A Blessing Spot

Do you ever find the Presence of the Lord, a flooding of praise and thankfulness, flowing over you each time you come upon a  simple grace or beauty around you?

The sudden burst of spring is one of those moments to me.

The   anticipating of  annual blooming of what I like to term “my trees” – little spots all round town that I’ve discovered over years of neighborhood walks or here, there, where I’ve laid claim to blossom trees of many varieties bursting into color splash.  Some mauve and lacy like willows.  Some full and round blossomed as pink carnations on a tree.  I love returning to look for them each year.   Back again, my beauties, I silently laugh… a bit of Anne Shirley style whimsy in my heart.

And sometimes, I find that wash of simple pleasure in Him just by walking into the space between my dining room and kitchen — in seeing anew, this white and blue treasure above my colonial-inspired sideboard… and pausing there to look up…

It makes me recall how several years ago,  browsing in a local Bombay Company shop specializing in furniture and other decorative pieces of British flavor, I rounded a corner and came face to face with this exquisite piece…and gaped.

The image about 12×12, a print made to look like original oil on canvas, it perched upon an easel  standing in the middle of a wide opening.   To my eyes, it spoke of British paint strokes or perhaps New England…a portrait I’d never come across before.  The kind of masterpiece unearthed from hidden troves of English manors, sweet-faced ancestor oils brought to the BBC version of Antiques Roadshow that always capture me.   Unreasonably, I suddenly felt this one had been waiting just for me.  Like family, at a railroad station.

I’d often traversed the aisles of The Bombay Company for one of a kind occasional tables, uniquely designed brass candlesticks, sconces and other small pieces that made great gifts or added just the panache of English charm I wanted my then apartment to exude.   Though not cheap by any means, most things they displayed were affordable. if not just a slight extravagance.  Now, transfixed by this endearing face, her Pollyanna-entrancing white lace frock, the bright touches of sky blue ribbons throughout, I held my breath.

Something in this child’s expression alternately reminded me of old photos of my mom as a child and at the same time, of my youngest cousin – in her naturally-forming Shirley Temple ringlets, wearing a not so different layered lace dress.  Wandering in upon this painting like a beautiful garden behind a gate…  I simply loved it. 

The  charm.  The innocence and heart the painter captured.  But — I sighed — other artwork in this place had always been so much beyond me.   O Lord, I breathed silently.  Is it possible you could make this one something I could afford?

Turning the price tag, I let my breath out slowly.  For, fully framed in gold and silver molding, the price was… unbelievably… reasonable.  Actually, it flabbergasted me.  Had someone made a mistake?

For you, came a whisper inside me.  A blessing.

Digital Camera

In days when turns of life can seem overwhelming, dark or sorrowful, this is a remembrance on my walls.   When I first bought my new home, I’d immediately placed it here in my mind… months before I moved in.   A decade later, it still wafts over me with fresh breezes of His joy, each and every time I see it…and turns my face, like God’s hands upon my cheek, to blessing Him.

Whenever a distraught spirit over what seems hopeless or frustrating or too sorrowful sets upon me like a wolf, I remember… Giving in to dark thoughts actually feeds the enemy’s lies within us, festering, holding us captive!  It sinks me in a quagmire…with every word I utter to it’s confirming.

Instead and contrary to how we naturally feel…It’s the words of thanksgiving to our God He gives us that disarm the enemy.   O my soul, forget not all His benefits.  He forgives my sins.  He heals me.  He crowns me with beauty and strength…

And so, coming upon this gem in a corner of my home sings into my soul till I have to let it out my mouth…

Thank you, Father, for beauty!  Thank you for making me to see with your eyes…to receive and know blessing in even the simple lights of grace you prepare…just for us.

Thank you for home  For warmth.  For simple gifts in the everyday that lift our hearts to you.

Thank you for turning my lips to praise…to speaking out your promises as truth above and instead of talking how circumstances may present “facts”… and making me to remember to shake off the Deceiver by denying his claims by entering your courts with praise.

I will bless the Lord all my days. 

But – he wheedles – how can you praise when this and this and this are happening?

Get packing!  I purpose in authority of believer, declaring God’s word over all:  Surely Goodness and Mercy follow me all the days of my life.  Because of the Lord, I can say… I am the righteousness of God…and fear has no place in me…

In every moment, let us remind ourselves… His light floods in on wings of blessing His Name, and darkness flees.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

Image result for small clipart flower

Is there a corner of something beautiful, a remembrance spot in your home that makes your heart soar to blessing Him? 

 

He made Christ who knew no sin to [judicially] be sin on our behalf, so that in Him we would become the righteousness of God [that is, we would be made acceptable to Him and placed in a right relationship with Him by His gracious lovingkindness].

~ 2 Corinthians 5:21, amplified

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Painting shown:  Marjorie, age 5 — by Britain Painter, George Hall Neale  1863 -1940

photo: mine

Sharing with:

 

Barbie Swihart  Let Us Walk Worthy

Sunday Stillness with Janis Cox

Snippets of Inspiration

 Soul Survival

Mondays Making Your Home Sing Darling Downs Diaries The Modest Mom The Art of Homemaking Musing Mondays The Beauty in His Grip The Life of Faith Our Home of Many Blessings Mom to Mom Mondays Me, Coffee & Jesus What Joy is Mine
Tuesdays Testimony Tuesdays Purposeful Faith Grammie Time Cornerstone Confessions Tell It to Me Tuesday Rich Faith Rising Intentional Tuesday
Wednesdays A Wise Woman Builds Her Home Coffee for Your Heart Messy Marriage A Little R & R Whole Hearted Home Women with Intention While I’m Waiting Woman to Woman Seeking God in All I Do
Thursdays Hearts for Home Party at My Place Frog’s Lily Pad Life of Scoop Booknificent Thursdays
Fridays Create with Joy Missional Women Grace & Truth Faith & Friends
Saturdays Snippets of Inspiration Word of God Speak
Sundays Spiritual Sundays Raising Samuels Give Me Grace

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Blessing Spot

  1. Pam,

    I was so drawn into the painting before I even read the story behind it! What a blessing it was to hear of how the Lord delighted you at the time of purchase and delights you over and over again as it hangs so beautifully in your home.

    Testimonies in a Believers life come in all shapes and sizes, one no less impactful than the other and all deserving great praise to our God and Father.

    Blessings.

    • Thanks, Karen! I just wanted to hopefully inspire everyone to look for those blessing moments in and around our daily lives… I agree… I think our God is a creator of beauty and there is healing and hope in it. Thanks for sharing your beautiful thoughts! It’s so true… that painting does draw you in. doesn’t it? 🙂

  2. MaryLou says:

    What a beautiful painting and I love the story behind it. I like where you have placed it in your home. I am glad that you were able to purchase it. 🙂

  3. elizabethfstewart says:

    This post blessed me so deeply. There are so many instances where God has blessed me with the desires of my heart, something unnecessary, something I could certainly live without, but He blesses me with it, when I haven’t earned it or deserved it. I love your lovely painting and the reminder it us to you of your good, good Father.

    • I’m so glad this resonated with you, Elizabeth! I feel exactly the same way and was hoping that’s how this came across. He does do that! Its not anything about materialism, but the goodness of our Father’s heart as you said. I think He longs for us to recognize the smallest of blessings in our lives that maybe we just take as coincidence, but are all from His Hand… like any father who takes pleasure in planning surprises for his child… Thank you for letting me know how this blessed you too… 🙂

  4. Lisa Appelo says:

    Pam, I love these personal little love notes from God straight to us. What He does for someone else is so personal and wouldn’t mean the same to me. I hold those really close. So happy to be next door to you today at Three Word Wednesday.

    • I so agree, Lisa. I want to be so more aware of those “love notes” which I do believe He s sending our way constantly… showing His Love in ways we never dreamed, in big and “little” ways… I love how you put that… I hold them close too. Thank you for your words today! 🙂

  5. Judith says:

    Pam, that is beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing about how you found the picture. I loved that God breathed that it was for you!!

    • Thank you, Judith! I think God is showing us how intricately He wants to be a part of our lives, more than just wants or needs even, but just because. Not just things… but gifts of the moment that may pass us by so easily if we aren’t listening or even living expectantly like a child looks to their earthly parent. Thanks for your uplifting words on this…

  6. I’m so thankful that goodness and mercy follow us all of our lives! What a beautiful promise from the Lord, and one that he has the power and the heart to keep (as he does all his promises). I love your attitude: “Back again, my beauties, I silently laugh.” 🙂 Blessings to you!

    • 🙂 A little talking to yourself is good, right? Thanks, Lisa. Yes, just meditating on that promise alone speaks volumes, doesn’t it? I just caught myself confessing aloud to someone that sometimes it seems like we can’t win… and as I walked away felt God remind me to replace that negative colloquialism with truth. (Those lies are so peppered in our talk we don’t even realize, and often just say them to be “funny.” Only not so funny and negate God’s words…) No, I’m followed by goodness and mercy! Blessings to you too!

  7. Valerie says:

    That’s a beautiful description! Such a lovely depiction of God loving us and showing us in special ways that He knows we’ll feel loved by. There’s a picture in my home that my husband had framed for me. It was a calendar picture of Jesus tenderly laying his hand under a sparrow on a tree branch. I was going through infertility at the time and the sparrow was a special sign to me that Jesus cared for me (from the verses in Matthew) and that he did not forget me. Now I have four kids. And that will always be my favorite picture. Thank you for sharing this at #100HappyDays!

    • That’s so beautiful, Valerie! I can envision that picture from your description… and how dearly it marks God’s move in your life. (I have several calendar and greeting card pictures framed in my home too…:) ) God is so good! Thank you for sharing your story here. I love how God speaks to our hearts in even a picture. His Ebenezer stones… Blessings to you today!

  8. Michelle says:

    Such a beautiful painting. Love your description and story here.

  9. Such a lovely post! Thank you for sharing it at SYC! 🙂 Jo

  10. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    I am amazed at how much the little girl looks like my sister did when we were little! love how the Lord blessed you with this painting. Thank you for linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

    • Such a sweet face, isn’t it? She makes me want to pluck her out of the picture and give her a hug. Love the innocence and endearing quality. Love knowing her name too… Marjorie. Popular in it’s time… She seems to remind so many of those we love 🙂 Thanks, Lori!

  11. Carol Cook says:

    Thanks for sharing with SYC.

  12. Jann Olson says:

    Hi Pam, I think it is so easy to see the Lord in so many things if you just look for it! I marvel at his creations in spring time especially as well. The blossoming trees bring me such delight! I can never imagine how anyone could ever believe there to be no God! Thanks for sharing this wonderful post with SYC. Oh, and I adore the picture!
    hugs,
    Jann

    • So true, Jann! I have a love affair with the blossom trees too! My neighbor’s pink dogwood was so glorious this year, and every time I saw it on my drive, it just soared my heart. I agree… not sure how anyone can not believe. Been reading a story for work that speaks of planets, and reading all the detail just makes me wonder how anyone can look at the heavens and deny His existence.

      Yes…This picture IS adorable! 🙂 Thanks, Jann!

  13. mymomshere says:

    Hi Pam,
    Beautiful! I love the idea of items in our home that direct our gaze back to the Creator and turn our thoughts to thankfulness. I put a wall decal up, “Possibility blooms with each new day.” It encourages me that His mercies are new every morning and nothing is impossible with God- all at the same time. I’m looking for artwork to go in our main room, so I really appreciate your reminder to have it lead me and our family to fix our gaze upward. Thank you!

    Visiting from Grace & Truth

    Jo

    • I have a lovely magnet that someone gave me that makes me look up to how great He is in all circumstances too… I think simple loveliness always turns our hearts to Him too and always pray that about my own drawings too… 🙂 Blessings on your home and all the artwork that you bring to it. Thanks for being here and sharing your words, Jo!

Leave a Reply

