Treasures and blessings

Moira-ballet pose

Piglet: “How do you spell love?” Pooh: “You don’t spell it, you feel it.”   ~  A.A. Milne

.

It never gets humdrum, the delight of  reaching into your mailbox and finding it stuffed with a completely unanticipated package addressed from a friend.   A gift for no reason other than someone thinking of you.  This day, it was a beautifully illustrated inspirational book of children, falling open from the wrap and into my hands…

“Because I know you enjoy drawing children,” she explained by note.   Telling how she’d come across it in a second time around store, in perfect condition… fallen in love with it, then decided to pass it on to me.

She couldn’t have known I had a couple of photos of two small ones I love on my dining room table cum overflowing artist nook, just calling to my itching fingers… at that very moment.  (This one above – drawn from a year-old Christmas photo where this darling was sitting back in her daddy’s arms in such endearing pose! – had been playing round the edges of my thoughts for a long time now…)

She couldn’t have known what the Holy Spirit would seem to be whispering as I smoothed  pencil across this sweet-faced angel’s cheeks…watched as He wondrously brought forth her genuine likeness beneath my fingers.  (I still find it hard to believe that I’m actually able to capture these faces on paper… I never used to draw this fine-tuned, and am continually struck with how it is truly Him, bringing forth the work of my hands in a new and refreshed way, even leading this self-taught artist to ‘discovering’ the softening touch of graphite pencil mixed with pen and ink and it’s transforming look…)

I’m going to stir blessing out of these childhood portraits…  both for you, and for those I bring to you to illustrate the children of their hearts…  because my Light radiates from  these little ones so fresh from my arms…

Image result for jessie willcox smith illustrations  Image result for jessie willcox smith illustrations  Image result for jessie willcox smith illustrations

I thought then of all those vintage Good Housekeeping artists who used to paint childhood in such classic warmth…Artists who bless ME that way.  Favorites of mine, like Jessie Willcox Smith (above) and Bessie Pease (below).

Image result for bessie pease illustrationsImage result for bessie pease illustrationsImage result for bessie pease illustrations

“They must have  employed the children who peopled their lives as their drawing models, too, didn’t they, Lord?” I thought wonderingly… thinking of one in particular who appeared in one pose or another in so many of Smith’s illustrations and the blond-ringleted cherub in many of Pease’s.

I wondered if the public back in these artist’s  time used to love and frame their work the way so many people do today…  I have a few of them in my own home and think of those that hung in homes of friends too, especially a few years back when they were decorating nurseries and dining nooks beside high chairs with these timeless portraits of childhood…

Because I can envision this particular new drawing of mine (up top), framed and hanging in any little girl’s bedroom, I wanted to leave it as it is here, without inscription – a portrait illustration of Childhood and innocence.  For it would be a special delight to have people want this print for their own homes… like I have of Smith’s and Pease…

But…it was then that a fresh idea began forming inside me, like clay in the Potter’s hands…

Moira-ballet pose with wordsFor family who love and know this little one, I could also do a version where I inscribe her name and the inspirational meaning behind it below the portrait…make it a signature heirloom kind of gift that preserves a story moment in her life like a classic storybook illustration… I had done this a few years ago as a gift for another child of my heart…

Might not this be the kind of keepsake treasure parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles would love of their own? 

This little gal reminds me of her once-ballerina mom here, raising her arms in such spontaneous repose… so I added in the sweet slippers by her name.

But in the up curve of her arms...more likely just a camera shy moment 🙂  — another dear memory comes wafting back…  Of a time when I was holding her mom who was just such an age, and she lifted her arms seemingly out of the blue to begin singing a song of sweet praise to her Lord…

Mm… those are the kinds of remembrances I’d love for you to breathe into these drawings, I said silently to the One speaking this memory into me…

Such is the power of story and illustration… to have and to hold…

In remembrance, I walk through the simply decorated bedroom of my childhood… see again the artwork my mom hung there for me to waken to each morn, and close my eyes to each night…  It’s true, there is a warmth in them that lingers inside me still… like a song that takes you back to a time when the world seemed a bit warmer… simpler…

May you do that in these of my hand, Lord.

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Image result for bessie pease illustrations

 Is there a little one of your heart you can picture in a name portrait, storybook illustration style, from a fun photo?  Looking for an heirloom type of gift for an occasion coming up?

On my art portfolio blog – http://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com — my prices are based on the hours it takes me to draw a particular sized piece.

But please don’t let price put you off…

Since these childhood portraits don’t necessarily fall into a specified size range, I’m thinking there’s room to talk special price by piece!    Image result for clipart heart

Ask about prints of the pen and ink portrait shown in this post as well.

Just email me at pam.depoyan@gmail.com if you’d like to start the conversation!*  🙂

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • U.S. orders only, at this time, thanks

.

Illustrations in color – Jessie Willcox Smith and Bessie Pease

Pen and Ink little girl – Mine, from my Picture It In Pen and Ink blog (https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com/).   Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)

Sharing with:

http://barbieswihart.com/

   Beauty in His Grip Button Teaching What Is Good   Give Me Grace

Imparting Grace

Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox

 Soul Survival

Reflect His Love & Glory   What Joy is Mine Monday Musings

Me,Coffee & Jesus

Testimony Tuesday

SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS – @SPIRITUAL SUNDAYS

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Treasures and blessings

  1. Beautiful! Love the beautiful drawing of the precious little girl. I had never thought about what was in my bedroom as a child, but this drawing would be a blessing to wake up and go to sleep seeing. So positive and sweet…many blessings to you!

    • Thank you, Beth! I think I was always attracted to those classic illustrations in children’s books, even as a kid. The pictures in my room were dimestore, I’m sure, but I think we attach nostalgia to what we grow up with too… If you ever hear of anyone who is looking for art like this or wants a portrait from a photo, please pass on the info… 🙂 Many sweet blessings to you too!

  2. welcomesue says:

    art is one of God’s better ideas – lovely work. you might enjoy perusing hyattmoore.com and his wife, annesprints.com – my brother and his wife’s work – also some of God’s better ideas! blessings! next to you at faithbarista this am

  3. happytiler says:

    Beautiful drawing and writing. I had many large Pease prints in my home several years ago. People even gifted me ones they knew I didn’t have. I’ve never seen the center one you have posted there! I too love the faces of these adorable children…You did a great job! You could make a book of them…Best of luck with the commissions!!

    Hugs Giggles

  4. Michelle says:

    I use to love looking at those vintage babies. I still every now and then find one in an antique shop.

  5. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    You have an amazing talent! The little girl drawing is amazing. I have a drawing of my son a friend did for me when substituted in my class year ago. That drawing is in my living room in the corner with a few portraits my husband took of my now 16 year old when he was little. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

  6. Pingback: Storyspinning in Art and Words | Writing… Apples of Gold

Leave a Reply

