The One-Note Flute

Digital Camera

Martha Washington Geraniums, Gracing My Front Porch

 The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word.

~ Hebrews 1:3 [NIV] – My new favorite verse

.

The gentle spring breeze is stirring up birdsong as I pull my wicker chair to the drive, settle with my prayer journal for a bit of sun.  Over here, a smattering of twittering. There, one insistently calling yoohoo!   Another, as if playing his one-note flute, over and over…

They make me laugh at a memory of an old movie that contrived the composing of Strauss from such feathered symphony.   According to the scene, he’d been riding along in a carriage when a single lilt over here, another over there swirled heart-lifting waltz from his soul to paper.

Listening here and now, I almost believe his story happened just that way.

For in pondering a word study I did the other day on the Name of Jesus, a fresh insight tingles across me, in the uncontainable way a Strauss waltz spins billowing gowns across a ballroom floor.

Oh…my…gosh, Lord, I think as I roll the words of Hebrews 1:3 over again in mind.

Mm…The Name of Jesus,

the radiance of God’s Glory

and the exact representation of His being…

Putting that together with the stunning Hebrew meaning of Numbers 6 that I wrote about here 

You illuminate the wholeness of Your Being towards me,

bringing order to my body, my prospering, my success and all that I am…

I uncover a wondrous, Old Testament-foreshadowing Truth.

“Father,” I say in the sudden hush of my spirit.  “It’s  JESUS (the wholeness of Your Being, Name above all Names under which all else must bow) You are illuminating towards us… isn’t it?  The promised blessing of Numbers, richness upon richness!”

JESUS, the radiance of Your Glory!

The radiance.  The only radiation I want pouring in and over and through me.

In my driveway cathedral, the symphony continues… the one-note flute player rising his song louder and louder.

“Take time to sit with Me everyday – simply soaking quietly in My Presence,” He rejoins then, “and I will suffuse you in the Radiance and Glory of My Being, sustaining and putting all to order within you, in your life, by the One who IS My Powerful Word…”      

I close my eyes and sit back, the warmth of the sun melting as His Light over me.

Yes, Lord… Let the radiant Glory of Your SON put all my being to order, in Your sustaining Word… fresh and deeper every day…making me whole in all my ways…

Digital Camera

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

photos: mine  (If you click on the photo up top, you can see the water droplets on the flowers from where I had just watered…  🙂  )

Sharing with:

Barbie Swihart  Let Us Walk Worthy

Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox

Snippets of Inspiration

Beauty in His Grip Button    Give Me Grace

Thursday Favorite Things

Share Your Cup Thursday

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in One Ribbon at a Time. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The One-Note Flute

  1. lynndmorrissey says:

    Pam, this is breathtakingly beautiful and illuminating. I see His radiance all over this post. And I thnk more often than not, these unfoldings, these insights, these solitary descant notes of insight (clarion calls really) come when we are still and quiet and basking in the sunshine of His love.
    Thank you so much for spreading His light in all you write and do!
    Muchlove
    Lynni

    • Thank you, Lynni… I just tweaked it some more because I wasn’t sure that what I was trying to say was really coming across. Of course Jesus and the Father are One. But this just seemed to speak to me so much. The illumination, Jesus being the RADIANCE of all God’s Glory… God shining his very being into us. His wanting to illuminate us so He puts all to order in us…that really speaks to me and I hope to all who read here. You are right… in the quietness come those “descant notes” and the Holy Spirit enlightens His Word to us in deep ways… Your words bless me too…

  2. Carrie says:

    I loved this…how these truths came to you as you sat in the sunshine! This whole post was a beautiful proclamation and prayer to our Great God! Thank you for sharing!

  3. Eileen says:

    I love your description of the birds, singing, and I love the picture of your lovely geraniums. Recently, I listened to some sharings, online, from various Ministers, and other individuals, who had died, gone to Heaven, and had come back. One of these persons, described that he had been pulled up into Heaven, when he was an eight year old child, still living, and not under the circumstances of death. He said that God showed him Heaven, and then sent him back to earth, because apparently he had much more to do on earth. But getting back to your description of the birds, and your showing us the lovely picture of your flowers, these individuals who had been to, Heaven, had this to say, about such. One person said that the birds communicated in Heaven, with conversation that could be understood by those in Heaven. And that the flowers had a beautiful energy, that hummed. Grass was described as being the GREENEST green that one could ever see, and that when one stepped onto the grass, and then lifted ones foot, the grass would spring up, and would appear perfect, as if never disturbed. The colors of Heaven were described as being SO vibrant and beautiful. And colors were there, that one would never have seen on earth. It appeared as if there was more to the spectrum of colors, in Heaven, than what we have here, on planet earth. We have beautiful nature, on earth, but for those who visited Heaven, and came back, they described nature, there, as being even MORE beautiful- UNBELIEVABLY so! And Jesus, and God the Father, and the Holy Spirit made everything even MORE wonderful and beautiful- their being PRESENT, and in the MIDST of all of this- and being the CREATOR of all of this! We are so blessed, to have God present to us, on this planet, and to experience Him here in His nature, but how much even MORE SO, it will be in Heaven! Praise be to God!

    • Aren’t those geraniums pretty? Wasn’t sure if it is still too chilly here for them, though it has been warming up. Usually our springs start a little later. It is certainly wondrous to contemplate what heaven will be like – how much more vibrant and glorious than even the most spectacular of what we know here. It makes me think too of what the Garden of Eden must have been like before the fall. I have heard that too about the spectrum of colors. My street is abloom with pear blossom trees right now and all those birds singing… a bit of heaven here on earth. 🙂 Blessed and happy Sunday to you, Eileen!

  4. Diane says:

    Oh, Pam….Your heart….how I’ve missed reading your heart….thank you for allowing us a glimpse into your driveway cathedral moments….how beautiful and special it was!

  5. Anna Smit says:

    Pam, thank you for this beautiful Scriptural insight. It’s something I know I’ll be coming back to read and reflect upon. Such a beautiful picture painted here: “Take time to sit with Me everyday – simply soaking quietly in My Presence,” He rejoins then, “and I will suffuse you in the Radiance and Glory of My Being, sustaining and putting all to order within you, in your life, by the One who IS My Powerful Word…”

  6. Alisa says:

    Beautiful poetic words and truth Pam! So glad I stopped by from Monday Musings!

  7. debwilson2 says:

    Pam, I enjoyed the visions you painted with your words. And I love the verse you highlighted. Thanks so much!

  8. I love it when He speaks to us so clearly and tenderly this way. Thanks for sharing this with us, Pam. He is so good to us.

  9. That’s beautiful. Love the Numbers verse. The Old Testament has so many gems. I love studying it.

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    I love this! Just thinking about the radiance of Jesus – amazing! Thank you for this inspiration and linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

  11. Dawn Boyer says:

    Simply melodic as I rest in your words. Thank you for the front row seat to the revelation He filtered through your telling.
    Blessings!
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

