You’ve Got Mail

scan0004

Dear friend,

Remember when people took the time to write actual pages of their heart at Christmas – true stories of their lives and the years’ musings, prayers and hopes? More than just a litany of “Johnny got an A on his paper” and “Susie took up the horn this year,” these were friends who wrote to catch up on heart to heart, even if it was just once a year…slipping their little vignettes into a real, decorative fun or inspiring Christmas Card that spoke more about the birth of a King and joy of the season than Happy Holidays across the photo of the sender?

I’ve been pondering possible themes for my December posts, and suddenly recalling all those cards and letters we looked forward to when I was a child… how people seemed to share more of themselves somehow, than we do today…and the delightful anticipation we felt to open each one, like turning the pages of a familiar book to find out the latest adventures… How they lined the louver doors down our hallway as we slid each newcoming piece in…

And I had this thought. What if I try my hand at writing some Christmasey letters here throughout December? I will address them to you, dear friend. Muse some true stories, maybe discover or share a wonder or two I’ve come across, sometimes illustrate them with my Christmas pen and inks. (Like my angel ornament, above, that I just sketched for a showing.)

I’m not sure yet exactly what this might look like…

But I guess, this is the first note to invite you to check back at this “mailbox” for your letters throughout the month!

May carols sing peace and light and merry heart over and around and in you throughout your days, turning your bustle into moments of grace and hope!

xo,    Pam

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©  Pam Depoyan

  • Pen & Ink Angel  Ornament shown above: mine  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

Looking for unique Christmas gifts?

Ask about my pen and ink artwork available for purchase…

or contact me with special requests for drawings from your photos!

 

Sharing with:

   Beauty in His Grip Button Teaching What Is Good   Give Me Grace

 Looking Up,

Soli Deo Gloria Connections,

Good Morning Mondays,

Soul Survival

Reflect His Love & Glory   What Joy is Mine Monday Musings

Me,Coffee & Jesus

Testimony Tuesday

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Christmas Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to You’ve Got Mail

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, I LOVE this idea. And yes, ’tis true. Many used to write little letters, individually, to catch people up. I was one. But I realized I had so much news I wanted to share, that I was repeating it in each letter. And I’m afraid I’m too arthritic now. So a number of years back, I started to write a one-size-fits-all Christmas newsletter. But I vowed it would not be a brag sheet. So, I include an initial letter that always somehow encompasses the Gospel, and then other articles that relay news about our family and/or friends, come kind of topic, poetry, humor, and yes, those highlights and milestones and special celebrations that grace our year. My husband writes a very brief, humorous synopsis of all I have written called The Real News. But Im still a bit hopeless, and find on some letters, I at least pen some small sentiment. There is something about receiving a note in a friend’s handwriting (no matter how abysmal, like mine, it may be) that says, “I care about you.” So we know you care about us, and we will relish your notes of the heart through December. I was just telling a friend to read your blog, because it’s never negative. You always uplift in prose and pictures. You art is wonderful too.!
    bless you dear one, and I pray the shoulder is better daily.
    xxoo
    lynni

    • Thank you, Lynn for all you shared here. I just typed you a reply and it has vanished! arggghhh…. Your Christmas letters are exactly the type I mean… newsy, encouraging, uplifting. They may be sent out in duplicate, but they are not impersonal. I always love them. And so nice that you can add photos too. I know what you mean about the brag sheet… I love that you vowed not to write that type. Thanks for your encouraging words!

  2. Letters always bless me..I write regularly to my mother-in-law..it’s such a blessing to share snippets of our lives. Now her sister from England writes letters to my teenage son about her life..what gifts! We need to keep up this important tradition..our letters are glimpses of God’s story! Your art is beautiful, too! I’m visiting from #testimonytuesday today. So love this linkup and meeting people like you!

    • Hi holyvacationqueen! I think that is such a wonderful tradition between you and your mother-in-law. Yes, wonderful to share and preserve those snippets in writing. I have a book I love that is all letters written home by a woman in the Red Cross during WWII – she would never have such a complete story if she hadn’t been such a faithful letter writer… I love that the woman in England is writing too. Reminds me of my mom and her pen pal in England who corresponded for 30 years or more. Those letters are treasures! Thank you for stopping by – I love meeting people like you through the linkups too!

      Thanks for your comment on my art too. I’m in a place right now where trying to make a living with my artwork too, so I love to know it resonates. I have really been feeling like God is increasing my ability… I’m drawing things (like portraits of faces) that I never could do years ago… at least not in this same way. And I see God in it, definitely. I hadn’t had time to draw for years, but He’s renewed it in the last few. One door closes, He opens another…

  3. What a lovely idea to share during Advent with letters! I remember how Jesus is the Word, His life and words a letter from God.
    Your pen and ink art is beautiful!

    your neighbor at Playdates with God

    • Thank you, Constance! I was putting some of my artwork up at a secular store today and a woman came up to me and told me she felt maybe God was giving me a calling with my art. That really came as a word from God to me as I’ve been so praying for His light to be in them… and I am just so aware lately that God is truly enabling me to do more than I ever could before in drawing. So praying for his lead on it all…and that He’ll open up a way for me to earn living with the art and the writing… I agree about Jesus the Word and His life and words a letter from God. I love too that we are His letters too… (Paul). 🙂 Thanks for your lovely words here today!

  4. Pam,
    Oh, your artwork is exquisite and the idea of real letters with real stories as opposed to a list of accomplishments sounds wonderful 🙂 Visiting from Holley’s blog.

Leave a Reply

