Patches of Godlight

We — or at least I — shall not be able to adore God on the highest occasions if we have learned no habit of doing so on the lowest.  At best, our faith and reason will tell us that He is adore-able, but we shall not have found Him so,  not “tasted and seen.”  (Similarly) any patch of sunlight in a wood will show you something about the sun which you could never get from reading books in astronomy.  These pure and spontaneous pleasures are “patches of Godlight.”

~  C. S. Lewis

 

Pretty flowers and leaves free flower clipart

She stood in the glow of crystal and chandeliers when a visiting  friend and I first spotted her.  A picture of elegance against the velvet-rich background of one of our town’s grandest old hotels.  She was leaning against a wall, something about the look of her making me feel as if she’d just stepped out of one of those lovely, romantic 1940’s movies… and was waiting there for her black tie-and-tails boyfriend to tip the valet and return to  their Cinderella night.

Auburn curls peeked out from under a softly flopping hat, framing one of the most beautiful faces I’d ever seen.  Startlingly so – mostly because of the wondrous smile that lit her eyes.  Like pure radiance, beaming at us in that moment as if we shared an unspoken secret and she was willing us to hug it to ourselves like treasure.

The fresh springtime of her dress…a sweet floral in soft yellows and rose — fit her like a dream.  I’d been looking for a dress like that for a wedding I was going to… but oh, could I ever look like that even if I found one?

That’s when I saw.  Eyes bright with a genuine content with life, she caught mine as I followed the crutch under her arm and looked down, saw her standing on one leg, the top of her amputated limb hidden beneath tea-length dress.  A shiver ran over me as I took that in… a mixture of empathy, sadness for whatever sorrow had been in her life…and awe. For again, her eyes and smile met mine…strong and bright and true.  And I read in them:  Life is good.  I’m happier at this moment than ever.  There is a light stronger than any of us know…if we believe.

Tdaffodil 03 clip arthat was twenty years ago.  I only saw her in that one sparkle-moment.  But her sweet image stays in my mind and heart like a wonderful character in a cherished book… one I only got a glimpse of, but longed to know more of…in her story…   And I often wonder, Lord, was that YOU I saw shining from her smile?

Pretty flowers and leaves free flower clipart

Prayerful Thought

 Lord, in the natural, this past week heavily put setback on my tongue until I felt Your hand upon my mouth… “Let not your words pronounce the Destroyer’s lies on your life.  They may seem as fact, but they are not My Truth over you.  No, Bless Me as Your Provider, Your Banner, Your Hope and Joy and I will break loose the captivity, turnaround defeat to Victory. ”

Father, thank You that Greater are You, and the Name above all Names…Jesus… in me, than he who is the world!  You ARE my Provider, Banner, Hope and Joy!   May You shine Your Glory as Your Patches of Godlight in and through me… and help me place Your Word over every temptation to murmur or complain, even in silent thought…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

“The words of a man’s mouth are like deep waters [copious and difficult to fathom];The fountain of [mature, godly] wisdom is like a bubbling stream [sparkling, fresh, pure, and life-giving].”

~ Proverbs 18:4, amplified

daffodil 03 clip art

Have you spotted “Patches of Godlight” this past week in a momentary encounter?

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Patches of Godlight

  1. Carrie says:

    You have such a lovely way with words! I felt as if I too were standing in that same hotel, looking at the girl. What a gift you have! Thank you for sharing this tender story.

  2. Rachel @ Smart Mom Smart Ideas says:

    Pam, this is a beautiful description. Your words and descriptions made it so easy to image what you described. Thank you for sharing at Mom-to-Mom Mondays.

  3. Lux G. says:

    This is a lovely story.
    This is my favorite part: “Life is good. I’m happier at this moment than ever. There is a light stronger than any of us know…if we believe.”

  4. Thank you for starting your post with that amazing Lewis quote. I think of it often, and am so thankful for the patches of Godlight that shimmer in my world.

  5. I love how we can catch glimpses of God in other people, other places. He is so good to allow himself to be revealed to us in a variety of ways, some we understand and even some we can’t yet. Thanks for sharing, Pam!

  6. mbethany says:

    So vivid! Thanks for sharing this thought-provoking piece : ) #LLMLinkup

  7. So nice to visit you today Pam. What a beautiful image you capture at the beginning of your post. I am thankful for those moments when I feel Jesus near me. May I keep His word close to my hear to brush aside the negativity that creeps into my thoughts. I love that verse in Proverbs 18. I am adding to my reading list. Thank you for the lovely prayer as well. Have a wonderful week and may you continue to see God in many moments. Blessings to you and yours!

    • I’m glad this spoke to you today, Horace! I’ve been thinking that too about negativity. I am seeing more and more in the Word how God has really embued our words with His power for Life and the negative brings death to our life in ways we don’t even realize. I love that verse in Prov 18 too… I think there are more in that same chapter on the same. Need to study it more too… Thank you for stopping in and sharing your thoughts here! Blessings to you too…

  8. Lois Flowers says:

    Pam, it’s such a blessing to be your neighbor today at Intentional Tuesday. I love the idea of “patches of Godlight” as Lewis explains and you illustrate with your story of the beautiful woman you saw. Amen to your prayerful thought … I hope this week is going better for you!

    • Thanks, Lois! Your words here are a blessing to me. I love that image of Godlight too… Lewis has so many golden nugget quotes. Blessings to you and your week too! I had some unexpected serious car repairs last week but I realize too that God protected me on the roads in big ways until I finally got it in… He will provide. I appreciate your blessing words!

  9. I found myself so drawn in as you wove the words of this blog post so poetically and descriptively. And then to see the Biblical insights you gained from this beautiful word picture reminds me once again what a gift the Lord has given you.

    Your posts are always such a blessing.

    Thank you for reminding me not to hide my light under a bushel, but to let it shine through for all to see.

    • Your words mean a lot to me today, Karen for a lot of reasons… the body of this post is actually a repost because of some necessary work that is occupying all my time for a bit, but I thought it would be “new” to so many reading here that it was worth sharing again. So glad it speaks to you today too. Mm.. yes. His Godlight can shine through that bushel basket weave too, I imagine, but brighter out from under .. 🙂

  10. pamecrement says:

    This writing is stunning and caused me to feel as if it were I standing there watching this woman! Thanks so much! What a joy to have you as a neighbor at Mary-andering Linkup! Blessings on your day!

  11. blog8628 says:

    Beautiful poetry! I have many of these snapshots of God shining through others that I stash away in my mental photo album! Thanks for this great visual of Godlight! Blessings!

  12. Debby says:

    Stopping by from Holley’s. Lovely words. Especially like the quote from CS Lewis. Thanks for sharing.

  13. What a beautiful reflection. You were really present in that moment and able to see what God was showing you. I’ll be keeping my eyes open today for a patch of “Godlight”

  14. You painted such a beautiful description with this! I’ve never thought of the term Godlight. What a great way of thinking about something. Thanks so much for linking to Waiting On…Wednesday!

  15. mmstreeter1 says:

    Patches of Godlight …. I absolutely love that! Going to write that one down in my journal.Thanks for linking this morning.

    • So beautiful, isn’t it? I started a quote list on here (listed under the tea w/jam and bread link beneath my header – scroll through to Quote lights ) and had this one listed there for awhile. Thanks for stopping in here!

  16. Thank you for sharing this post! I could visualize the scene! Great post!

  17. Stacey says:

    Pam, this is wonderful and just what I needed to read this morning. Thank you for sharing at Thoughts of Home. 🙂

    • I love how God does that… He put this on my mind to repost this little story with the new quote and prayer, and it seems to have touched so many more this go around! He knew you’d be blessed by it today… 🙂 Thanks for sharing that with me, Stacey!

  18. sarahgirl3 says:

    You made me smile with the picture you painted. I love this!

  19. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    Amazing, Pam! Your description was breathtaking, I couldn’t help but imagine the hat and dress.Thank you for linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

  20. Laura says:

    There is nothing better than a C.S. Lewis quotation to open the mind and spiritual heart of the reader.
    I love what you wrote is a comment above about word painting.
    I enjoy that too.
    Thank you for being at TOHOT!
    As always, we are so glad you are here.

  21. Very sweet reflection. It is so true that if we but take time to notice, we will see God in and through those around in the simplest of ways. Grateful to have been your neighbor this morning at Grace & Truth. Blessings!

  22. Pingback: Just Show Up :: Let Us Grow

  23. Gayl says:

    “Patches of Godlight” I like that! If we open our eyes we can see many patches of Godlight throughout our day. I pray that He would open our eyes and help us to see our many blessings. Blessings to you! Thanks for sharing at #LMMLinkup!

    • Thank you, Gayl. I join you in that prayer! 🙂 C.S. Lewis certainly had a wonderful way with those words… love that Godlight patches too, it conjures so many images of light playing on my walls, in forest patches through trees etc… And of course, so much more spiritually! Thanks!

  24. Oh what a lovely story! Thank you so very much for joining us at Thoughts of Home on Thursday. Have a wonderful holiday weekend.

  25. This is such a beautiful story! I felt as though I were there, feeling her positivity shining through.

    Thanks so much for sharing over at #FridayFrivolity 🙂

Leave a Reply

