Give us this day

branches amd bird

The other day, a minister reminded me of the Father’s song of love and blessing winging over and through us in the Aaronic Blessing of Numbers 6.   It is easy to skim over the well-known words in our Bible… He makes his face to shine upon us…never fully cognizant of the richness encrypted in those words.  But what if it is meant to be God walking in our Garden with us… as He did with Adam…face to face?

Listening to this man’s words brought back something I copied into my prayer journal a couple of years ago.

At that time, I’d been watching a New Testament-believing rabbi who explained the original Hebrew meaning behind the words of the Aaronic Blessing and I wanted to note his words.

Re-reading these today, I am overwhelmed with the Beauty and Wonder and Glory of our Father.  They make me see in my mind a picture of God like any dad, kneeling down to his beloved child with a sparkle of anticipation in his eye.  A dad who is holding out tailored just for his child’s delight and wellbeing gifts he can’t wait for his little one to take from his hands and open.

I confess to “forgetting” about praying these wondrous words and now want to make them part of my every day devotion…

scan0002

In thinking that, I suddenly felt a nudge to share them here with you today.

Picture yourself like this little one, gazing upon the One who loves you most…  your Abba father… and let these words soak into you.

Write them down to pray each day… a meeting place in the Garden with the Father who is longing to pour forth blessings on us when we come to sit with Him… 

Something the minister today was saying about such daily prayer being so vital – especially in the times we live in today — struck me so strongly…  How we cannot live apart from the Vine  even one moment…

To flourish in heart and mind and spirit and body, break free of fear and depression, walk in His light and grace, O Father pour out Your Blessing on us!  Make your words the meditation of our hearts and spirits throughout every moment of our days!  You leave me incredulous at the depth of Your Heart for us as I see You here  of your blessing.

Hallowed be Thy Name

Thy Kingdom Come.

Thy Will be Done

On earth as it is in Heaven…

Image result for clipart of olive branch

The Meaning behind Original Hebrew of the Aaronic Blessing:

Yaweh, my God who exists!

Thank you for your promise to bless me. 

You, my God, kneel before me, presenting me with these gifts:

You guard me with a hedge of protection.

You illuminate the wholeness of Your Being towards me,

bringing order to my body, my prospering, my success and all that I am.

You provide me with Your Love,

with sustenance and friendship.

You lift up the wholeness of Your Being

and look upon me.

You set in place ALL that I need to be WHOLE and Complete.

Image result for clipart of olive branch

Word Meditation: 

The God of all kneels before us, his children.  Not as in awe of us, but in intimacy of Father Love, reaching out face to face.

Encircling guard over us.

He illuminates the wholeness of His Being,

bringing order to our bodies,

all that makes us to walk in His grace and favor and overcoming power in a world otherwise cloaked with darkness.

He sustains us.

He gives us His friendship and all we need to be whole and complete.

This… our daily bread.

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

Bird and baby portraits – Mine, from my Picture It In Pen and Ink blog (https://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com/).   Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Give us this day

  1. welcomesue says:

    love this blessing! thanks so much! near you at tt this morning.

  2. Anna Smit says:

    So, so beautiful, Pam. Thank you for sharing these insights and those beautiful pieces of art. I love that little child’s expression of joy. Gives me such a beautiful picture of God’s Love and its impact on us. I’m going to have to revisit this Scripture.

  3. Kristi Woods says:

    Love, love, LOVE your post, Pam, and artwork. Trials have reared this week. God’s words through you are timely. Deep – precious – savored – timely. Thank you. Hey, we’re neighbors at #thoughtprovokingThursday! So glad.

  4. Pingback: The One-Note Flute | Writing… Apples of Gold

  5. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    This is beautiful! I was so blessed reading this because I needed to be reminded of God’s love for me and my family at the moment. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays. I hope to see you again next week.

  6. Kristin Hill Taylor says:

    Thanks for linking up at #ThreeWordWednesday.

  7. Simply beautiful thoughts about our loving Father. I’ll be pondering this for quite a while. Thank you for sharing it with us at Grace & Truth!

Leave a Reply

