hm…,” I think.

Decree that My Favor dispel any wrong thinking about you that may be speaking into their mind and spirit.  Bless this child’s thought processing with more and more of Me.  Speak words of life and prayer over school days and experiences.  Decree blessing upon blessing that will transform misperceptions and pour My Light into how they see you… themselves… And that the next time you meet, My Favor rises up between you!

“Is this really one of the things You’d want me to decree?”  I ask, wonderingly.  I’ve done that in adult situations, such as praying for His Favor in job interviews, Favor on the work of my hands that His light will shine forth from it and draw people to it.  Even favor with co-workers when little walls have seemed to take root from nowhere between us.  But – speak out a decree prayer for  favor so a little child will – like – me?

Remember… discordance like this is

always the sowing of the enemy

He reminds.

The enemy.  Now trying to sow some nebulous thing between a small child and me that has no basis…!  But — Greater is God’s love – and His Favor upon the decrees He puts in our mouths – than discord!

It will be some months before next we meet, Lord, I begin. 

And in the meantime,  I decree Your Favor and light upon me in his thoughts.

  Your blessing surrounding his innocent heart, spirit, mind in all his moments.   Your angels to hold circle round him in every outside  influence at school and in the world… For his already great love for you to rise strong and sure and sound, a palm tree growing by the River of Life in You… 

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

Then, I look up The Message Version of the same verse above from Job 22: 28 and find this wondering gem!

“You’ll take delight in God, the Mighty One,
    and look to him joyfully, boldly.
You’ll pray to him and he’ll listen;
    he’ll help you do what you’ve promised.
You’ll decide what you want and it will happen;
    your life will be bathed in light.
To those who feel low you’ll say, ‘Chin up! Be brave!’
    and God will save them.
Yes, even the guilty will escape,
    escape through God’s grace in your life.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

What prayer-laced decree is God placing in your heart

and mouth today?

© Pam Depoyan

scan0006   I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

Are you supporting your favorite Write 31 Days authors by reading their posts daily-

DaySpring.com is celebrating all of the amazing Write 31 Days readers who are supporting nearly 2,000 writers this October!

To enter to win a $500 DaySpring shopping spree, just click this Link STARTING  ON OCTOBER 15th and GOING THROUGH OCTOBER 31st:   http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ff92849712/

  Then, simply follow the giveaway widget instructions.

Best to you, and thanks for reading!

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 16: When we want our words to bathe in Light, but discord is all we can see

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Wow, Pam, I”m so sorry that that happened to you. Children, actually, can be cruel. We dn’t think of them that way, but they can be–an no filters. I hope it can be straightened out. But as the sting subsides, and you remain the loving adult that you are, I know you will keep reaching out, and eventually *your* words and winsome ways will win over.

    Thank you for always encouraging me!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Thanks, Lynn. Little kids just say whatever comes into their minds, it’s true. I just don’t know why there seems to be this strange separation between us. But I just leave it to the Lord. He’s such a sweet kid, tenderhearted too. But who knows what strange ideas of a person come into their little heads – and since they don’t really express it, or the whys of it, we are just left befuddled. If I saw him all the time, I’d maybe broach it… but right now, best thing is prayer. And the power and harvest God brings of words in prayer… 🙂 Glad if this encourages you in some way today…

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Will join you in that prayer. could just be that he hasn’t seen you. I know for sure you did nothing.

    • I felt like I was breaking through just before I had to be gone all this year,, so yes, probably separation. I know it is nothing I did unless something I said once a long time ago and don’t even know about was misinterpreted …you never know how a child might think something you don’t know about. I really do think the enemy works overtime to just put up walls between us, no matter how old we are… I just feel attached to the little ones so easily cuz I love em 🙂 Thanks for your prayers too. Best gift we give each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

