Day 26: Under the Red-Gold Umbrella Tree

Digital CameraIt’s back… that wondrous persimmon glow I wrote about here: Orange Glow… so much more than just a dust polish.

Once again flooding my kitchen with other-worldly radiance, calling to me as Heaven’s lamplight.  Bidding, “Come sit with Me, just you and I…”

As close to the slider as I can get,  it almost feels like I am embraced beneath your red-gold umbrella canopy, lit from within like a Japanese lantern… where the words in my heart and on my lips are all for You.

O Father, thank You for the glorious annual gift of my beautiful maple!  How the inner, indescribable fire of it transports my spirit by your majesty, pours over me Your Glory. So much so that my mouth is dumb with the awe of each intricately cut leaf, each shadow so gracefully painted on uplifted branch.  This is blessing…and favor…and anointing on my home, my life, my all.

And I am filled to overflowing with thanksgiving for every little gift from your hand, every huge one… all part of THE BLESSING Covenant of Abraham that Jesus brought us back into through the cross.  O thank you, Lord, for sending Your Son to restore us under Your umbrella of Grace and Mercy and Light and Life!  Thank you for the Blood shed for us that makes us partakers, inheritors of all that You are!

Thank You for music that dances across my spirit.  Praise you for the joy of looking out windows from every vantage point of my home – where color is riotous in red flame bushes and emerald green lawn.   Thank you for the comfy chairs in my living room that speak cosy to my heart… the curve of furniture, the joy of a gentle picture frame on my mantel, the yellow Gerber daisy smiling from my blue and white pitcher, just for the pure pleasure of looking at these…

Praise You for good news of a neighbor doing well this week… for this computer and Your enabling of my writing, the amazing way You are somehow showing me how to create artwork beyond anything I’ve done before… and how You often leave me speechless with wonder of being able to accomplish it.

Thank You for a hundred thousand little ordinary things like hairbrushes, and toothbrushes and soaps.  For being able to clean a much lived in home till it sparkles anew. For the gift of words that encourage another, for prayer, for knowing You more.

Thank You for Your majesty and power and great, great love… for wanting healing and hope and renewed life for us all.  Thank You for Your enjoyment of our simple delights as well as the major Gifts You shower upon us…

Today, I will declare and praise You that I am running and not getting weary!  I am walking and not becoming faint!  You restore my youth like the eagle’s and make me to soar like the same!

scan0012I am counting every blessing… one by one… 

For Your Blood that cleanses, cures, restores and flows through ours!

For Your promise covenant Blessing in all it’s overflow…

I open my heart and mouth to proclaim Your Glory…

Here… beneath Your splendiferous autumn umbrella glow.

Take my words and light them from within, O God… to send out as Your umbrella to another today…

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

“Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.”

~hymn, Johnson Oatman Jr., lyricist

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!

Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us…

He redeemed us in order that the blessing given to Abraham

might come to the Gentiles through Christ Jesus,

so that by faith we might receive the promise of the Spirit.

~ Galatians 3:13,14 [NIV]

© Pam Depoyan

  • photo, mine
  • Pen & Ink Home Portrait shown above: mine, under my copyright  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

Ask about available prints or Christmas portraits!

Day 13: Help me CELEBRATE!Have any ideas for portrait you’d like to gift this year?  I’d love to talk…

scan0006

I encourage you to check out the many beautiful, heartwarming or just plain fun October blog series’ participating under a slurry of topic umbrellas at write31days.com

This is day 26 of my fall series – 31 days to An Autumn Harvest of our Words. For these posts, I thought I’d explore a different twist on why our words matter…

Is there a God-established  sowing, reaping and harvesting in our words? 

Especially of His Words, spoken?

To follow this series, it’s important to begin here, A Prequel Post to the Annual Autumn 31 Days Linkup   and then click here for new posts each day:  An Autumn Harvest of our Words

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in An Autumn Harvest of our Words. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 26: Under the Red-Gold Umbrella Tree

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Such an exquisite post of awe, thanksgiving, and praise, Pam, and all because of a gorgeous, flaming maple tree. And isn’t that where the fire in the heart starts–with praise for what He gives and what He has done? I love your writing here (of course!)…and also how thanking him for that *one tree* led you on a romp through the leaves of praise. This really is a glorious post and glorious praise to a glorious God! Thank you for sharing! Have you ever read Robert (I thnk is his first name~) Siegel’s poetry? He wrote a beautiful poem all the little things for which he thanked God. It’s such a tribute of thanksgiving, and much what you have penned here. You could really transform this into a poem as well! 😉
    Love
    lynni

    • No, I’ve never heard of that poet. Sounds beautiful though. I was just thinking yesterday that we should try to get into a habit of recounting our blessings big and small to the Lord, for that is harvest of our words that he can bring forth too… So glad this filled you with praise as well… wasn’t sure if it sounded silly talking about hairbrushes etc. but then there are so many in this world who would marvel at them for the lack in their own lives! I don’t think I could really write a real poem, but I do love to be lyrical (as I know you do too – though you are more of a poet than I) Thanks, Lynni!

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Well, i’m no more lyrical than you. And I must see if I can find that poem and give it to you hear so your readers can take a peek too. The whole point of Siegel’s poem is that we can indeed praise God for blessings large and small…like hairbrushes! Some don’t have them. they really are a grace.

  2. Pam, My comment could not even convey what a gift your writing is to me. Your prayers and your words are so saturated with love and worship of our Heavenly Father. Words that should be soaked up, not just read…

    The Lord has blessed you with such creativity in both your writing and drawings. Thank you for sharing those gifts with all of us. 🙂

    • Your words make me cry, Karen. They convey. Thank you. It means so much to know what I offer here blesses you so. Especially when its seemed like I wasn’t sure how I was going to really finish the 31 day line… 🙂 May you feel Him holding you close, and know He has something great in store for you ahead!

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam this is the book: http://www.amazon.com/Pentecost-Finches-New-Selected-Poems/dp/1557254303
    This is not the poem I mean, but you can read his beautiful words:
    http://www.flourishonline.org/2010/11/poetry-by-robert-siegel/

  4. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I do try to count my blessings each day… every little thing is an amazing gift that God gives us to use while we are. When I turn on my faucet and water comes out it is amazing because there are so many people who have to travel far to get their water and often it isn’t as clean as mine. I was washing my clothes today and I started thanking God for the water and the laundry soap and the clothing that I had to wash and the time to do it and the washing machine. I talk to people where I work and a shower is something that they wish that they could take. I want to have at attitude of gratitude each moment of my day and a heart full of thanksgiving too! Thank you for sharing the gifts God has blessed you with. 🙂

    • Thanks for sharing yours here too, MaryLou. It’s so true… so many things to be thankful for that seem ordinary in our lives, but would be extravagance to others! I think about cars too… how just 100 years ago, people were limited to such small areas of wherever they could walk or ride a horse. Amazing things, yes…

Leave a Reply

