The Pause that Refreshes

Digital Camera

“…He refreshes my soul.”

Psalm 23:3

The March Lion is on the roar this day before St. Patrick’s.   Stalking and strutting my neighborhood like a huge cat with bravado air. Whipping and snapping his tail round.  Knocking off branches… clattering a decorative metal piece off my porch with a bang.

Blustering of tornado-speed winds with a rushing-rivers sound, and jingle-jangling constantly, anxiously, through wind chimes.

Making me feel like hunkering down, cocooning within.

But, sitting as with steaming cuppa between my hands, I take a pause that refreshes.  Not with a cola drink famous for that saying… but with the King who reminds me He is my Shepherd who refreshes my soul.  And hunkering down is not what He calls.

Like the March Lion, so many voices of anger and hateful words have been roaring round our world lately.   Snarky, insidious whispering lies and threatening of depression settling in.  Be afraid.  You’re never going to come out of this.  Things are black and getting blacker.   Ha!  What makes you think peace and safety can win????

“Lord,” we plead,  “When will You answer?”

“The answer is there when you stop pronouncing the fear!” comes the Voice above all voices as I listen for His.  “Sweep out these lying thoughts before they turn into your words!”  He explains.   “Then you will be ready to receive the refreshing you are crying out for.  The refreshing I already won for you… 2,000 years ago.

“I will to refresh you for more than a pause.  I will to bring restoration that returns what the locust has stolen from you…and double.  Puts you on a new and green pasture path.  Lavishes my Blessings on you at My table set before your enemies.   Drives the snake out of the land of your living here and now…

“It was finished and already belongs to my own.  But my people perish for lack of understanding…

Let Me refresh your spirit with Victorious inheritance in My Righteousness.  You are not meant to sit back and take the enemy’s strikes.  Raise up My Sword [Word]!  Hold up My shield of FAITH!  Not in trying to muster up believing… but in taking on MY GOD FAITH and laying claim to it as your own!  Say My Word to the enemy – ‘I stand in the Lord’s righteousness, I have the God-faith.  Because of Jesus living in me, you have no rights over me and mine!’

“My refreshing enables you to walk in shoes of Peace, fasten my Belt of Truth, put on My Righteousness…and take the battle with My Banner held high, the words of My Psalmist Songs on your lips…”

Ah… March will go out like THE Lamb… comes a thought, whispery of Easter promise, round the edscan0001ges of this moment.

And the image of Irish Eyes smiling on this eve of a day celebrated for remembrance of one who drove out the snakes from Emerald Isle…   it speaks to me today of the Lord’s refreshing to keep our cups ever-flowing with light and joy from within.  Streams of living water that shine from the windows of our soul…  and remind us He has driven out the snake who has no power over those who stand-made-righteous in the Lord’s Righteousness…

Blessings to you today… blessings of walks along His lovely green pastures… of feasting at His table… of above and beyond restoration for all you’ve lost at the enemy’s hand!  And may His Words rise up on your tongue and sing of His Victorious Right Hand like sunshine upon your shoulder!

Irish shamrock for St Patricks Day

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pen and Ink Little Irish Lass… Ask about print available from my The Luck of the Irish collection at pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com (Picture It in Pen and Ink!).   (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

Photos: mine.

 

Sharing with:

http://womenwithintention.com/    Women with Intention

21 Days of Rest: Finding Spiritual Whitespace  #OneWordCoffee Wednesday

Three Word Wednesday

http://tsuzanneeller.com     Live Free Thursdays

paint party

 

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Meditations on Psalm 23. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Pause that Refreshes

  1. Pam, I rejoice in the incredible gift that the Lord has blessed you with, not only in your amazing artwork, but in how you “paint your words”; so poetic and beautiful, filled with Truth and light, and honor to our God and King.

    You and your blog are such a blessing to me. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Karen. I am feeling a bit amazed at how God is suddenly enabling me to create artwork to be so much more than I used to do.

      That’s so what I want to do – paint with words that show His glory. I’m so glad to know this blesses you today! 🙂

  2. Eileen says:

    Jesus said that fear is useless. All we need do is trust- trust in Him. God created the world, and it is His. And we are His. And all of the world’s craziness, and evil, are not part of God’s kingdom, or His plans for us. God has better plans for us. He created a world, where He intends the lion to lie down with the lamb, and where we, His people, will live in peace. No matter what the world throws at us in this age, God is FAR BIGGER than the world, and God will be the Victor. Thank you, Pam, for reminding us of this, and that the Word of God is the powerful weapon we need to use, against the enemy. Praise be to God!

    • So true, Eileen… but fear does seem to grip at times. Constantly keeping us giving it to Him, though… 🙂 Just so beautiful that He wants to give us His own “faith” to lean into… that it isn’t just us trying, because the Holy Spirit is the one who brings us faith to believe and trust…. Thanks!

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, I’m just in awe of this post, and it’s not because I’m Irish. 🙂 I’m so weighed down with all the raucousness and bellicosity on TV, in presidential rallies, on social media (be glad you’re not reading it), and even in traffic as people honk and scream and vulgarly gesture people on the highways and bi-ways of America. That March Lion wind you describe is nothing in comparison to the hellish hurricane that is barreling through our civility and sanity, shredding it to pieces. I need a place of refreshment, an oasis, a refuge. And this is such a sweet reminder of our gentle Savior. Ps. 23 took on new meaning to me when, in 2011, Sheridan and I visited the Czech Republic. We asked for safety on our journey, and the Lord reminded me that He was (is!) our Shepherd, and that He would winnow our path. I’m glad to be reminded of this again. My Irish eyes are smiling.
    Happy St. Paddy’s Day.
    Love
    Lynn
    PS your drawing is wonderful…. so sweet and innocent.

    • Yes… your description is so real to life. This week, God is impressing me how He wants to revive us out of that… and that it starts with us, His own, declaring His word like Psalm 23 over it all. Asking Him to move on all the hearts out there that are being led by an opposite spirit… speaking His truth and life over them and all of us. I LOVE how you did that on your trip with Sheridan, and how He reminded you in that way. So beautiful… and love that wording… winnowed your path. He wants us to be “co-winnowers” I think, of that truth. You make my :Irish eyes” smile too! 🙂 Happy St Paddy’s day to you too! And so glad you like this drawing. Had to draw this one the minute I saw a similar photo. . 🙂 Her endearing expression grabs the heart… xo

  4. pamecrement says:

    Hi Pam! Happy to be your neighbor at the linkup at Tell His Story! What a wonderful nudge to get to the important things and listen to His voice. Nothing refreshes quite so much as that and few things are harder to keep a fence around so that it is not interrupted or disrupted. (I also agree that a great cup of coffee or tea is a great addition!) Blessings on your day and the life with Him you so ably describe!

    • Hi Pam! So true… the greatest refreshment is sitting with Him, though sometimes it seems I do everything but… So many things taking up our time I’m wanting to keep that fence around that time with Him each day, as you say! Blessings to you too!

  5. Krista says:

    Hello Pam! I am your neighbor at #onewordcoffee and oh my goodness your post absolutely blessed my socks off! Such confirmation I’ve received from your words this evening. 🙂
    I just went through The Armor of God bible study and it was amazing. After a couple of rough days, your word reminded me of who is in me and the armor is supposed to be used at all times.
    Thank you so much! May God richly bless your ministry.

    • It’s so easy to lose sight of that, or just even forget about it in the midst of life, isn’t it? I am trying to make it a daily ritual of putting on that armor, covering in His Blood… I was praying about something to write today and these words just seemed to come. So grateful to know they blessed you too, Krista! Blessings to you too!

  6. Leigh Ellen says:

    Thank you for sharing! Keep writing friend.

  7. Anna Smit says:

    Amen!! This especially: “Not in trying to muster up believing… but in taking on MY GOD FAITH and laying claim to it as your own! Say My Word to the enemy – ‘I stand in the Lord’s righteousness, I have the God-faith. Because of Jesus living in me, you have no rights over me and mine!’”

    So glad I dropped by again today. Thank you for your encouragement, Pam. BTW what a beautiful piece of art with that little girl: the tilt of her head and her eyes especially.

  8. Your post is so uplifting and beautiful! Happy PPF!

  9. Dea Lenihan says:

    Lovely post–I love the drawing of the little Irish lass. xo

    • Thank you, Dea! So glad you love this one… it’s one of my favorite drawings too. I hope you’ll click over to my art blog to browse my drawings there too… pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com You might enjoy “The Luck of the Irish” link there… 🙂

Leave a Reply

