Who will sing a song of Goodness?

scan0006The lovely red-vested English robin… one of the only songbirds left caroling in the garden on  Christmas Day, even perched on snowdrift branches 

…I will sing of the Lord and His goodness…

 

Do you ever wonder how others seem to accomplish so much in a day while you only seem to manage a few items on your heart?  Morning slips into late afternoon into turning- down-the-covers time and I keep thinking… tomorrowThat’s when I’ll post a new post…clean my home like a fresh breeze…reach out to my neighbors…send the email letter I’ve been wanting to write to friends for over a month… Oh and write that card I picked up for one who could use an encouraging word.

Yet…only two things have consumed the candlewicks of my days this week:

  1. Determining to spend time with the Father in His Word, in worship, in intercession for myself and others.   I want to sing before the Lord in this snow white beginning of the year… put to rest all the sadness and hard times and fretfulness of the past one…and just… sing.
  2. Deciphering the technical frazzle that seems to accompany all the do it yourself free website setups – “How, O Lord, ” I beseeched after so many failed tries (with my name and passwords for such now all over the scope of the world), “can I possibly do this?  You know my circumstances… the need for some steady income… There has to be a way to open more possibilities!”

In the first of these, I suddenly hear a phrase echoing through every Word I pick up – First, it jumped out at me in a 10-day study I’ve been doing on God’s healing in our lives – in the daily articles and meditating questions there, and in the worship/scripture CDs and teaching DVD accompanying it.  Then, again, it leaps off the pages of the prescribed daily readings of the One Year Bible.  Later, I hear it on a ministry program.

And though I don’t typically seek the Lord for a “one word for the new year,” as so many others do, He seems to be placing this phrase right into my open hands.  Like a beautiful polished stone found on the shore among the wavelets floating circles at my feet… 

It is there in 2 Corinthians 9:10… “He who provides seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and increase my store of seed and enlarge my harvest of righteousness...”

And it opens up into my hand yet again as I turn the page in James 3:17 to a lovely promise — “Peacemakers who sow in peace raise a harvest of righteousness…”

Hmm…

I am in the midst of seeking Him about  the multi-colors of meaning in this phrase, planning to write more on this here as the days go by.  But for now, just as a preview for days ahead:

He brings to mind how it isn’t anything we can do in and of ourselves to become righteous.  Jesus Himself – in us – is our harvest of righteousness.

And how He enjoins us in Ephesians 6 to put on the Breastplate of righteousness

Then I read Isaiah 51 and find, “Listen to me, you who pursue righteousness and seek the Lord (they are tied together!) – look to the rock from which you were cut and to the quarry from which you were hewn; look to Abraham and Sarah…”  To Faith!

Quarry, hewn, cut...To mining that faith?

The kind of faith Abraham and Sarah had, to believe the impossible (a baby at 90+)  and never let go until they saw it… to do like they saw the Father do, call it so before they saw it come to be! How their words were so entwined with that faith…

After a peaceful time with the Lord on this subject, I turned my hand and mind then to my second all consuming thought — all things website.  The annoying thing was that I couldn’t find one to just preview without actually signing in, making a password as though it were a done thing.  Suddenly… I was in the midst of anything but righteousness.  Muttering at my computer.  Moaning exasperations aloud.  Closing down my computer after hours and hours of weary fruitlessness.

Peace… brings a harvest of righteousness.

Yup.

Finally, I just bounced onto my couch (a bit in a fret), and turned on TV to chill with a light-brain cooking show.   Just the refreshing I needed.  Relaxed, sort of giving it over to Him,  a clear idea floated to my mind in pictures and words.  I could see a reference place I’ve often wondered about  on my blog admin that lists “My Blogs.”  Blogs, plural?

You could set up a second blog, make it like a website, you know... came the thought.

I sat up, muted the TV,  thinking about that.

Mm… Yes, I could separate the types of drawings and make individual posts to showcase them like a gallery…  Instead of a button that would lead them to viewing these, people could just click on a category list of such post links…  And at least, I already know this blog host system.  It might work. 

Enthusiasm geared up for one more try.   I followed the steps that had come to mind and voilà!  When I originally set up this Apples blog, I recall there were tons of sample themes to choose from.  This time I only found a few and I didn’t find them too clear.  Just picking one at random, I could immediately see it fit my idea perfectly!  I’m excited to get it completed and share it with you here…

Sooo…   let us listen for the songs He is singing in and over us and be like that beautiful robin in the snowy English garden…singing them back to the Heavens!

Look for more from me on both these topics as we enter into the new year!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

©  Pam Depoyan

Pen & Ink English robin drawing shown above: mine  (please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

 

Linking with:

Susan Mead at #DanceWithJesus  Deb Wolf at #FaithandFriends, Kelly Balarie at #RaRaLinkup Jaime Wiebel at #SittingAmongFriends and Holley Gerth at #CoffeeForYourHeart

Faith-Filled Friday

Blessing Counters 

Friendship Friday

http://womenwithintention.com/    Women with Intention

21 Days of Rest: Finding Spiritual Whitespace  #OneWordCoffee Wednesday

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Who will sing a song of Goodness?

  1. Alisa Nicaud says:

    Oh Pam, how I feel your pain! I’m not techie either. I’m actually just learning how to link up with other bloggers. But as you said, God is good. When we take a step back and let Him lead, He shows us the way. Thanks for this reminder. I definitely need to take a step back from the crazy blog technology today.

  2. So true, Alisa! I can navigate blogs and Word, I’ve learned to link up but still not sure how to grab buttons without just copying one from someone who already has 🙂 , but every day there is some new thing! So much self learning… But SO grateful that God can lead when I don’t see a way! Thanks for sharing that.. blessings to your weekend!

  3. kentuckygal50 says:

    Following from Friendship Friday at Create With Joy!

    Sometimes when I am at my lowest, music (especially worship music) can touch my soul as little else can. BTW, your post today has been just what I needed to hear! (Well, you know, read.) :O)

  4. Martha Herden says:

    Pam–you continue to impress me with your Faith—-as you keep looking UP to our LORD for HIS guidance as you consider expanding your blogs!!!!! I have full belief it will ALL come together and your talents will keep growing as we all watch and cheer you on!!!!!!!! Way to Go!!!!!!!

    • Thanks for always encouraging, Martha! I just want to encourage us all to keep looking up… 🙂 I appreciate your words! So nice to see you here. Blessings to you today as we think about how God tells us there is nothing impossible with Him…

  5. Eileen says:

    I have always been so slow at progressing to taking on new things. In my early years, I was later than my peers in learning to drive, I was way late as a young person in dating, and I was late as a young person in getting out, and living independently on my own. And when it comes to “tech” stuff, it was only yesterday, that I got my FIRST smart phone! And I am intimidated by it already, and I have barely gotten it out of the box! So when you mentioned your frustration with your blog, I could REALLY relate, and I felt that God must have SURELY sent your message, in terms of perfect timing, to encourage me to let Him help me. For He can always help us with ANY problem/situation. And it is true, He is only a call- a prayer away, and NOTHING is impossible with Him! Thank you for your encouraging words, Pam, and thanks be to God!
    -Eileen

    • Well, I can relate to a lot of what you just said here, too, Eileen. 🙂 But all in God’s perfect time! I don’t even have a smart phone… ha ha. I do enjoy things online, just a lot of this website stuff seems a bit over-complicated. But I think for now, he has given me a perfect way to show what I have out there, and I’m trusting Him to bring people who are looking for it! I keep reminding myself of those words too… NOTHING impossible with Him! 🙂 So grateful for His promises… Thanks for your encouraging words too! Have fun exploring all your phone will allow you to do! It is amazing all the things you can do with it!

  6. Sylvia R says:

    Pam, I have been going through exactly the same tech things at the same time! My son/web-helper updated my blog, and I found myself spending what has seemed a huge, inordinate amount of time trying to wrestle its new updated theme into usefulness for photo blogging. Finally gave up and tried old themes I’d used before, themes I’d never used, and new versions of old themes. And as I sat there, getting bleary eyed and increasingly frustrated, I couldn’t believe how much time my watch was telling me all this was eating up. At one point I considered the same thing, too: creating a new free website! I’ve thought about a second website for different content for some time, but this was different, an attempt to escape the time thief! At last I came upon an old theme that I’d really liked when I’d used it, and now it had a lot of updates and new flexibilities. It’s there now, though not polished, and that’ll just have to do for a while. All this does take a lot of time, especially if your tech lingo is as meager as mine!

    And for the other, the solitary time with God, the prayer and song and processing of pain, well, if you didn’t do anything else all day, it would still be a day very well spent, methinks!

    As for grieving, I think we shortchange ourselves on the time we allow for it. We can’t treat it like an item on a to-do list, but greatly need those extended times to bring them to rest with our caring heavenly Father. On Jan. 1 I found myself flung into a temporary pit of old griefs that I thought I should no longer be bothered by (“put to rest.”) Whether I never gave myself enough grieving space for these things or re-grief is a fact of life, I don’t know. But I know to some extent what you’ve been dealing with, and I think the way you have been doing it is an outstanding use of time, and a good example to me.

    Thank you for the encouragement this post has given me.

    Peace and new joys to you in 2016.

    • Sylvia R says:

      PS (as if I didn’t already use too many words) that bird illustration is gorgeous! Caught my eye and my breath when I first came in here.

      • Isn’t it a sweet bird? I’ve always loved the English Robin of fairy tale drawings because of it’s small round shape, different than the robins I see in my yard here. I want to draw more birds soon… to put on my new site too. 🙂 I’m so glad you like it! I will answer your longer comment a little later today… Thank you, Sylvia!

    • Sylvia R says:

      (You don’t have to reply, Pam. I got way too carried away!)

    • I’m so touched that this post ministered to you just when you needed it, Sylvia. It is true that we need to give ourselves time to grieve. But some of it, I think, is also just the enemy continually trying to prick us with something to bring us down. It is in taking captive my thoughts and turning them to God that I am discerning the difference. A lot of what I’m grieving is some of the awful circumstances that took place that didn’t need to be… and giving them over to Him. It is easy for me to drift into melancholy and I want to not let myself steep there too long… But also, as you say, to heal in the necessary grieving. A good thing with not having a steady job right now is more time to give to time with Him… And you are right, time best spent. 🙂 I pray His healing restoration over you in all that is still coming upon your heart unawares…and His rejoicing songs over you and in you.

      About the computer stuff…wow, it sounds like we were twins in this! So many hours wasted, but now that I have a plan with it the hours put on it at least seem productive! I’ll hopefully have it up and ready soon. I will look at your second site too!

      Thank you for your kind and encouraging words! Blessings to you this Sunday!

      • Sylvia R says:

        Yes, Pam! I think that’s probably just what was happening in this case, the enemy trying to thwart me! But God…! Wow, what a lot of victory He’s been giving me since that first day of this year—and increasing that discernment you’re talking about, too. (Now I don’t suppose your prayers have had anything to do with this, do you?? I thank you deeply.)
        As for all that time “wasted” on technology, I don’t think it has been—wasted. I’ve learned my way around a lot of new places by getting lost repeatedly (sounds like a blog post idea) and this is just another example. I figure I’ll just have to do some more getting lost on this, too, because my primary site is still in process and the second still non-existent. I’m just “stepping back.”
        BTW, I changed my mind about Chicken Soup and am sending a submission about gratitude. Thank you for your encouragement on this, too. Rich blessings to you!

      • Beautiful, Sylvia! I don’t think my hours were wasted on that technical search either because I am seeing now how the blog that I am setting up now is so much more perfect for what I’m trying to accomplish than those regular websites! It struck me last night that God led me to the perfect solution… and giving me so many ideas as I go along with it. I think it is more suited to the kind of techy knowledge I do have (coming from my work in a communications area for many years) than the other. So God leads! I am so glad you are submitting that story to Chicken Soup! Even if they don’t accept for a particular issue that you submit to, they keep them… and my experience shows they often come back later and use it in another issue. Plus I figure whoever is reading it for acceptance is blessed by it too! Blessings to you on that! Keep me posted… .

  7. Carol says:

    I enjoyed reading how the Lord led you to the words for this year. He is our source of righteousness and peace. And I so totally understand your frustration with the computer! I am always glad when my son is home to help. Praise the Lord that you found a way to set up new avenues for your blog! I’m your neighbor at Weekend Whispers.

    • Thanks, Carol. I don’t usually ask Him for a word… I think I sort of “rebel” whenever I see something that everyone else everywhere seems to be doing. 🙂 But this is a phrase He is definitely leading me to meditate on. I think it correlates with the harvest of our words that I wrote about in my 31 days posts this Fall.. Yes, I’m so grateful for His leading me to figure that web one out for now… 🙂

  8. Beth says:

    I am visiting from Weekend Whispers. I can relate. Each year, “Oh Father, I want to spend more quality time with You. I want to pray for others more. I want to sit in His Presence more.”

    I love your phrase for 2016! God has given me two words, but I almost hate to put them out there. I haven’t written about them yet. Maybe this coming week.

    God bless you in 2016 and I pray a great harvest of righteousness for you!

    • It can sometimes be so hard to make the time with all that crowds in, I know. I am wanting to “listen” more too… Thanks, Beth! I believe the words He leads us too are meant for us all in one way or other, so I know when you share them they will speak to hearts! A beautiful harvest of righteousness for you too! I love the Deuteronomy promise that blessings are overtaking us! 🙂

  9. Anna Smit says:

    I’ve kept returning to read your words here. I love your deeper and deeper reflections…especially this:
    “to do like they saw the Father do, call it so before they saw it come to be! How their words were so entwined with that faith…”
    Mining our faith…something to reflect upon further. Love how choosing rest also brought answers to you…lessons in the mining of faith…be still and know. A dear friend of mine was also reflecting on how faith is a pursuit and that it is a pursuit in blind trust that takes us further and deeper into the knowledge of the Holy.

    I’m also still learning in this blogging world: feel for you!

    • That is so true, Anna… about how God speaks to us when we quiet our minds and hearts and spirits. God is speaking to me about how much He longs for us to trust him and all he promises, too. The quote you mentioned from my post about “calling it so” really comes right from the Word – 🙂 Romans 4:17. This verse has been jumping out at me a lot – for isn’t it just how God calls things into being and how he wants us to be like Jesus… doing what we see the Father doing? Here is the verse in the amplified, speaking of Abraham: “As it is written, I have made you the father of many nations. [He was appointed our father] in the sight of God in Whom he believed, Who gives life to the dead and speaks of the nonexistent things that [He has foretold and promised] as if they [already] existed.” So are we to speak out His Word promises as truth before we even see… 🙂 trusting Him to be true to His word… Thank you for all your words here, Anna !

  10. jwiebel says:

    This blogging business is tough stuff. You have a nice space here with encouraging posts. Keep it up. Thank you for posting with us on Wednesdays at Sitting Among Friends. We look forward to posts next week.

    • Thank you! I do enjoy blogging… just not sure about how to get the marketing piece to my artwork side. But I’m excited about how the pen and ink blog is coming and looking forward to getting it completed too… I appreciate your encouraging words!

  11. sandraj2015 says:

    Pam – Joining you from Holley’s place. I was so blessed by your thoughts and verses on righteousness. And, I so love your bird sketch – I will follow you to your art site, too! Blessings!

    • Welcome, Sandra! Thanks for letting me know how this touched you. I will be posting more about the art site soon… and when it is ready I’ll put the link here on my existing pen and ink portrait’s page (up at the top, below the header) to direct viewers to the new site. Thanks! I’m glad you like the bird sketch too! Blessings to you too!

  12. Lori Schumaker of Seaching for Moments says:

    The technical things can be overwhelming! I’m praying your year brings many blessings and that you hear each and every song!
    Blessings,
    Lori

  13. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, this is an amazing post (as I think they all are!), and you’ve really struck a nerve judging by all the responses. Oh, don’t get me started on technical stuff. (Sheridan says I can’t even shoot a photo on a phone–and she’s right.) But I love how the Lord meets our needs and how He sings His answers, if we will but have ears to listen. He’s been doing that for me lately, and after such a long, musicless time. I’m so enthralled with His voice and His messages. Keep listening and playing His music for us on this blog. It’s such a meaningful, melodic ministry. Can’t wait to see what you’re up to!
    Happy New Year with so much love,
    Lynn

    • Thank you, Lynn. It always amazes me that the posts I think are mediocre are the ones that seem to strike a chord with people! Maybe God is saying things into the specifics of everyone’s life through it that I have no clue about… 🙂 WordPress hides the “likes” in a place I don’t think people ever see (above the comment section when the comments are open, where you’d have to scroll up to see ) but this one has five “likes” – most I’ve ever had on a single post. Amazing…

      I love how you put that about musicless and being enthralled now. So blessed to hear that in your life! Yes, about the tech stuff, it just occurred to me last night as I worked on my new site how God prepared me to be creative with it by my experience in my communications job of many years. It is so much more suited to what I am trying to do than the website stuff I was so frustrated with. And shows me that God leads us to the ways and means that are best and definitely even goes above what we imagine! Happy New Year and love to you too! .

  14. Pingback: All Things For Good | Writing… Apples of Gold

  15. Janis Cox says:

    Pam
    Thanks for linking to Word of God Speak. I am a little “techie” so if you want to email me I can try to help. Do you have Twitter or Facebook? If so the icons need to be at the top of your blog or on the sidebar. I love your post – and I can see how God leads you. You could also have a gallery on this blog with your pictures. But I can’t wait to see your link to your new blog.
    Beautiful picture!
    Blessings,
    Janis

    • Thank you, Janis. I may take you up on that… I couldn’t really even figure out to sign into Facebook just for more of a business page. Have you done that with your artwork?

      I did end up setting up a new blog just for the artwork and love the way that has turned out, It allows me to separate all the artwork into categories, so people can view what they like. Plus separate places for the written info. I wrote about that in the post following this one. I don’t have Facebook or twitter, but WordPress does have a way for readers to share my posts with those… there are buttons on these posts when you go into the comment area.

      I did have the artwork here on this blog on a page…but it was getting cumbersome because people had to scroll through it. I was beginning to feel that it was off putting – didn’t have the sense that anyone was looking at it. Now I am wondering if they are getting past the first links on my new blog… they are alphabetized automatically in the category list, so some of the simplest drawings are up top on category links… When you stop by the new blog, please leave a comment in the “communique spot…” 🙂 and let me know if you have any thoughts! Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

