When you’re looking for peace that drops softly from the morning…

And a harvest of righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.

~ James 3:18, English Standard Version

.

Yesterday, I was sketching a photo portrait that comes from a famous story of a man who journeys to his old family home in Innisfree, Ireland… in search of peace.  There’s a look of wispy sadness, weariness of worry, hint of anticipation on his face as he stands beside a white-washed, thatched roof cottage, looking out and beyond.  You can’t see it in the snapshot I was working from…but I KNOW that out there, in the beyond just outside the frame, there is wild and Emerald isle-glory to lift his soul to the one road to that peace!  He only has to crunch down a few more brambles and briars, be a bearer of peace to others there,  and he will find it…

The  promised harvest of righteousness.

Peace… such peace… is falling from the skies as I complete my drawing, slip it into a gallery frame and trade it out with a more Christmasey one I have up at the bookshop for the next month… White, fluffy, gentle swirl of peace.

It whispers over the world outside my window… Remember the Promise.   Take it in your hands as My Gift and hold it up against fears… worry… he who would try to devour.   I have won it for you, but you have to take it from My Hands and pass it on, to keep the harvest flowing…      

Later, it falls softly round my shoulders as  I uncover this utterly entrancing poem by William Butler Yeats online…

From another long ago heart looking for and finding quietude, waiting in Trust, for him…

“I WILL arise and go…!” he vows joyously.

The Lake Isle Of Innisfree

I WILL arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honeybee,
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

It is an old story of our human hearts… this seeking such a  place of respite.  A quietude within. Beauty and reassuring glory that reaches into our innermost part where God has crafted this longing… and shown us He has made it part of our inheritance.   One to hold up against the worry, the fear, the unknown that may be slithering into our thoughts right now with a — Ha! Be gone!

For I will rest assured in the “veils of the morning where the cricket sings…
and in a place where ” midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.”

And with Yeats, I will say…

“I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.”

Because… He said so.  And He is not a man that he should lie.  But rather, turns us – though occasionally quake we might — into a people of quiet strength and singers of joy.

.

Yoona Innisfree - Im yoonA Wallpaper (26486277) - FanpopThe “phrase” He seems to have led me to this year, a harvest of righteousness, keeps popping up in unexpected places for me to share here with you…like a crocus appearing out of the snow! 

Today, it came in gentle grays and soft whites and ink black lines of watching an image emerge on my sketching paper… each time, amazing me anew with the wonder of what God can do through us!

This, I thought – this must be just an inkling of how it is to breathe forth new life…  An inkling He has put in each of us, gift after gift after gift…   In children of our lives.  In music, words… and whatever “art” He has put in you…

SO… I’d love it if you’d join me here at my art gallery site, just to take a peek and let me know what this “Quiet Man” makes you think of...  🙂

Memorable Movie Moments We Cherish

and also here

From Vintage and Family Photos

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

The story behind why I chose to draw THIS portrait…

     I can’t say I’ve ever watched the entire film that inspired this drawing of yesterday.  I think I just haven’t been able to get into the plot.  But there is breathtaking light in the photography of this glorious place Yeats wrote about that always stirs me to view a bit of it when it is playing…

I had simply been searching online for a photo of an Irishman sporting one of those wonderful caps –– just wanting to capture that quaint charm, a rugged face,  on paper. Then, finding this snapshot that I used as my model — well, it just spoke of STORY to me. Much more than a famous person – I can’t even say I was really trying to make it resemble him as much as to capture a look of Ireland that I love…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sharing with:

Susan Mead at #DanceWithJesus  Deb Wolf at #FaithandFriends, Kelly – Cheerleaders of Faith , Jaime Wiebel at #SittingAmongFriends and Holley Gerth at #CoffeeForYourHeart

Faith-Filled Friday

Blessing Counters 

Friendship Friday

http://womenwithintention.com/    Women with Intention

21 Days of Rest: Finding Spiritual Whitespace  #OneWordCoffee Wednesday

Three Word Wednesday

http://tsuzanneeller.com     Live Free Thursdays

http://www.janncobb.com/ Saturday Share & LinkUp

paint party
About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to When you’re looking for peace that drops softly from the morning…

  1. Anna Smit says:

    Oh Pam, these words: both yours and Yeats’ are so full of beautiful Hope. I’ve been doing a series on Hope and in unwrapping it as a gift, I’ve seen it reflect what you share here: our Gift, our Strength that leads us onward, even in and through our quaking and breaking to, shining out His Light in the Love, Joy and Peace that pours within and out of us, until we meet Our Life itself, Our Lord and Saviour, who will be revealed fully in all His Glory as we, His harvest of righteousness, behold His Face, surrounded by those He has gathered in through the Hope shining within and through us.

    So, I will join you and Yeats in saying:

    “I will arise and go now, for always night and day
    I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core.”

    Oh yes, I hear it there too…and what a Gift it is.

  2. Anita Ojeda says:

    When I’m in the midst of a class full of hormonal 7th and 8th graders, I am certainly drawn to the idea of peace on the shores of an Irish lake! I love filling up with beautiful words and pictures so that in moments of stress, I can take a ‘flash vacation’, breathe deeply and feel restored. Thank you for filling my tank :).

  3. Eileen says:

    At this time in my life, I long for that peace that you have described. For the world is not always kind, and the world is so much of the time full of noise, and unrighteousness, and confusion. Yet in our God, there is always PEACE. He IS our only peace. For my first degree, I was an English major, and I remember reading the beautiful words of Yeats, and I am Irish, so being able to see your displayed photos of green grass and meadows, reminds me of Ireland, the place of my roots. Thank you so much, for that, Pam! Places in nature, of great beauty and solitude, can bring peace and healing. And most especially, our Lord Jesus brings us peace! Your friend- Eileen

    • I understand how you are feeling, Eileen. Have you ever considered trying a new place to live, especially now in this time of life, somewhere less city and noise? I would love to visit Ireland and England someday. C’s has family relatives in Ireland and they’ve been able to visit – sounds so beautiful. These photos whisk me away too! Such peace in this kind of beauty. Yes, our greatest peace is truly in Him wherever we are!

  4. I love poetry, especially the kind that takes my mind to somewhere beautiful. My favorite season is winter. I find it so peaceful with the whiteness of snow, much time spent in quietness, and the lack of business. Well written! I’m going to enjoy following your.

    • I agree… I am always attracted to poetry about the beauty of landscape, like Wordsworth too. Thank you, Satisfied Spirit! I’m so glad you are enjoying these posts! I enjoy the winter too as long as roads aren’t too hard to navigate… 🙂 Right now the snow is falling big and fluffy outside my window, like in a movie to me (since I didn’t grow up with snow) and so so beautiful, peaceful. Winter wonderland. Fall is my favorite…breathtaking with all the vibrant colors.

  5. Carol says:

    So enjoyed the description of your art and the poem by Yeats. We long for the peace that passes all understanding–and God has given us great beauty in nature that quiets our soul. Thank-you for a little walk through the emerald beauty of ireland.

  6. Karen says:

    Thankfully I found you on the blog hop today. This message, both yours and Yeats, was the message I needed today amidst my chaos. What comfort these words have given~ a sense of renewal and hope. Looking around now at all I have to do, I can sigh and think of the PHYSICAL peace that will be created when I am complete, matching my soul’s peace. Your artwork is stunning.
    I am now following and look forward to reading more.
    Karen
    http://wanderlust-wishlist.blogspot.com/

    • That means so much to know that this blessed you this way, Karen! Sometimes I think I’m overdoing it with all the linkups, but then God puts us in the right place to bless others at the right time! Thank you for your encouraging words on my artwork… I really mean this when I say that a few years ago I was not drawing like this (actually hadn’t done much in all the years when work took all my time). It just feels like God is enhancing my ability… so I’m praying for open doors to doing something with this full time. 🙂 I’m going to post one a little later today that I just drew yesterday… a little girl and her horse. I think this is one of my favorites and just stand amazed at God in showing me how to make it come alive… I will post it there under “From vintage and family photos…” if you want to take a peek… 🙂 Thank you for following too!! I’ll be by to your site too…

  7. Pingback: Quiet is a photo that draws you in to beauty… | Writing… Apples of Gold

  8. Well, Pam, this post has *my* name written all over it!!!!!! I love it. I long for peace, as do we all, and it’s been a rough time, having lost my dear childhood friend (and who was my Matron of Honor) to early onset Alzheimer’s disease. Barb was just a year older than I and looked as if she were in her nineties. I know that this dementia-ridden disease atrophied the brain, but I didn’t realize how it aged the body. She died a slow, torturous death. I have the one sure hope that she is at peace now with her Jesus. That does bring me comfort, b/c her life here was hell. This post also speaks to me about the movie The Quiet Man–one of my favorites. I wondered if you were referencing it at first, b/c you didn’t say. I would encourage you to watch the whole movie. It’s a delight. And we actually visited Guinness Castle in ’81, where it was filmed. We went out onto the lake and Michael fished in the same stream as Father Lonnergon (sp? Don’t have time to look up the spelling). It is a breathtaking place. and we met Mr. Stephen Lydon (then in his 70’s, so likely not still alive). He was the “extra” in the movie w/ Wayne, and he wore the big overalls. He didn’t have a speaking part, but he’s very identifiable in the film. His house was also used in the movie. At any rate, his claim to fame was that he was in a movie w/ the Duke, and he used to lure the American tourists into conversation and a ride in his little handcrafted dinghy on Lough Corrib. We loved it, and he even made tea for us on his boat in the middle of the lough! 🙂 We have a little A-frame cabin in MO, and its name is Innisfree, after the movie, because we see it as a place of peace and refuge. I feel as if the weight of the world drops from my shoulders whenever I drive through the gates to the property. I have a guest book, where I write about why we call this Innisfree and have also carefully copied Yeats’s poem into it. When I read it years ago, it confirmed that I had named the cabin the right thing. And there is a nearby lake too. 🙂 This is a beautifully written piece about peace, and I thank you for always bringing such hpe and encouragement to us, your faithful readers. We LOVE ALL YOU WRITE and draw! Oh, and thanks so much for telling me about your friend’s blog. I really enjoyed readin g it.
    Love
    Lynn

    • I am so so sorry about your loss of your dear friend, Lynn. I know exactly how it feels to lose someone so close so young… and also to see the ravages of dementia. I’m not sure how much the person themselves realizes of it though, so we can trust that God somehow made it easier for her than we know. I am praying for your comfort in it all.

      I thought I remembered that you loved that movie. At first I didn’t mention it by name because I was trying to get people to go to the link of my drawing of it and then figure it out…. 🙂 But then I just figured I’d say it. I never put that together with the name of your cabin… I love that story about how you named it. And this poem…beautiful! Somehow I never can get into the movie because of all the fighting with Maureen O… But I will have to try and watch it all the way through. I love the actor who plays the priest – and all the scenery in the movie is gorgeous. What special memories you have from being there in person, meeting that actor etc. Thanks for sharing all that!

      Peace flow over your weekend! Love, Pam

      • Thank you for such loving words PAm. They really comfort me. And yes, I am hoping that not only did she not know her mind was gone (how horrible would that be and to know you are trapped in the cage of your body!!!), but that in the secret place of her soul, spirit to Spirit, she was actually communing w/ Jesus. at least I know she is now…plus free from that hell-hole nursing home and her body cage. Praise God! I’m happy for Barbie now, though sorely grieving her loss. And turning an abrupt corner, I do hope you will watch the movie. The fighting is stylized and not meant at all to be brutal. Mike actually leant it to women at work who hated it and found it brutal and Chauvinistic, but I think they were not undrsttanding the stylized nature of it, the era of the fifties, and also how much Sean and Mary Kate loved each other. It’s a gem of amovie, artistically filmed, funny, endearing. I’d encourage yu to give it another go. And yes, Ward Bond, as the priest is great. Sorry for typos. very rushed. am decluttering paper today and it will take my lifetime.
        Lvoe you so much, and thanks for the beauty, grace, and peace you cont’ly offer here.
        xxoo
        lynni

      • Yes… those nursing homes. Ugh. The joy of her “now” though is beyond our comprehension…and wipes away all tears…That’s what comforts me about my parents too.

        I know what you mean about “stylized”… Have you ever seen “The Long Gray Line” with Tyrone Power and Maureen O’Hara? It’s based on a true Irishman named Marty Maher, though not sure how much was fictionalized for the movie. It is one of my absolute favorites. In this one, there’s some of that same scrapping tone between Maureen and Tyrone, but the love between them is immense. Tyrone does a fabulous job with the accent and character… Such a touching, beautiful story. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it. And it is on DVD… I was able to get it. Knew it from when I fell in love with it as a child. Yes, love Ward Bond. I always think of him from a sweet bit part in Wonderful Life too… I was also thinking that the Irishman from Going my way was in it too…Barry Fitzgerald..but maybe not. Love him too…

  9. Pam, After a week of linking up, I would always see your blog picture for this week and be so drawn to it! It was like I wanted to go there, be there. And then today, I finally clicked it on and was happy to see it was YOUR blog post!

    The poem you shared is absolutely beautiful! I found myself reading over and over again the following
    “I will arise and go now, for always night and day
    I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core.”

    Oh the perfect peace that awaits us in Heaven. May we all have eyes to see and ears to hear all the hints of God’s Heavenly Glory around us.

    I always leave your blog feeling refreshed! 🙂

  10. Simply said, this is a wonderful post

  11. Dea Lenihan says:

    Such lovely words–soothing and motivating at the same time. I have always wanted to go to Ireland–having an Irish husband and of course son makes me want to see where his family came from. This Russian girl needs a new view! Thanks for this lovely post. xo

    • I’ve always wanted to go there too… and to England. Someday for both of us! 🙂 I don’t have any Irish or English relatives (though I do have friends of that heritage) but have always been attracted to those lands… I just added a new category to my art site called “The Luck of the Irish” because I couldn’t resist drawing a little Irish girl wearing her green… 🙂 So glad you enjoyed this post, Dea! Thank you for letting me know… xo

Leave a Reply

