Written on the heart

When you pray, you go to God.

When you praise, God comes to you.

In my mind, I see her laughing eyes, hear her                                somehow-always-breathless voice bubbling over,                             remember how we used to bump into each other on campus…       stop and share helloes and hearts between classes.  How we first became friends in a group of kids who often met to sing and pray… sunlight dancing warm stained-glass color patterns all around us… all of us sitting informally on the chapel floor, lifting up  each others’ needs.  It was a time set apart…still in school, on the verge of our adult lives. A season for quickening, deep friendships.  Bonds to last a lifetime.

And even though she’d made the decision to leave the university at the end of the year, return to her home state and fiancé, I knew how torn she was to abandon the roommates who’d become like sisters to her –            to watch us moving on without her. She introduced me to two of those dear friends, making way for me to “take her place” – and we (along with another girl) became a new foursome for the following year, hoping and praying to make the list for an apartment on site.  That is, if we managed to be selected from the hundreds upon hundreds camping out at the registrar’s office overnight…

The 24-hour camp-out meant that one of us had to be sitting on that musty stairwell at all times…juggling our classes and work amongst us…and spending long, weary, boring hours – holding fort in line. My turn came in some late afternoon hours of the second day.  Exhausted kids wondrously snored all around me. I was leaning my head back against a hard wall, willing away the hours, trying to concentrate on books, stiff and uncomfortable… and a bit lonely.

“Hey, Pam!” a voice called, and when I followed it, there she was – stepping over the bodies everywhere, then dangling an enticing little bakery bag in front of me.  House of Pies, the label read.  Too small for pie, but certainly something scrumptious. She plopped down beside me, looking fresh and windblown, pretty aqua sweater tied around her shoulders …

“I thought you might like some company… and a treat,” she said, offering me a couple of fresh-baked, over-sized sugar cookies.  Favorites of my soon-to-be roomies-so-she-knew-I’d-love-’em-too, she explained. She’d just thought of it and trekked a couple blocks off campus to get them.  She informed me then that she also planned to take “her turn” spotting for us on the stairwell after I left.  Because even if she wasn’t going to be there next year, she was a part of us…  Hey, I even brought you guys together, her genuine smile seemed to say.

I doubt she remembers this moment in time, now.   Living letters rarely do.

But on that day, her simple thoughtfulness echoed in my heart like the sweet chapel bells on the bluff. And I clearly remember thinking over the lump in my throat… She makes me want to be more thoughtful too.

And so I purposed in my heart – right then – to begin looking for those moments. Sometimes it’s cookies.  Or a few uplifting words.  Always it’s putting yourself in another’s shoes.   Cookies… kindness… encouragement.   Gifts that stay… written on the heart.

Thanks Sharon. 
Christmas Cookies clipart

© Pam Depoyan

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“Your very lives are a letter that anyone can read by just looking at you.

Christ himself wrote it—not with ink, but with God’s living Spirit;

not chiseled into stone, but carved into human lives—and we publish it.”

~  2 Corinthians 3:3, The Message

Sharing with:

http://teachingwhatisgood.com/

 Soul Survival

Inspire Me Monday  

Tuesdays grace moments    http://www.journeysingrace.com/

Mondays Making Your Home SingDarling Downs DiariesThe Modest MomThe Art of HomemakingMusing MondaysThe Beauty in His GripThe Life of FaithOur Home of Many BlessingsMom to Mom MondaysMe, Coffee & JesusWhat Joy is Mine
TuesdaysTestimony TuesdaysPurposeful FaithGrammie TimeCornerstone ConfessionsTell It to Me TuesdayRich Faith RisingIntentional Tuesday
WednesdaysA Wise Woman Builds Her HomeCoffee for Your HeartMessy MarriageA Little R & RWhole Hearted HomeWomen with IntentionWhile I’m WaitingWoman to WomanSeeking God in All I Do   

Raising Samuels
Thursdays Hearts for HomeParty at My PlaceFrog’s Lily PadLife of ScoopBooknificent Thursdays
Fridays Create with JoyMissional WomenGrace & TruthFaith & Friends #FreshMarketFriday
Saturdays Snippets of InspirationWord of God Speak Barbie Swihart  Let Us Walk Worthy
Sundays Spiritual SundaysGive Me Grace

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Living Letters. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Written on the heart

  1. Heather says:

    Oh wow this was so lovely Pam! It’s funny that we both kind of had the same theme- cookies and kindness- today… (I’m one post down from you at Holley’s) And your words took me right right into your memories – and made me want to live out more little acts of kindness too– those gifts really due endure ♥ Thanks for sharing your story today! I’m so glad I popped over! Blessings on you friend!

    • Thank you, Heather! I just popped over and read your post too. I could just picture that childhood kitchen, your Nancy Drew collection (like mine) and all that baking! You brought me into your memories too! And I so agree… by scratch. It’s ALWAYS best!! So glad my story touched you today! Thanks for coming on over… Blessings to you too!

  2. Beautiful – thank you for sharing! I’m stopping by from the women with intentions link-up. Blessings!

  3. pamecrement says:

    Lovely! We can easily forget the impact of small things, small seemingly random acts of kindness!

  4. Jemma says:

    Beautifully written, thank you for sharing this heartfelt inspiration with us at TOHOT!
    Blessings to you,
    Jemma

  5. Such a wonderful encouragement to be more intentional in thoughtfulness! I just had someone pay for my morning coffee in the drive-thru today, and so I took the cue and did the same for the car behind. I have no idea how far the thoughtfulness went, but I was thankful to be prompted and participate. I’d love for you to share at #FreshMarketFriday, where we select a Featured Fresh Find every week:)

    • Thank you, Crystal. I’ve never had that happen to me in those drive-thru’s or at grocery checkouts… just always hear of it. Need to be more intentional and be the starter of it… 🙂 Fun to imagine how far it went in your line today! 🙂 I’ll check out your FreshMarketFriday – thanks!! 🙂

  6. Pam this is so good – Gifts that stay written on the heart! I love this story about your college room mate and her thoughtfulness. Thank you for sharing today at #FaithFilledFriday where we are neighbors

  7. Michelle says:

    This is beautiful. I love the last sentence. A wonderful memory to have indeed.

  8. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    What a sweet friend and memory to share, Pam! Thanks for linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

  9. Laura says:

    Pam, thank you for sharing this beautiful, simple message at Thoughts of Home.

    • Thanks, Laura! I was talking the other day with a store clerk about a love for unique and fun boxes and she said, “I love them too – because they always hold something precious!” I love that. And I think it applies to beauty in the simple too… So glad you found beauty in this little post! 🙂

  10. Carrie says:

    Oh, how lovely! It makes me want to go out and do something kind for someone! It also reminds me of my own college freshman experience. I was assigned an upper-classman for a roomie and had to spend the orientation weekend alone in the room. Lonely, I got up the nerve to introduce myself to another freshman girl standing in line. That simple introduction led to such a fulfilling friendship. Thank you for sharing your story!

    • I’m so glad you took the chance and met the one who became such a great friend! College can be such a lonely place at times, and it’s the friendships that stand out in my mind today as such a lifesaver and grace. Divine appointments, I believe now. 🙂 Thank you for sharing that here, Carrie!

  11. Stacey says:

    Pam, you are a gifted writer! This reminds me to make sure I’m doing sweet things for others.

    Thank you for sharing this at Thoughts of Home and please, keep writing and inspiring.

    • Thank you so much for those encouraging words, Stacey. You know, I’ve been asking the Lord lately for direction about writing and artistic pursuits, if it is going anywhere etc. He seems to be reconfirming to me through words like yours. I appreciate your being here and letting me know this touched you!

  12. MaryHill says:

    Special friends and special moments are indeed treasures to hold on to. Thanks for sharing on the #LMMLinkup.

  13. MaryLou says:

    Hi Pam, I really like these words that you did share… “When you pray, you go to God.
    When you praise, God comes to you.” I just copied them onto a sticky note on my computer desktop. Thank you for all that you did share. It sounded like you had a really fun time in college with the friends you made and the things that you got to do. Bye for now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

