A Friendly Game (And An Unexpected Lesson)

Micah

Humming obliviously, happily, two year-old Micah busied himself around the circular play base on the church lawn.

Now he was even dipping his rosy cheeks, nose down, inside the hole at it’s top – curious to spy inside.  Investigating.  Learning.  Having fun.  Pulling his face away with a whee and a giggle.

To him, all the world was pure joy, playing at Daddy’s knees.   He wasn’t paying attention to his brother’s and cousin’s excited voices a few yards away.  He wasn’t worrying at their arms poised to whiz bean bags directly where his little face rose.

Was his dad aware of him there?  How could he not be?

Oh, this makes me nervous,” I was just commenting sotto voce to my friend beside me, nodding at her tiny grandson, when we heard her son in law call to the other boys — “THROW!”

Like watching a fast ball hurtling through space, we gaped as the sturdy bag came zipping full speed towards the hole. Speedier still, a strong arm shot out…just an inch away from Micah’s forehead… with microsecond timing.  Smack! hit the bag into the grip of that hand while it’s owner just took it in stride and whooped towards his other son across the way.  “Great job!” he called, giving him the thumbs up.

“WOW!”  I exhaled, open-mouthed.

And there little Micah remained, unscathed, still dancing around his daddy’s legs, completely unaware of danger or of miracle protection.

The game went on while I swallowed my breath.

And a picture formed in my mind, like a kaleidoscope focusing and zeroing in.

The image of a larger than life Father watching out for us all.  Sending angels to intercept those whamming bean bags headed our way.

Sometimes, it may not even seem like His eye is on us.  He’s looking out ahead, elsewhere.  He’s letting us do our own thing, explore our own way, despite possibility of imminent danger.  He wants us to grow freely… but His strong right arm is ever poised and ready.  Ministering angels at our sides.

How many fast flying bean bags has He protected us from?  The way we just missed that car when it seemed to almost pass through the front end of our own.  The multitudes of times we’ve been like Micah, having zip idea what we’ve just been spared.

Micah laughed, looked up, up… into his daddy’s face high above.  Had I been the one following my instincts, I’d probably have grabbed the child and spun him out of range.  Most likely to the screech of an angry, non-comprehending toddler who would interpret me as a terrorist interrupting his freedom for no good reason.

How beautiful is the right Hand of our Father, administering joy…grace…power and strength to our lives. 

Breaking through gates of iron.

Lifting us up out of the pit and putting our feet on sure, high ground.

Anointing us with His hand of favor…

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

© Pam Depoyan

‘Do not fear [anything], for I am with you;
Do not be afraid, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you, be assured I will help you;
I will certainly take hold of you with My righteous right hand                                                      [a hand of justice, of power, of victory, of salvation].’

~ Isaiah 41:10, amplified

.

Pen and Ink Drawing of Micah’s Treasure Pocket, above – Mine.  (Please do not copy without permission. See my copyright info button on the sidebar.  :)  )

See more portraits in my All Things Childhood  gallery collection (at pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com Picture It in Pen and Ink!), and ask about available prints!   

Sharing with:

Thursday Favorite Things

Share Your Cup Thursday

#FreshMarketFriday

About Pam@Writing...Apples of Gold

I love to hear your thoughts, even chat back and forth amongst comments.Won't you join the conversation? :) ..................................................................................................................... May my stories refresh you, like a whisper from our Father's Heart !
This entry was posted in Wonder Moments. Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to A Friendly Game (And An Unexpected Lesson)

  1. Thank you for sharing this sweet word picture of our Father’s hand and His amazing protection over us.

    I’ve always said to my husband that I wonder if when we get to Heaven we will see all the ways the Lord protected us from danger. A few situations come to mind where I don’t even understand how we weren’t in an awful car wreck. Like the laws of physics would say that we should have been creamed by the truck barreling at us head on around a sharp corner with only a rock wall and the truck to “squeeze” between. I still believe His ministering angels carried us through.

    All praise to our Heavenly Father whose loving hand permits trials for our good and His purposes and for all the times He has rescued us from danger.

    Blessings.

    • I have had some of those same experiences in a car – literally one long ago where it felt like another car actually went thru the front of mine as it changed lanes. I think there will be many revelations in heaven of God’s protecting hand that we have no idea about. I think there is much to know about all that Jesus won for us at the cross that we don’t fully comprehend either… Thank you for sharing your own heart on this, Karen 🙂

  2. pamecrement says:

    Thanks, Pam! This post is especially timely for me. Our sweet 13 year old granddaughter was slammed with the unexpected news of need for serious spinal surgery (I posted about it today.) about two months ago and this week all the many appointments prior to surgery on July 13 has begun. She stands fearlessly so far, trusting absolutely in her heavenly Father, putting all of her faith in Him, hearing the hard facts about pain and recovery times, limitations and risks, with no frame of reference for what is about to occur, and yet there she stands in so much faith! Her parents and her grandparents find ourselves catching our breath to think of it all as we look at the care she will need and the grace we will need to provide it for many weeks of time. We also pray that when she is slammed with the pain and the reality that her faith will sustain her.

    • Pam, I just read your post about your dear girl. I’d like to encourage you in speaking God’s promises over her continually, as “God’s Daily Medicine.” I have been through many serious surgeries, disease and other situations throughout my life – most I haven’t written about here. I wish I had always been aware of how God moves through His Word in our mouths, for in more recent years I have seen God do many miraculous transformations as we speak His healing word over ourselves and others. Things like the sudden healing of my dad’s kidney to the point where they were able to remove a kidney bag that they had said could NEVER come off. Like this past November when I broke my shoulder and ER xrays showed it separated and in definite need of surgery – only to change that diagnosis a week later in the doctor’s office when xrays showed NO surgery needed. I’d love to give you a list of daily Word prayers that a ministry sent me to “take as His medicine” along with what the doctors are doing. Nothing is impossible with Him and I love how your granddaughter expressed that about God doing big things – I think of when Jairus heard the “word of the people” that it was too late, his daughter was dead… and Jesus told him, “don’t fear, only believe…” He has given His Word on it. 🙂 I declare the Truths of Deut 28 over your granddaughter – She is blessed coming in and blessed going out. THe fruit of her body is blessed now… ”

      If you will give me your email address, and would like it, I’d love to pass on that list of beautiful scripture prayers for you and she to speak over her situation…. I’m also wondering – are you in the U.S.? I’d love to send her one of my bird drawings if you are… I pray His life and healing and even his straightening out her scoliosis :), minimizing to eliminating the “expected pain” – let us speak God’s promise rather than the prognosis as she begins her regimen :). I love the amplified version of Is 40:31 and put her name in it- But those who wait for the Lord like Sydney [who expect, look for and hope in Him] shall change and renew their strength and power; they shall lift their wings and mount up [close to God] as eagles [mount up to the sun], they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint or become tired…”

  3. Pam – such a great visual picture of how our Heavenly Father is always watching over us, and caring for us. Thank you so much for the reminder that He is there, even when we don’t see Him. Your neighbor at #WomenWithIntention

  4. Gayl says:

    I love your drawing. It’s beautiful! I know God is watching and I’m sure sometimes we are oblivious as to how we narrowly missed something harmful. Your analogy was so fitting. I’m your neighbor at Three Word Wednesday. Blessings to you!

  5. Michelle says:

    Beautiful drawing and a loving message. This made me smile today. Thanks for sharing it at Party at My Place. Joy, pure joy!

    • Oh, so glad it made you smile too, Michelle! That’s a joy to me! Thanks for letting me know that. I just finished a drawing to surprise my sister from when she was a little one – from a favorite family snapshot… and it is making me smile right now! The photo was pretty blurry so hard to make it completely as she was, but it does have that sparkling look in her face. Just posted it on my art blog if you’d like to see… http://pamdepoyanblog.wordpress.com

  6. Such a sweet inspiring message. You posses a true talent for drawing. Thank you for joining us at Thoughts of Home on Thursday.

  7. Lori @ Frog's Lilypad says:

    I am so thankful for the Lord’s hand protecting me. I think back to a major snowstorm we had in Georgia and how I was going to be stranded at work or on the side of the road. The Lord sent an angel for me to follow home. It had to be angel because I stopped to get gas and got back out on the expressway and that truck was sitting there in the middle of the lane waiting for me. I followed it all the way to my house. When I got out the car, the truck was gone and there were no tire tracks in the road. I’ll never forget that and praise the Lord every time I think about it. Thanks for linking up with Thankful Thursdays.

    • Wow Lori, what a beautiful story! I do believe as PS 91 says, He sends His angels to minister to us in ways we have no idea. You should write that story and submit it to Chicken Soup for the Soul next time they are looking for “angel encounter” stories. I had one published by them a few years ago about a time when a friend and I had help from a man who appeared out of nowhere (we were scared teens and she had just been in an accident)… I can relate to your story too, because I know how hard it can be to drive in a snowstorm. Thanks for sharing that encouraging story here!

  8. Jemma says:

    My sweet Heavenly Father is my rock!
    Thank you for sharing your love for God and your time and talents with us at TOHOT.
    Jemma

  9. sanctifiedtourist says:

    Love this image you painted of how the Father loves His children. I love your art too. Alice

  10. Jann Olson says:

    What a gorgeous post! Yes, our father is looking over us. And like you, I’m glad that daddy’s hand was swift and strong. Much like that of our heavenly fathers! Thanks for sharing with SYC.
    hugs,
    Jann

  11. This is a beautiful picture of our Father’s care for us! I love thinking about this little boy’s carefree, lighthearted spirit, completely oblivious to the dangers swirling around because of his implicit trust in his daddy. May we learn from his example! Thank you for sharing this with us at Grace & Truth.

  12. Intercepting angels…Yes! How many times we all can testify to God’s watchcare and protection over us and our loved ones. I have a beautiful stained glass Kaliedoscope in my office made by my older brother, and I treasure it because he is no longer alive. I hold it up to my window frequently, and now I will be thinking of God’s unwavering care each and every time. I so love your writing…soothing to the soul and so poignant. You really must write a book!

    • That story of your brother’s gift brings tears to my eyes, Crystal – so beautiful that now that lovely kaleidoscope he made will remind you of God’s unwavering care. I love that.

      Your words touch me more than you know – I’ve thought of writing a book (and have been thinking strongly of it lately), probably something more simple than a full length one that others are doing. (Do you know the bloggers Shelly Miller and Jennifer Dukes Lee?) I have a few ideas, just feel unsure of the whole publishing process. I have had some magazine pieces published, but easier. Anyway, your words here and those of others lately seem to be God’s confirming thought to it… So we’ll see!. 🙂 Thanks!

  13. Pam this is beautiful. I am so glad that I bookmarked it to come back and read when I had more time. Love the drawing, and your words are full of life and peace. Thank you for this encouragement. xo

  14. Ifeoma Samuel says:

    Hello Pam… visiting from #freshmarketfriday your featured post here is lovely. It is so cute the description you gave and how you relate it to our Heavenly Father.
    Nice to meet you.
    God bless

  15. Pingback: 4 Reminders of Good in the World - Crystal Twaddell

Leave a Reply

