Day 20: Falling Bits of Golden Remembrance

Digital Camera

This is day 20 of my fall series – 31 days to An Autumn Harvest of our Words. For these posts, I thought I’d explore a different twist on why our words matter…

Is there a God-established  sowing, reaping and harvesting in our words?  Especially of His Words, spoken?

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

Like roses pressed in a book, the falling leaves feel like bits of golden remembrance to me.  Maybe that’s part of the inexplicable whoosh of tenderness I know every time I watch a shower of them flutter, lightly chase as in windy circles of confetti, gracefully dipping in plie to the ground.  It’s a feeling of a breathy, whispery, slip-through-your-fingers message sent down on a breeze, like trying to catch and hold onto a bubble, if only we could…                       

****************

Digital CameraI think the hospital didn’t know what to do with us.  To every hopeless word pushed upon us, we held up one more of  FAITH.

Take your dad home — nothing else to be done — he will have the bag attached to his kidney for life because once it is on, it NEVER comes off!” they tried to impress upon us, smiling indulgently at the mention of miracles.    Hmm…Bringing him home after three months of hospital-to-rehab, to hospital and rehab and hospital again, was a miracle in itself.   Doctors often call the rehab “home,” so  I don’t think Dad believed he was coming to his own house until he saw it, himself.

Over the three months at home we had a nightly ritual following readying Dad for sleep.  We’d pray aloud from some scripture prayers and Dad would say “Amen” to each one… like taking “God’s medicine” daily (with no harmful side-effects!  🙂  )….

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

“Jesus is Lord of my life; sickness and disease have no power over me,” we’d pray aloud.  “He bore my sin on the tree… by His stripes I am healed and made whole [1 Peter 2:24, Romans 6:11, 2 Corinthians 5:21]… God sent His word and healed me.  [Psalm 107:20]

“Heavenly Father, I attend to Your Word.  I incline my ear to Your sayings.  I will not let them depart from my eyes.  I keep them in the midst of my heart, for they are life and healing to all my flesh.”  [Proverbs 4:20-22]

“No evil will befall me, neither shall any plague come near my dwelling.  For You have given your angels charge over me.  They keep me in all my ways.  In my pathway is life,  healing and health.”  [Psalm 91: 10,11, Proverbs 12:28]

“I present my body to God, for it is the temple of the Living God.  God dwells in me and His Life permeates my SPIRIT, SOUL AND BODY, so that I am filled with the fullness of God daily.” [Romans 12:1,2, John 14:20]

“Growths and tumors have no right in me.  They are a thing of the past for I am delivered from the authority of darkness.   The Life of God within me dissolves growths and obstructions and my strength and health is restored.” [Colossians: 1:13,14,]

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

Daily we prayed God’s Word would engraft into each of our hearts and minds and spirits even as we spoke His truth aloud and with every assenting Amen from dad. 

That God would supernaturally make a way for that kidney bag to come off. 

That whatever was blocking the function from correctly working would resolve. 

That what man called “impossible,” God promised He would do and more.

  As Jesus spoke to the fig tree and to the storm, we spoke in His Name to my dad’s body.  “In Jesus’ Name, body I speak the Word of Faith to you.   I command every internal organ to perform a perfect work, for you are the temple of the Holy Spirit!  Therefore, I charge you in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and my authority of His Holy Word – be healed and made whole in Jesus’ Name.”

Digital CameraOne afternoon two months into dad’s being home, the visiting nurse noticed that the kidney bag was resisting her flush.  “Bring him in to ER,” the doctor advised, “just so we can make sure nothing is obstructing him.”

Dad seemed calm, even as nurses and technicians bustled around him, taking his blood pressure, wheeling in the ultrasound machine.  In the corner of the tiny room, I shivered in shirtsleeves.  Outside it was 109 degrees.  In here, what? 40?  [Why DO they keep it so frigid in ER?]

“You need a sweater, hon,” Dad said, watching me.  I smiled at his typical sweater concern from way back, even when there was the slightest breeze.  “I’m okay, Dad,”  I answered.  “Don’t worry ’bout me.”

Soon the tech had his kidney image up on the ultrasound screen, and I was watching the shadows and light move its inky picture, like a Rorshach test.

I’ve never told anyone besides my sister and Dad what happened next.   Well… and now… you🙂

As I watched the screen, the technician froze the image in place.  And what I saw there nearly made me gasp aloud.   I stared closer.  It couldn’t really be.  It was just my creative imagination… like seeing pictures in clouds.  But no, it was like the face of our Lord as we always depict Him, only right there as if superimposed within the kidney image itself.  Shoulder length hair, eyes that held mine…  And the feeling of an assurance sweeping over me.  I am taking care of your dad’s kidney. You will see something wondrous come from this….

I could hear my sister talking to the technician, asking typical questions, while my eyes stayed glued to a shadow and light  face I clearly saw onscreen.   Later, I told my sister and Dad what I’d seen on that screen.

“It looks like things have reversed themselves,” doctors cautiously announced to us later that day.  “We’ll run a dye test in the morning and if it confirms, we’ll remove the bag…”

Huh?  The bag that NEVER comes off?  “Let’s thank God now, that He is healing you, Dad,” we said as he was wheeling away for the test.

In 30 minutes, the nurse came out with the news.  “Everything is now functioning normally,” she grinned, “and the bag has been removed!”

One day later, Dad was back at home.   “God did a miracle for you, you know!” we exclaimed to him.    “I know,” he said, never a man of many words.   But his smile said enough anyway.    That night, praying aloud together, his “Amen’s” held the harvest of our words, already there before us.  To Godin His living Word… be the Glory.

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

  “ We call Abraham “father” not because he got God’s attention by living like a saint, but because God made something out of Abraham when he was a nobody. Isn’t that what we’ve always read in Scripture, God saying to Abraham, “I set you up as father of many peoples”? Abraham was first named “father” and then became a father because he dared to trust God to do what only God could do: raise the dead to life, with a word make something out of nothing. When everything was hopeless, Abraham believed anyway, deciding to live not on the basis of what he saw he couldn’t do but on what God said he would do.”

~ Romans 4:17 [The Message]

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

photos: mine

To follow this series, it’s important to begin here, A Prequel Post to the Annual Autumn 31 Days Linkup   and then click here for new posts each day:  An Autumn Harvest of our Words

Thanks for joining in on this Fall winnowing of our words!

.

scan0006  I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

Sharing with: Three Word Wednesday

There’s still time to enter the DaySpring raffle for a $500 shopping spree!

click here:  http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/ff92849712/?

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 20: Falling Bits of Golden Remembrance

  1. What a beautiful story! How awesome and wonderful is our good God! (Stopping by from SDG) Blessings!

  2. I was so encouraged by your story about your dad! We can so easily forget our God is BIG! Thank-you, for sharing this Pam.

    • Thank you for letting me know this story encouraged you, Rebecca. I’ve been feeling like I’m pushing myself to get these 31 posts out there and not sure if they are even reaching that many. Cold symptoms today are probably getting me down a bit too, so your words encourage me! 🙂 Yes, He is BIG!

  3. Hazel Moon says:

    Your testimony is so inspiring and I am so glad you included many healing scriptures. Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever. What a blessing to see Jesus on the photo shoot of your Dad’s kidney. Truly a miracle of God healing your Dad, and Jesus is worthy of praise. The bag came off – regardless of the medical negative declaration. Thank you for sharing with us here at Tell me a Story.

    • Thank you for all your thoughts on this, Hazel! Yes, He is the same yesterday, today and forever. I’m learning how important it is to stay with God’s declaration even in the face of other negative ones… Blessings to you this weekend…

  4. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam thank you for sharing this! Oh my goodness! What an amazing TRUE story and what a miracle. The Lord surely honored your prayers and gave your dad reprieve. My father had one too after his kidneys failed with a transplant that lasted a number of years. And we also saw miracles in the hospital when doctors gave up hope. The biggest miracle I saw was his salvation…or rather, I bleive, evidence of it and renewal in his spirit. He is with the Lord now, but he lives. I am amazed at what transpired for your dad and how God showed you alone the miracle. But thank you for sharing it w/ us!

    • Yes… we don’t always know what God is doing behind the scenes, but I am so grateful for the blessing of seeing Him move in wondrous ways in our prayers. Love how he blessed you that way in your dad’s situation. I’m glad this story touched you too! thanks for sharing your story too, Lynn. Yes, the best is knowing where your dad is…

    • I wanted to add something too as I thought more on this story and why I wanted to share it in this series, Lynn… Sometimes we can get the mistaken idea that God honors some of us or some of our prayers and not others… but what God has been showing me so MUCH (and what I’ve been trying to express in this series) is how He honors His Word when we speak it out… that He endues His very Word with healing, power, and all that He is and when we speak it out, it is an opening up to Him to move in His Word… That is what I felt He truly did right before our eyes in this! 🙂 The wonder and the harvest of His word in our mouths. 🙂 I want to encourage us all to know how God’s word in our mouths moves mountains because it is Him living in it…

Leave a Reply

