Day 24: There’s a mystery missive waiting for you, when autumn leaves fall

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!Out of the watercolor sky of pearl grays and pale blues, from tips of high swaying, shedding tree limbs… autumn’s leafy rainbows  dip and flutterscattering like tiny gilt-edged notes — at our feet.  

But — before we grab the rake — let us walk on golden and russet carpets, listen for the wonder crackling neath our shoes, slip our hands in and round this lovely pile, searching as for treasure. like a child sleuth reaching into an ancient tree knot to uncover “a clue in ye olde hidden mystery missive…”

Let us hold it close when we find it, looking skyward to the one who has penned our name across the linen envelope.  For there it is, do you see?  

.

scan0007Autumn 2015

.

Dearest,

I hold a sweet picture of you in my mind today.  And of me… holding your hand, so tenderly.

You were my little lamb then – and oh, how I delighted in your open heart of innocent love for me.

I held you close to my heart.

I cherished your smiles.  I forgave you your times of ‘falling down.’  I lifted you up, dried your tears, comforted your little-one heart.  I filled you and blessed you with gleeful song… My wee child who sang of me and prayed from your heart…trusting and believing I was with you.

Feeling me there with you.

Talking with me of all your hopes and dreams and asking me to never stop loving you.

As if!

You are still my lamb now.  I cherish these memories of the little-one-you-were and I LOVE the you that you are, even more

I lift you now and want to comfort your heart and sing songs of radiance and hope and joy over and in you…

That you would know that you knowmy love goes on and on.

I send you showers of golden-leafed messages to refresh you in the deep heart of love you gave me from the first time you heard of me, sang of me.  I filled you then…  with a deep knowing of me.

I flow over you…now…with that same knowing.   I write melodies of majesty inside the very cells of your being.

I warm you inside and out in my tender, strength-imbuing embrace.

I help you to hear me telling you how dearly I cherish you;  my sweet and lovely ballad to open and sing, I place like a music box in your heart.

You are always and forever, my little one.

As you remember the children of your heart, like you remember each one in all the stages of their lives – their lopsided child-heart smiles, reserved just for you… the joys and heartaches of their growing years…the light of love in their eyes today –so it is, I hold memories of you in my heart, hold you close, all the days of your life and into eternity.

Before I even formed you in your mother’s womb, you were a treasure in my heart —         a dream-come-true to me.

I leave you with this wondrous thought, dear one —

you are one of the greatest miracles I will ever know.  A miracle of love to me, because I am your Father, your Creator, the Lover of your heart and soul.

~ Papa

Heart 6 Clip Art

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Digital Camera

Every time I look at the beautiful  face of this little one I just finished drawing yesterday… oh how my heart melts!  I don’t know this child personally, since I drew it from a photo for a commissioned order.  But I wonder if his expression – almost as if he wants to tell us something — strikes you similarly?  [I can’t possibly hang all the drawings I’ve been doing lately, but I think I need to keep a print of this one somewhere in my home…  Oh that face! 🙂 ]

The open-awe, drinking-in-every-word-you-say, love I see in his eyes reminded me of a sort of prayer I wrote for someone who was so in my prayers years ago.  I hunted for my copy, so I could adapt it here for you todayfor in the radiance of fall all round us right now, in this little one’s eyes, I hear the Lord’s heart echoing back for each of us...  🙂 and how he’s been holding on to our hands, even before we knew.

Happy Sabbath Saturday to each of you, friends…

a love note to simply let flow over you in your selah!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

© Pam Depoyan

  • photo: mine
  • Pen & Ink Home Portrait shown above: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

Ask about available prints or Christmas portraits!

scan0006  I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

This is day 24 of my fall series – 31 days to An Autumn Harvest of our Words. For these posts, I thought I’d explore a different twist on why our words matter…

Is there a God-established  sowing, reaping and harvesting in our words? 

Especially of His Words, spoken?

To follow this series, it’s important to begin here, A Prequel Post to the Annual Autumn 31 Days Linkup   and then click here for new posts each day:  An Autumn Harvest of our Words

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Day 24: There’s a mystery missive waiting for you, when autumn leaves fall

  1. You are so very talented. Love the drawing… melts my heart too. Thank you for this beautiful piece… beautiful in so many ways. Love to think about being my Father’s little one today. It’s a joy to be following you at Barbie’s today. Bless you!

    • Thank you, Julie. I am amazed myself at the way my drawings are these days. I never had much time to draw when I was in an office job and hadn’t done much in years. But nowadays I really feel God’s presence and enabling as I work on them. I’ll find myself figuring out how to make things look a certain way and know I didn’t just think it up myself. 🙂 So glad to know this touched you both in the art and the writing today! Your words here are a joy too. Blessings!

  2. carriel says:

    What a gift you have! A lovely capture of an innocent little face!

    • Thank you, Carrie! Shadows and small details don’t come across on the scan, so you can’t see it, but I love the sparkle look in his eyes too where I was able to dab in a little white pastel. 🙂 Oh, that we would look at our Lord the way he is looking at whomever was taking the photo of him…

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, this is so precious…what a gifted artist and wordsmith you are. It seems like when God showered colorful leaf blessings from heaven, they pooled at your feet. You are multi-variegatedly talented–yes, I know that is not a word….the “v” word! But you are! So there! I’m so glad you made a copy of the drawing. Sheridan is doing that now. It’s easier for authors to keep their words after they send them out, but it would be hard to part w/ an original drawing or painting that the artist, herself, loves. It is adorable. And I loved getting the leaf-letter from you, from God, with the reminder that He cherishes us as His children. I needed to hear it.

    Bless you for bestowing such beauty at every turn…oh! And about the watercolor?! Our minds often think so much alike. It’s just what I said to Sheridan about our Missouri sky early this morning. She said, no mother…it’s an oil painting. But I begged to differ w/ my artist daughter. It was truly watercolor-ethereal.
    Love you so much, Pam
    Lynni

    • You have so many gifts yourself, Lynni… I think mine just happen to be noticeable here, but music – to sing as I know you do is a wondrous blessing! And you, wordsmith you right back at you! Thank you for those beautiful words though. I feel like God has blessed me in the last few years by anointing both my words and my art in newer, deeper ways, and it is the biggest blessing to know that he touches others through it. Yes, I can’t imagine not being able to make prints of all my work, to sell the one and only. (I’m hoping this particular portrait might even interest others in a print, for I could see it in a baby’s room… just seems more universal than others that I’ve done that only the family might want.) That’s the hard thing about oil paintings… though of course, there is probably a way nowadays to copy those pretty easily for yourself too. The letter prayer came out of lot of intercessory prayer and I always feel an anointing in words that I write after such prayer… I’m so glad it was what you needed today. As to the sky – sometimes it does look like oil… but in fall, ah it seems like watercolor! 🙂 Especially when the sky holds partly dark clouds against sunlit otherwise.. Love you, too Lynn. Been thinking of you and praying for you…

  4. Pam, your drawing is amazing. You’ve captured the essence of the child in your art and the essence of our Father’s love toward each of us with your words. Lovely and loving post. Nice to meet you at Sunday Stillness.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

  5. I love these words — especially about the fall leaves. Autumn is my favorite season with its melancholy warning and beauty in the dying. Blessings to you at the end of this lovely weekend!

    • Mine too. Nothing like this wild color… I’ve lived here now most of my adult life, but it still amazes me to see this radiant beauty all round me (not just in movies) because I didn’t grow up where it is such a burst on the scene. But always wanted to live where it did… dream come true. 🙂 I never would have said I loved cemeteries, but I was walking around a beautiful old one today (where a close friend is buried) and the golden loveliness there was such glory – His presence shining. Melancholy, beauty in letting go to more than we imagine. Blessings to you too, Michele! Hope it’s as beautiful where you are today as it is here. The sunlight mixed with refreshing air and all this color is intoxicating!

  6. This is so beautiful Pam 🙂 You have an incredible gift for artistic impression with both drawing and words. Thank you for sharing. #WordsWithWinter

  7. This was beautiful! You are very gifted in both writing, hearing from Papa, and drawing, too!

  8. Ann says:

    I love your description of crackling leaves underneath our shoes. and taking in all the beautiful fall colors! And the drawing of that boy….yes, he definitely has the face that can draw one in. Oh, the innocence of a child! And the Lord sees us in the same way, with all our sin and messiness forgiven!!

Leave a Reply

