Alleluias ringing, in the windmills of your mind

The Son is the radiance of God’s Glory, and the exact representation of His being, sustaining all things by His powerful word.

~ Hebrews 1:3 NIV

.

The fickle morn opens the day with a hand-blown kiss of sun, then fades to cloud cover-gray.   There is but a touch of warmth in the breeze on the snow-free path beyond my bungalow door.  Yet, in my kitchen, a buttercup bouquet of daffodil and bell-like blossoms rises my spirit — sunlight! — waiting to surprise me afresh in crisp white porcelain pitcher.

“What kind of blooms are these?” I’d inquired at the market the day before.  If they were what I thought,   I’d only ever seen them in white… 

“Freesia,” she confirmed.  “Aren’t they fun?”

Mm…More than fun.  Together with the daffodils in my hand, they were like grace and loveliness out of foggy gloom.  The perfect breath of hope I wanted to bring to a grieving and lonely friend… with a small leftover for me.

Something in them stirred me to thoughts of quaint village cottages and walks in meadows where I might pick them in wildly growing profusion for the basket on my arm — fill my home with their fragrance and somehow… capture some bit of heaven’s wonder, ephemeral as a snowflake on my eyelashes…

So I snipped some into a lovely green and white bunny toile bowl (I LOVE Home Goods finds!) to walk over to my friend…

And held a portion of fresh picked glory for my own counter space…

Digital Camera

Today, when I leave the shelter of the house, I carry them with me in imagination, set my foot to walking as though with D.E. Stevenson, upon Scotland brae.   In my mind, the gray has peeled back to reveal great white clouds… like the length of a wedding veil trailing shadow up and over bare hills.  A cardinal swoops to a still empty branch, amid birdsong from it’s unseen comrades round me.  I envision the woolly sheep dotting the hillsides.  There are clouds and clouds of frilly white and butter yellow daffodils stirring waves across these fields, and I spot a gray bunny dash into the brush.

I think of such fields as I’ve seen on P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home (PBS), the breathless sort of magic in coming upon masses and masses of white and yellow daffodils oh so gently swaying like billows on the sea, far as the eye can go…  The kind of magic that tastes of wonder and forms your mouth to an “O”…  And makes the light and air about you seem fragile as a dream…

 

 

When into my flight of literary fancy, one word breezes… light as these gentle blooming bells…   Alleluia.

Last year at this time, life was overwhelming on many levels.  This Easter there are other reasons for loneliness… faith-stretching hanging onto the Word, keeping it on my lips and tongue… and trusting because You said so, Lord. 

But alleluias are ringing… and like Jesus to the woman with the issue of blood, I hear him urging us to trust and hold His Words close… “Go, your faith has made you whole… walk free of the plague!”  Or to the father of a twelve year old girl given up for dead, “Do not be afraid, only believe…”  Or to the disciples…See what blessing a few fish and loaves can do

To you… to me.

Does it seem impossible?

Only believe.

I’m reminded of a story post I shared last year…  The words of one character to another…

“ ‘Are you going up the hill?” inquires Todd.  “It’s a nice walk on a breezy afternoon…and if you’re lucky you may see some fun…’

And of the wonder and touch of Glory that came next.  (You can read that here… In the Splendour of the Hills… and I hope you’ll click over to taste this delight that I am positive came out of the author’s true life experience! )

Joy and wonder.  Merrily, merrily, merrily merrily… Let us carry them over our arms, in our baskets, up over the hill…expectantly.  Alleluias are ringing.  Calling us to singing them out… For He is waiting, radiant with Glory, to sustain us by His powerful Word.

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Reminder! 🙂

Morning RoomSpecial FREE SHIPPING  and Sale over at my Picture it in pen and ink! site –

your 9×12 choice of my drawings… with savings that could total @ 15 off…

Click here to read more about it…    A Little Communiqué Spot 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Photos – Daffodils and Freesia, mine.  All others from P. Allen Smith’s Garden Home.

Sharing with:

   Beauty in His Grip Button Teaching What Is Good

http://womenwithintention.com/    Women with Intention

21 Days of Rest: Finding Spiritual Whitespace  #OneWordCoffee Wednesday

Three Word Wednesday

http://tsuzanneeller.com     Live Free Thursdays

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Lenten Vespers. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Alleluias ringing, in the windmills of your mind

  1. Eileen says:

    Pam, I have the same exact bunch of daffodils as, you, on my kitchen counter, that my sisters Pat, and Betty, gifted me with a few days ago. Only yours are in a white pitcher, and mine are in a crystal vase. Betty had given them to me, as a plain bunch of green stems, with only one of the small green buds, slightly open. The directions said to snip off the last one inch of the stems, which I did, and place them in water. The next morning, when I entered my kitchen, all of the yellow daffodils had burst forth, into full bloom. The flowers had been hidden, much like Christ in the tomb, but then the next day, they burst forth into yellow splendor, as Jesus had burst forth from the tomb on Easter morn. I am enjoying their resurrection beauty, still. Thank you for sharing your same lovely Easter bouquet, with me. Love, Eileen

    • How beautiful, Eileen! I love your metaphor on resurrection! I mixed mine with some yellow freesia, which you may not be able to distinguish in the picture. Today, the freesia are hanging down a little so you can really see their bell like shape. Daffodils are so beautiful… like tulips, gone too soon in the season. But seeing them in fields like I did on that TV program is so uplifting… I wish I could have a field of them surrounding my home. A beautiful gift from your sisters! Thanks for sharing about your own Easter bouquet!

  2. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam your posts are always so uplifting (and artfully arrayed as well), and most important, they always impart hope as bright and compelling as sun-drenched daffodils. There are really such happy flowers, aren’t they? I’m sorry for some real difficulties you’ve encountered, and I also admire your ability to cling to the Lord in hope and to realize this hpe in such tangible ways, AND to share it with others. Your hope just can’t be contained in a budvase, but floods hearts’ meadows across the Internet. I’m so grateful for you. And I love Allen. You should send this to him!
    Love
    Lynni

    • Lynn, you don’t know how happy it makes me when you say that. I try to keep upbeat but at the same time let people know that I still have challenges like everyone else…and how the Lord strengthens and restores! Been listening all afternoon to a teaching I ordered on CD about the Name of Jesus being our strong tower and it is rising my faith in the Word so much! I think that is what it really is… how God says faith comes from hearing the Word, same with hope and all you said. That’s what I want to do here… and to hopefully write lyrically in the doing of it. Because music in words or in sound touches so deeply to our spirits. Bright Yellow is not really a favorite decorating color of mine and I think I love the white and yellow daffodils the most, but these flowers (and the freesia!) just exude sunshine, yes!! I never saw Allen until last year when I was taking care of Dad… but how uplifting those shows were in the hospital and at home. Now I have a station that runs them sometimes and I am watching here too. Not sure of what he’d think of all I say here though… but I do love the way he’s created that farm and all the beautiful touches. Would love to visit it sometime.

      • lynndmorrissey says:

        Oh yes, always inspiring, but you mention trials too. BUT through Christ and His Word He enables you to overcome them. Like you, I hear music in words constantly. I’ll change a word just b/c of its rhythm ofttimes. Funny about yellow. My childhood room was lemon yellow…really intense. I can’t bring myself to use it at home. 🙂 But I love jonquils.

      • I had a lemon yellow dress I LOVED when I was about 11… and I do add touches of yellow in home. But yellow is just a hard color to be predominant in home. My living room walls were bright yellow when I bought home, but I immediately had them painted. It was just putrid looking to me at certain times of the day… But I do like pastel yellow with white on a house outside… I agree about rhythm om words… I do the same. 🙂

  3. lynndmorrissey says:

    Love your little clock and saying in it. My friend, author Rachel St. John-Gilbert, humor writer and sister of Becky (Freeman) Johnson, another friend of mine, always says you have to be really careful what you say around her entire family. They’re all writers, and anything you say is fair game and just might end up in one of their books!

    • I love that too! Can’t recall where I found it… and now that you mention it, I’m not sure why it says I need to “reconfigure in my widgets” — I can’t figure out what it needs me to do. But at least it is still showing up here! 🙂 I always try to incorporate real life stuff from other people in a way that doesn’t really identify them, but sometimes it isn’t easy! 🙂

  4. Laura Hicks says:

    What a great hope filled message.

  5. Carrie says:

    What a lovely post! I adore those daffodils in the simple pitcher – a beautiful sign of spring and new beginnings! Blessings!

  6. Eaghl says:

    It is wonderful how most of our PPF posts are welcoming spring. Love all the flowers.

Leave a Reply

